- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Score Board
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- SEC Score Board
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: Trindon TD called back
Posted on 11/23/08 at 5:50 pm to xLxSxUxFxAxNx
Posted on 11/23/08 at 5:50 pm to xLxSxUxFxAxNx
they should have reviewed the play just like they did for miss earlier in the game!
Posted on 11/23/08 at 5:51 pm to STEVED00
quote:
It seems to me though that once the ball touches the ground it should be fair game.
Pretty sure that is the case.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 5:51 pm to SlowFlowPro
quote:
both movements signal the same thing
both say, "we're not returning this ball"
But one is an official signal, the other informal.
It is only with this new rule that the informal signal kills the ball.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 5:52 pm to STEVED00
quote:
The rule can't be to prevent injury IMO.
it's to avoid tricking the other team inan underhanded way
Posted on 11/23/08 at 5:58 pm to SlowFlowPro
quote:
it's to avoid tricking the other team inan underhanded way
That is a stretch IMO. I totally get the theory behind the call if its a half-arse fair catch signal and then the player attempts to make a catch and run, but the ball bouncing around on the ground is a totally different scenario.
No matter what rules are rules, so we have to live with it.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:22 pm to legalbengal
I'd like to see the rule that was interpreted. I heard the perfunctory "explanation" given by the announcers. But, I've never seen that call, in action or on TV, much like the fan that referenced the LSU/Auburn game when we were penalized on the missed extra point.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:23 pm to LA007
it was posted on here
it's on page like 93 or 94 of the pdf rulebook
it's on page like 93 or 94 of the pdf rulebook
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:26 pm to SlowFlowPro
quote:
both movements signal the same thing
both say, "we're not returning this ball"
They're opposite.
One says to the other team, "I'm catching this ball so back off".
One says to one's own team, "I'm not catching this ball so back off".
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:27 pm to Hideo Nomo
quote:
They're opposite.
if you're on the kicking team, both signals mean the SAME thing: receiving team is not advancing the ball
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:27 pm to SlowFlowPro
Thanks. I'll try to look it up before posting further.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:29 pm to Hideo Nomo
You cant signal a fair catch once it hits the ground can you? That's my problem with this call. The ball was already on the ground!
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:32 pm to LSUJuice
Hey juice, what is it with the Ed Orgeron picture?
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:33 pm to HueyP
quote:
You cant signal a fair catch once it hits the ground can you?
i don't think you can signal anything once it hits the ground
i know for sure if you make an "invalid" signal (which is pretty much any blatant hand movement) it's dead for the returning team
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:33 pm to HueyP
If the ball was already on the ground you cannot fair catch it. That rule should not have applied and was missused. Get me a lawyer and not slo flo.

Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:38 pm to themunch
LINK
That's the rule book. go to pages 93-94
That's the rule book. go to pages 93-94
quote:
ARTICLE 3. a. During a down in which a kick is made, no player of Team B shall
make any invalid fair catch signal during a free kick or beyond the neutral zone
during a scrimmage kick. Any signal is invalid after a scrimmage kick is caught
beyond the neutral zone, strikes the ground or touches another player beyond the
neutral zone. A signal is invalid after a free kick is caught, strikes the ground or
touches another player (A.R. 6-5-3-IV-VI).
b. A catch after an invalid signal is not a fair catch, and the ball is dead where
caught. If the signal follows a catch, the ball is dead when the signal is first
given (A.R. 6-5-1-II).
c. Invalid signals beyond the neutral zone apply only to Team B (A.R. 6-5-3-II).
d. An invalid signal beyond the neutral zone is possible only when the ball has
crossed the neutral zone (Rule 2-15-7) (A.R. 6-5-3-I).
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:46 pm to SlowFlowPro
He did not signal fair catch. Period. Lets go to the video tape.
Got a find me a youtube-it cuz i dont have it on tape.
They just be fricking with us and you know it. That was Trindon's td damnit.

Got a find me a youtube-it cuz i dont have it on tape.
They just be fricking with us and you know it. That was Trindon's td damnit.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:47 pm to themunch
quote:
He did not signal fair catch. Period.
Right.
He just did an invalid signal which is basically the same as a fair catch...it kills the ball when you recieve it.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:50 pm to tiger91
the only problem is that saturday was the first time i've EVER seen that called and i've seen plenty of return men wave of teammates and pick the ball up and run
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:51 pm to SlowFlowPro
quote:
if you're on the kicking team, both signals mean the SAME thing: receiving team is not advancing the ball
Except one is an official signal that says you must hold up and another is an unofficial signal that leaves the returner fair game.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:51 pm to SaintLSUnAtl
I think it is a new rule this year.
I can't remember folks waving off before....
I can't remember folks waving off before....
Popular
Back to top


0




