- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Score Board
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- SEC Score Board
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: UGA committed a backcourt violation on the game winner
Posted on 1/16/18 at 9:21 pm to Madking
Posted on 1/16/18 at 9:21 pm to Madking
quote:I agree. The rule about jumping in the air doesnt even apply here because both his feet weren't in the front court when he caught the ball.
If that’s not a violation fine but that’s not what the rules posted explains.
edit: did you mean the jump in air rule or another one?
This post was edited on 1/16/18 at 9:24 pm
Posted on 1/16/18 at 9:22 pm to Madking
quote:
That’s a bad pic can’t tell anything or if it was even the play in question.
You can see the LSU score and the time remaining.
This post was edited on 1/16/18 at 9:23 pm
Posted on 1/16/18 at 9:23 pm to Golfer
quote:
Golfer
See my post. Im curious if the same would apply.
I reffed for a few years. Never went past JV level. I also coached high school for a few years. I don't think I fully understood the back court until AFTER I stopped Reffing
Posted on 1/16/18 at 9:24 pm to Hold That Tiger 10
quote:
From the position he caught it, if he would have brought the other foot in the back court, as well as the ball...he would have been back court.
Nope.
quote:
If he would have had both feet in the front court, and for whatever reason, jumped in the air and caught the ball (with both feet off the ground), landing both feet in the back court after the catch..it would have been back court.
Not if he’s the first offensive player to touch it on the throw in.
Posted on 1/16/18 at 9:25 pm to Hold That Tiger 10
quote:No, the out of bounds line is treated differently than a backcourt violation. You have to have both feet established in bounds before touching the ball legally. Jumping in the air doesnt reestablish your foot inbounds.
Let's say the person that is going to catch the inbound pass had a heel on the out of bounds line. He jumps in the air to catch the inbounds pass, and then lands in bounds.
Same thing applies? He has no established position on the court because the ball hasn't been touched yet?
ps - sorry, i need to STFU and quit answering golfer's questions
This post was edited on 1/16/18 at 9:26 pm
Posted on 1/16/18 at 9:25 pm to Rjlebla
Multiple pushes in the back on the boards led to a rebounding advantage for UGA
Posted on 1/16/18 at 9:26 pm to Golfer
thats not the post I was talking about. I follow what you are saying on that.
See the post about the player being OOB before jumping in. Posted on page 2 I believe.
See the post about the player being OOB before jumping in. Posted on page 2 I believe.
Posted on 1/16/18 at 9:29 pm to The Mick
quote:
No, the out of bounds line is treated differently than a backcourt violation. You have to have both feet established in bounds before touching the ball legally. Jumping in the air doesnt reestablish your foot inbounds
Got it. I thought this was the case, but I thought the mid court line played the same role on a take in.
Posted on 1/16/18 at 9:29 pm to Hold That Tiger 10
quote:
Let's say the person that is going to catch the inbound pass had a heel on the out of bounds line. He jumps in the air to catch the inbounds pass, and then lands in bounds. Same thing applies? He has no established position on the court because the ball hasn't been touched yet?
No. He’s still out of bounds.
Posted on 1/16/18 at 9:34 pm to Hold That Tiger 10
quote:No violation, he would be considered back court since not all 3 things were established in front court when he caught the ball (ball + 2 feet).
If he had one foot in front court, and one in back court when he caught the ball he still had front court status.
quote:No violation, he could bring the other 2 things into the backcourt no problem since 1 of his feet was never established in front court.
From the position he caught it, if he would have brought the other foot in the back court, as well as the ball...he would have been back court.
quote:No violation, you can do that. You could even land straddling the line and then dribble the ball way into the backcourt and still be legal. (keep in mind the jump in air rule is only for throw ins, not a pass from a teammate or something like that).
If he would have had both feet in the front court, and for whatever reason, jumped in the air and caught the ball (with both feet off the ground), landing both feet in the back court after the catch..it would have been back court.
Posted on 1/16/18 at 9:36 pm to The Mick
Yeah I got that. I just didn't know FC or BC status wasn't determined until the ball was touched by the offense on an in bounds pass. Thats what threw me off.
Basically the only way you can get a back court violation on that side in bounds pass is to catch it with both feet, and the ball in the front court, and then cross into the back court.
Basically the only way you can get a back court violation on that side in bounds pass is to catch it with both feet, and the ball in the front court, and then cross into the back court.
This post was edited on 1/16/18 at 9:38 pm
Posted on 1/16/18 at 9:37 pm to Hold That Tiger 10
Ah gotcha.. goodnight 
Popular
Back to top


0




