Posted by
Message
Epic Cajun
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Lafayette, LA
Member since Feb 2013
14051 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

we would not interview someone from an online program.


Do you ask if the MBA is online during the interview process? How else would you know?


lynxcat
Rutgers Fan
Member since Jan 2008
18712 posts
 Online 

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
As it currently sits, the programs we recruit from do not offer online MBA programs. If we are less familiar with a school then a Google search can give us anything we need to know on the quality of the programs and how they are offered.

Full time > Part time > Online

If you are set on doing an online program, then why not try to attend the absolute best one possible? I would much prefer a degree from UNC vs. LSUS if I am sitting at a computer learning in both of them. UCLA Anderson has a FEMBA program that is a flex style... It still meets occasionally in person but about 40% in online.

One of them may cost a bit more, but that's a short term thing. Assuming there is a 60K difference in cost, it is pennies over the entirety of your career.

In my mind, the decision is based on the caliber of "badge value" you need to open up your career goals. If the badge doesn't matter, then get the cheapest one and check the box.
This post was edited on 10/27 at 12:00 pm


bkarczew
New Orleans, Louisiana
Member since Jul 2015
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
For the price of $13,284*, make note that its based on this fall tuition prices, Fall 2015, for the LSUS campus, I think its a pretty good program for the price.

The stigma of online learning for the few that compare it to University of Phoenix or whatever, has not done the research enough to have an opinion on the matter. Online learning is the future. Especially for those that have real jobs, regardless if its full or part time. If its too good to be true, research it. More than likely it is but research the heck out of it.

I'm looking into the LSUS MBA program mainly because its somewhat local, affordable, and accredited by a major association, AACSB, that most firms believe is a great indicator of having a thorough, rigorous business education. I wish I could do LSU Online Flores MBA program, but at $1,046 per credit hour or roughly $3,138 per course, I don't think I put that much money in a program due to my financial resources. Sure I'll probably get a good ROI but I'm not considering getting loans of any type to fund myself going for my MBA.

On a side note, not everyone has time for a brick and mortar school due to their schedules or the thing that is called "life". This is where the premise of an online degree comes in. I'll find one that is the best for the money I can put into. Just because I'm partial on wanting to do a Online Flores MBA from LSU, I can't due to my financial resources. Its nice to have, but I've found something that is sufficient enough to guarantee my success in my career rather than having an elitist tendency/approach towards business education. I'm not just checking off a box, I'm securing my future.
This post was edited on 11/29 at 8:03 pm


barry
Cincinnati Fan
Location, Location, Location
Member since Aug 2006
45468 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

I'm not just checking off a box, I'm securing my future.



No you aren't.


lynxcat
Rutgers Fan
Member since Jan 2008
18712 posts
 Online 

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
You are checking a box and the rationale you explained makes perfect sense as to why you are going the route you chose.

Checking the box is not meant to be offensive or off-putting... It is getting a degree that is required to continue advancement. The online LSUS program delivers on the core of teaching you new skills and granting you an accredited degree. However, it misses on the brand, networking, and career change / recruiting components that MBAs also offer.

As you explained, these things you will be missing are not what matter most to you in your value equation.


Colonel Flagg
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Apr 2010
14698 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
(no message)
This post was edited on 11/30 at 7:26 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Paul Allen
Notre Dame Fan
Boca Raton, FL
Member since Nov 2007
48799 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Do you have an MBA?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
30
Azazello
Duke Fan
Member since Sep 2011
2291 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

lynxcat


What industry are you in and what schools do yall recruit from?

I'm planning on going to business school fall 2017 but my aspirations are all over the place. Do I go to a regional school or go for a more national brand? Choices...


JQ
New York
Member since Dec 2015
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
nsipod: I am looking into the online MBA program that you have been talking about, and had a few questions.

1. Are you able to choose which professor to take for each class, or is there just one?

2. Do the professor have office hours that you can call them, or is everything done via email/discussion boards?

3. Which classes were the most difficult?

4. What is the actual all-in dollar cost?

5. Which classes required the most work?

6. is there set order you need to take the classes, or do you just need to make sure you take the prereqs for certain courses?

7. Can you get locked out of a course?

8. Where are you taking it from?

Thanks


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
FunroePete
LA-Lafayette Fan
Member since Dec 2012
1333 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

What industry are you in and what schools do yall recruit from?

I'm planning on going to business school fall 2017 but my aspirations are all over the place. Do I go to a regional school or go for a more national brand? Choices...

I'm interested in the answer as well but I'm very far out from potentially going to grad school.
However check out the subreddit /r/MBA , /r/gmat and the gmatclub website. There's a lot of good information in these places.

From what I've read unless its free, or your job is paying for it, it's not worth the expense except if it is a top 30 school or a very strong school for your particular interest. Look for MBA class profiles and the companies that hire them. Some are more attuned to certain professions and industries.

For example, a school like Texas will have more energy hiring companies than say Princeton. Also one school may have higher i-banking job placement compared to another and so on.

Sorry for bad grammar
hope this helps
This post was edited on 12/3 at 8:35 pm


lynxcat
Rutgers Fan
Member since Jan 2008
18712 posts
 Online 

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I plan on attending a program in 2016. I have researched the topic extensively for the last 3-4 years, visited schools across the country, and work on a daily basis with folks who have attended the top 10 programs. You could argue that I am "badge" biased because of this.

IMO, regional MBA programs are great....in their region. If you move, then you lose that equity. Great examples are Emory or SMU which are terrific for the Atlanta and Dallas markets but will not have the same pull in San Francisco that Kellogg would have.


This post was edited on 12/4 at 10:38 pm


lynxcat
Rutgers Fan
Member since Jan 2008
18712 posts
 Online 

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
The ROI conversation is more about career aspirations. Does it make sense to get a $100k degree if you want to work in middle management your entire career? Probably not. Those expensive programs make sense for someone that is young in his or her career, rising through the ranks, have goals to be a senior leader, and/or want to change career paths drastically.

Princeton does not have a MBA program, BTW.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
02
Paul Allen
Notre Dame Fan
Boca Raton, FL
Member since Nov 2007
48799 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
So your logic says an LSUS MBA is good for Texas, LA, MS, AL, and Georgia?


TheHiddenFlask
Clemson Fan
The Welsh red light district
Member since Jul 2008
18384 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
An LSUS degree is not regional. It's local. It's also still worthless.

That's like saying a degree from trump university is good for any tech job because it's online. There was an inherent assumption it was a real program.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
36
lynxcat
Rutgers Fan
Member since Jan 2008
18712 posts
 Online 

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Ditto for what THF posted (except I won't use as strong of language as worthless )

Top 15 = national brand
Top 16-30 = strong regional brand
Top 31-50 = state brand
Everyone else = local brand

For example...
Stanford, Kellogg, Tuck = national brand

Tepper, Cox, Goizueta, Kenan-Flagler = strong regional

Flores = strong state

LSUS = local

These are individual scenarios where going to the highest ranked program is not necessarily the right decision for someone.

It took me 3 years to narrow down where I want to apply and I swung back and forth on the pros and cons of program types, schools, and where I want to live in the long term.
This post was edited on 12/5 at 9:36 am


TheHiddenFlask
Clemson Fan
The Welsh red light district
Member since Jul 2008
18384 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
It's not actually worthless, but this dude is so blatantly pimping them that it hurts. It's he exact kind of degree you want if your aspiration in life is middle management. He thinks it's on par with UTexas


Paul Allen
Notre Dame Fan
Boca Raton, FL
Member since Nov 2007
48799 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
So one who aspires to be in "middle management" forever should get an MBA from LSUS? There are folks in middle management without a bachelors degree. I'm not saying it will open the door at a Fortune 500 firm and make you ceo, but you come off as if the MBA from LSUS is on par with a GED.


TheHiddenFlask
Clemson Fan
The Welsh red light district
Member since Jul 2008
18384 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
What job would an LSUS MBA qualify you for that isn't middle management or government work that simply requires a masters degree to check a box?

This is presupposing you have an undergrad degree.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
31
Azazello
Duke Fan
Member since Sep 2011
2291 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thanks. Right now I'm applying to

1. Tuck
2. HBS
3. Darden
4. Yale SOM

Tuck was my #3 until I visited and was just absolutely blown away



yellowfin
Chicago Cubs Fan
Coastal Bar
Member since May 2006
87805 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
What's your planned career path? PE? IB? Consulting?


Jump to page
Page 1 2 3 4 5 ... 204
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 3 of 204next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram