Posted by
Message
kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Mountain West
Member since Apr 2019
3 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hey there, I am new to the program and am stoked to start Summer AP1. Thank you so much for these thoughtful reviews, Baroqen!! I definitely took them into account when registering.

Question- how did ISDS 705 with Lind turn out? I signed up for it with MADM 701 (Kungu), per the recommendations of seemingly a lot of people on here but it looks like that's Lin/Gibbs dependent- soooo I'm a little worried...Thanks so much in advance and thanks again for all the reviews! Even if people don't reply directly, I bet a lot of people are using them and finding them helpful

Edit: just kidding, I got confused for a minute & thought you took Lind based on a reply to litecoinlsu. Regardless, your reviews are incredibly helpful and thanks again. Best wishes after you graduate!!
This post was edited on 4/12 at 11:31 am


kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Mountain West
Member since Apr 2019
3 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hey SATNIGHTS, how much is the green belt test through ISDS 720? Not sure how you feel about doing LSS training outside of LSUS, but I signed up for this Black Friday deal through TechDeals that I just double checked is still up and available. If you go to TechDeals, search Lean Six Sigma, you'll see a six course bundle through Grey Campus for $59 in the top left corner. My coworker legit paid $1,000 for the same classes I'm taking. The structure is a bunch of videos of a guy who kind of just rushes through/is a little fragmented, however, it includes both green and black belt and the IASSC test. I feel like I got a great value going this route. I've been lazy and haven't completed the course yet (ha) but can give you an update when done (likely in 3 weeks) if you're interested.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
i dont read so good
Member since Apr 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I had Dr. Fawaz for ECON 705 last session. He is a great professor, holds Zoom sessions on weekends so it's easier for most to attend and is very responsive to emails. The content can be difficult at times but just do the practice problems and you will be ok. There was a curve on most exams, the regression assignments were very easy, and at the end of the class he let us re-take 2 exams of our choice to earn a better grade. The exams are geared towards assessing whether you understand the actual concepts behind the math, rather than the math itself.


husigma
Member since Apr 2019
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Long time lurker, first-time poster here. I am taking FIN 701 and Econ 705 for Summer AP1. Does anybody have a syllabus they can share, I would like to just get a bit of a jump start. Please send it to apollo1A02 at gmail dot com


Airhog24
Member since Apr 2019
7 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

how did ISDS 705 with Lind turn out?


Definitely sign up for Gibbs for ISDS 705. Easy A for this course if so. You can complete the work usually by Tuesday and coast through everything.


baroqen
Member since Jun 2018
214 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Long time lurker, first-time poster here. I am taking FIN 701 and Econ 705 for Summer AP1. Does anybody have a syllabus they can share, I would like to just get a bit of a jump start.


We're going to need a professor name. It's useless to get a jump start on the wrong professor's class as they have entirely different texts, materials, methods, etc.


husigma
Member since Apr 2019
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

We're going to need a professor name. It's useless to get a jump start on the wrong professor's class as they have entirely different texts, materials, methods, etc.


FIN 701 with Vines and Econ 705 with Fanta...


kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Mountain West
Member since Apr 2019
3 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thank you, Airhog24! But also uh oh...what would be your suggestion to pair up with the infamous MADM 701 since Gibbs isn’t available till summer AP2? I’m currently in:

Summer AP1
MADM701 Kungu
ISDS705 Lind

AP2
MADM 760 Meeks
ISDS715 Hennigan

Fall AP1
FIN 701 Vines
ISDS 730 Loughrin

AP2
ECON 705 Shaugnessy
ISDS 720 Loughrin

I’m guessing the two courses I’ll have left when all of those are completed (Accounting and Marketing) should not be paired with 701 so any shuffling or suggestions anyone has is welcomed and appreciated! Thanks!


Lutzhill
Member since Oct 2017
44 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
For those that are interested:

MKT 705 is, IMO, the best marketing course in the program. It is what MKT 701 should be, and I can’t recommend Dr. Kim highly enough. If you enjoy a well-structured course that includes weekly writing assignments and exams that cover pertinent content that is covered in the weekly module, you won’t find much better. It is, indeed, an elective that provides value.

LH


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Mizzou_Hoss
Member since Oct 2018
10 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I can’t find isds 715. I need in it for summer


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
jotter76
LSU Fan
Shreveport
Member since Sep 2018
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thank you so much for your reviews! Could you please email me the syllabus for ISDS 702 Koksal? I am trying to plan a quick getaway this summer and I am enrolled in Summer AP2. Thank you! jamieottshaw@hotmail.com


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
husigma
Member since Apr 2019
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Could somebody send me the syllabus for FIN 701 with Vines and Econ 705 with Fanta. Please and thank you apollo1a02@gmail.com


k_wallie
Las Vegas
Member since Apr 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hey Everyone! New member here, but I’ve been reading the posts for a couple of months now to get information about the MBA courses. I am enrolled to start the MBA summer AP1 and I am wondering if anyone has a syllabus for ISDS 705 w/ Darban and MADM 760 w/ Kim they could share with me? email is klwalden85@gmail.com


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
tank123
Member since Apr 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi baroqen!

Your posts have been very insightful and I appreciate you taking the time to post thorough reviews. I recently applied and plan on starting the program in May (Summer AP1). As a full-time employee, I don't want to overdo it, but I would like to finish this program as quickly as possible. Every adviser I speak with recommends taking one class at a time, but I was wondering if you can recommend classes that pair well together? For the more time intensive classes, I am comfortable taking one class a semester, but if I can pair 2 "easier" classes together for 3-4 semesters and have somewhat of a life, I think I'd rather do that than extend this out another 6+ months.

Thank you - I truly appreciate your input!


AmosMosesAndTwins
New Orleans Saints Fan
Lake Charles
Member since Apr 2010
13889 posts
 Online 

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

recommend classes that pair well together


MKT 701 is one that should not be paired. ISDS and MADM tend to require more time, but really can be paired to expedite graduation. ACCT 701 is a good one to pair with another course with heavy workload.

quote:

have somewhat of a life


Nope. Bite the bullet and get it done. The sacrifice is worth it.


ConsciousGal
Member since Apr 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi All,

I just got accepted into the online MBA program :) & I just registered from my classes.

In the 1st session of Summer, I am taking:

ACCT 701 - with Yin,Yuan
AND
MADM 760 - with Kim,Minsun

In summer session 2, I am taking:
Fin 702 - with Choi, Daewong(Joey)
AND
ISDS - with Lin, Binshan

For those of you who have taken these classes recently with these professors, would it be okay doubling this up like I am planning to do? I have done some research through this forum but I just wanted to ask just in case I may have missed something.

Thank you! :)


baroqen
Member since Jun 2018
214 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Your posts have been very insightful and I appreciate you taking the time to post thorough reviews. I recently applied and plan on starting the program in May (Summer AP1). As a full-time employee, I don't want to overdo it, but I would like to finish this program as quickly as possible


I paired everything to varying degrees of suffering with a full time, highly intensive job and two small children. I gave myself a goal to finish in 5 sessions with a 4.0 and I should be able to complete that journey in 3 more weeks. It requires some sacrifice but it can be done.

That said... the reason I included time requirements on each class was to help people gauge how well they could pair a given class based on their unique circumstances in terms of available time. Only you can determine that, but I would recommend taking ECON, FIN, and maybe MADM 760 (depending on who you take it with) on their own. At least for me, the first two were real bears. MADM 760 with Meeks is also supposed to be extremely time consuming.

Pair your choices of ISDS 705, ISDS 702, and ACCT 701 with MADM and MKT 701. You should be able to finish the work using weeknights and probably most of one weekend day leaving you some free time. If you're not going with Meeks for MADM 760, you can probably pair that one with the remaining pairable. Then two electives of your choosing and most of them are comparatively light and can be paired with each other. If time is a serious issue, I don't recommend any MADM or MKT elective.

Make sure you take ISDS 702, and take it before taking ECON or FIN 701 (unless you take FIN with Choi, who still uses calculators).


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
baroqen
Member since Jun 2018
214 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

For those of you who have taken these classes recently with these professors, would it be okay doubling this up like I am planning to do? I have done some research through this forum but I just wanted to ask just in case I may have missed something.


Good pairings. If you're going to pair FIN, ISDS 705 with Lin is possibly the best possible class to pair it with.

I took Kim for MKT 705, and I frankly loved her. 760 is typically a pretty intensive class, but I expect her class should at least have a balanced workload, even if it isn't light. ACCT 701 is also a good class to pair with a heavier one. I didn't take it with Yin, but from what I've heard it shouldn't be much more time consuming than Huang.


ConsciousGal
Member since Apr 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thank you for replying Baroqen. :)

Any other pairings that you would recommend? My specialization is the Data Analytics one. The other 6 courses I will be taking are:


ECON 705: Economic Analysis for Management

MADM 701: Organizational Behavior

MKT 701: Marketing Strategy

ISDS 702: Quantitative Methods in Business

ISDS 710: Data Analytics

& 1 other MBA elective course.


baroqen
Member since Jun 2018
214 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Any other pairings that you would recommend? My specialization is the Data Analytics one.


Don't take ISDS 710. It's a marketing class with a few numbers and formulas. Total crap for DA. Take the new DA class, I think it's FIN 740? As weird as it may seem that it would be under FIN (it has nothing to do with Finance), the class actually teaches the basics of the "R" programming language. In my reviews, it's probably very close to the first half of the ISDS 710 class I took. It can be challenging but at the very least will provide you with an actual, legitimate analytics related skill.

Take ECON alone or pair it with ISDS 702 as mentioned in my previous post. MADM 701 and MKT 701 were pretty similar for me, however I wouldn't pair those two with each other (or with Econ).


Jump to page
Page First 392 393 394 395
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 394 of 395next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram