Started By
Message

re: Trindon TD called back

Posted on 11/23/08 at 5:50 pm to
Posted by tigerchil
baton rouge
Member since Oct 2007
229 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 5:50 pm to
they should have reviewed the play just like they did for miss earlier in the game!
Posted by Volvagia
Fort Worth
Member since Mar 2006
52886 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 5:51 pm to
quote:

It seems to me though that once the ball touches the ground it should be fair game.


Pretty sure that is the case.
Posted by Volvagia
Fort Worth
Member since Mar 2006
52886 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 5:51 pm to
quote:


both movements signal the same thing

both say, "we're not returning this ball"



But one is an official signal, the other informal.

It is only with this new rule that the informal signal kills the ball.
Posted by SlowFlowPro
With populists, expect populism
Member since Jan 2004
464971 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 5:52 pm to
quote:

The rule can't be to prevent injury IMO.

it's to avoid tricking the other team inan underhanded way
Posted by STEVED00
Member since May 2007
23041 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 5:58 pm to
quote:

it's to avoid tricking the other team inan underhanded way


That is a stretch IMO. I totally get the theory behind the call if its a half-arse fair catch signal and then the player attempts to make a catch and run, but the ball bouncing around on the ground is a totally different scenario.

No matter what rules are rules, so we have to live with it.
Posted by LA007
Monroe
Member since Nov 2008
1778 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:22 pm to
I'd like to see the rule that was interpreted. I heard the perfunctory "explanation" given by the announcers. But, I've never seen that call, in action or on TV, much like the fan that referenced the LSU/Auburn game when we were penalized on the missed extra point.
Posted by SlowFlowPro
With populists, expect populism
Member since Jan 2004
464971 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:23 pm to
it was posted on here

it's on page like 93 or 94 of the pdf rulebook
Posted by Hideo Nomo
Put up both hands, drop one thumb
Member since Apr 2008
7457 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:26 pm to
quote:


both movements signal the same thing

both say, "we're not returning this ball"


They're opposite.

One says to the other team, "I'm catching this ball so back off".

One says to one's own team, "I'm not catching this ball so back off".
Posted by SlowFlowPro
With populists, expect populism
Member since Jan 2004
464971 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:27 pm to
quote:

They're opposite.

if you're on the kicking team, both signals mean the SAME thing: receiving team is not advancing the ball
Posted by LA007
Monroe
Member since Nov 2008
1778 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:27 pm to
Thanks. I'll try to look it up before posting further.
Posted by HueyP
Lubbock
Member since Nov 2008
3155 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:29 pm to
You cant signal a fair catch once it hits the ground can you? That's my problem with this call. The ball was already on the ground!
Posted by teebox
Cut Off
Member since Oct 2008
62 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:32 pm to
Hey juice, what is it with the Ed Orgeron picture?
Posted by SlowFlowPro
With populists, expect populism
Member since Jan 2004
464971 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:33 pm to
quote:

You cant signal a fair catch once it hits the ground can you?

i don't think you can signal anything once it hits the ground

i know for sure if you make an "invalid" signal (which is pretty much any blatant hand movement) it's dead for the returning team
Posted by themunch
bottom of the list
Member since Jan 2007
71239 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:33 pm to
If the ball was already on the ground you cannot fair catch it. That rule should not have applied and was missused. Get me a lawyer and not slo flo.

Posted by SlowFlowPro
With populists, expect populism
Member since Jan 2004
464971 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:38 pm to
LINK

That's the rule book. go to pages 93-94

quote:

ARTICLE 3. a. During a down in which a kick is made, no player of Team B shall
make any invalid fair catch signal during a free kick or beyond the neutral zone
during a scrimmage kick. Any signal is invalid after a scrimmage kick is caught
beyond the neutral zone, strikes the ground or touches another player beyond the
neutral zone.
A signal is invalid after a free kick is caught, strikes the ground or
touches another player (A.R. 6-5-3-IV-VI).
b. A catch after an invalid signal is not a fair catch, and the ball is dead where
caught. If the signal follows a catch, the ball is dead when the signal is first
given (A.R. 6-5-1-II).
c. Invalid signals beyond the neutral zone apply only to Team B (A.R. 6-5-3-II).
d. An invalid signal beyond the neutral zone is possible only when the ball has
crossed the neutral zone (Rule 2-15-7) (A.R. 6-5-3-I).



Posted by themunch
bottom of the list
Member since Jan 2007
71239 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:46 pm to
He did not signal fair catch. Period. Lets go to the video tape.

Got a find me a youtube-it cuz i dont have it on tape.

They just be fricking with us and you know it. That was Trindon's td damnit.

Posted by Volvagia
Fort Worth
Member since Mar 2006
52886 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:47 pm to
quote:

He did not signal fair catch. Period.


Right.

He just did an invalid signal which is basically the same as a fair catch...it kills the ball when you recieve it.
Posted by SaintLSUnAtl
THE REAL MJ
Member since Jan 2007
22167 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:50 pm to
the only problem is that saturday was the first time i've EVER seen that called and i've seen plenty of return men wave of teammates and pick the ball up and run
Posted by Hideo Nomo
Put up both hands, drop one thumb
Member since Apr 2008
7457 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:51 pm to
quote:

if you're on the kicking team, both signals mean the SAME thing: receiving team is not advancing the ball


Except one is an official signal that says you must hold up and another is an unofficial signal that leaves the returner fair game.
Posted by Volvagia
Fort Worth
Member since Mar 2006
52886 posts
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:51 pm to
I think it is a new rule this year.

I can't remember folks waving off before....
first pageprev pagePage 2 of 3Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram