Posted by
Message
riddles20
Purdue Fan
Chicago
Member since Aug 2020
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hello! I was recently accepted to the program and would like input on a class pairing. This forum has been very helpful!

ACCT 701 (Li Huang)
MKT 701 (Aadel Darrat)


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
134 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I can only speak on Huang acct 701 which is a pretty low workload class that can be doubled up on. I had absolutely zero accounting knowledge and Aced it without a sweat.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
Jtm0097
North Texas Fan
DFW
Member since Aug 2020
3 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thanks!


lish20
Member since Aug 2020
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Is there a spreadsheet or list that sums up all the info of the last 450 pages? Like what classes take longer or good pairing of classes? Best teachers and if the classes - finance/data/accounting concentrations in particular were worth it? Or do I need to come up with a scraping code to grab the last 450 pages and search them? Thanks.


longhornedtiger
Member since Jul 2019
43 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Is there a spreadsheet or list that sums up all the info of the last 450 pages? Like what classes take longer or good pairing of classes? Best teachers and if the classes - finance/data/accounting concentrations in particular were worth it? Or do I need to come up with a scraping code to grab the last 450 pages and search them? Thanks.



LINK

And here's the form so you can add your responses to it:

LINK


longhornedtiger
Member since Jul 2019
43 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

from what someone else posted that helped me get into full classes:
-browse classes while not logged in so you can see full -classes
-try to register for the full class you want, it wont be successful but it will give you the option to get on the email list so that you are alerted when an opening occurs


Hey audioaxes1,

Can you elaborate? How does one actually do what you're recommending?


Turtlemane
Member since May 2020
23 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hello all,

I recently finished my first class, FIN 701 with Sung and completed with an A. I'd say he format was pretty good, had video lecture, powerpoint, practice problems with answers that mimicked the exams. Just took me about 5-8 hours a week prepping.

I'm starting FIN 740 Financial Analytics for my second class with Sung as well. Does anyone have info on this course? is it the same type of set up as he provides for 701? or are there other classes I should be doing first before this one? My concentration will be data analytics


Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
61 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Don’t forget mandatory accreditation assignment.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
Shirtshirt
Member since Jun 2020
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
One class at a time shouldn't be difficult. I'm easily 60+ hours a week at work, have three kids (8, 6 and 1.5) and make it work. Some classes require more time than others. This isn't the kind of program where you can come in with work experience and expect to fake your way through every class.

You're not going to have a lot of extra time for Netflix and hanging out.
This post was edited on 8/24 at 6:01 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
EyeOfToday
Member since Apr 2020
24 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Is anyone familiar with Acct 705? Who is the professor?


OSD
GA
Member since May 2020
3 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Prof is Li Huang. Got good reviews, open book it looks like. I am taking this course starting FALL AP1. It is my last class and I graduate.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
MBAGoals
Member since May 2020
7 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hello Everyone,

Has anyone taken Sam Wyatt for MADM 760. I hear his exams are tricky, so I was wondering what are the types of things to focus on? His exams are a bulk of his grade, so I am worried.

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!
This post was edited on 8/30 at 1:47 am


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
134 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
did Heller's MADM701 course always have closed book exams? His MADM760 did not and its the only reason why I choose him for 701 assuming it would be the same but its not (despite his MADM760 being the largest workload class I taken in this program by far).


longhornedtiger
Member since Jul 2019
43 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Hello Everyone,

Has anyone taken Sam Wyatt for MADM 760. I hear his exams are tricky, so I was wondering what are the types of things to focus on? His exams are a bulk of his grade, so I am worried.

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!



There are about 6 reviews of his MADM760 class in the spreadsheet:

LINK
This post was edited on 8/31 at 11:32 am


AVG526
Member since Sep 2020
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Has anyone taken MADM 701 with Felice Williams? She give little to no info on paper/assignment requirements. Are the test open notes?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
MBA2021
Member since Jul 2020
3 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I just finished Heller's MADM 701 class last term and test were closed book. I did see some past posts referring to open-book tests, but that is not the case now. Just study the PowerPoints and you will ace the tests. Also, use the Quizlet website and search Heller MADM 701 to access the flashcards--they are basically word for word with the slides but it helps to recall the info when reviewing for the test. Lastly, be sure to watch the Ted-Talk videos as they are on the test. He has at least 2 to 4 questions on each test around those. Hope this helps.


longhornedtiger
Member since Jul 2019
43 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
First week down in MKT715 with Dr. Mohamad Darrat and ACCT705 with Dr. Li Huang, and both are fair and interesting so far.

MKT715 is R programming, and it expects no previous programming experience at all. I have a long background in programming, so it looks like it will be pretty easy. The materials are presented very gradually. Dr. Darrat provides the syllabus up front, and I've already gone through almost all of the book and homework for the entire course.

ACCT705 is Excel (and eventually Tableau), with information about fraud. The technical concepts are presented pretty gradually, so if you have experience with Excel and Tableau, the exercises aren't difficult. The quizzes are unproctored and open-book, and you get to take them twice, so you'll do well on those. Don't know about the tests yet, but there are 3 of these which are closed-book and proctored, covering the material that was on the quizzes.


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
134 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
thanks for that info on MADM701... so you didnt even bother reading the text chapters?


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
134 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
well found out the hard way... plenty of questions that couldnt be answered without thoroughly reading the text. I didnt read it but lucked into a 33/35 score. Next week I'll atleast scan through the chapter definitions.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
OSD
GA
Member since May 2020
3 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I am in Huang's 705 class too. Seems easy so far, good with excel but never touched tableau before. It's my last class before graduating so was hoping for an easy one. Very self driven course.


first pageprev pagePage 450 of 453next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram