Started By
Message

re: the onside kick

Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:10 pm to
Posted by meauxjeaux2
watson
Member since Oct 2007
60283 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:10 pm to
quote:

As for your first question, collisions happen all the time on onside kicks, both before and after the neutral zone has been breached. It is perfectly legal as long as the ball has touched the ground.

so theoretically the kicking team could just kick the ball 2 yards,surround it and obliterate anybody that approaches it right?
Posted by Golfer
Member since Nov 2005
75052 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:12 pm to
quote:

so theoretically the kicking team could just kick the ball 2 yards,surround it and obliterate anybody that approaches it right?


If they could, everyone would fricking do it.

The kicker would tap the ball off the tee, wait for a receiving team player to run up and get the ball, and nail them right as they try to get it.

Boom, turnover!
Posted by whiteyc777
Greenville, SC
Member since Dec 2009
134 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:12 pm to
quote:

But not inside the 'neutral zone'


Oh really?

-YTC
Posted by TigerBait1127
Houston
Member since Jun 2005
47336 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:12 pm to
quote:

I know, right? You would think that they would be able to possess some level of reading comprehension.


I was responding to you
Posted by whiteyc777
Greenville, SC
Member since Dec 2009
134 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:15 pm to
quote:

so theoretically the kicking team could just kick the ball 2 yards,surround it and obliterate anybody that approaches it right?


If they wanted to, sure. But they couldn't recover it until it went 10 yards.

-YTC
Posted by The Future
Smallville, KS
Member since Oct 2009
22661 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:15 pm to
the after 10 yards rule makes sense because if not the kicker could tip it off the tee every time and get it. The refs f ed up
Posted by TheDoc
doc is no more
Member since Dec 2005
99297 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:16 pm to
quote:

Oh really?


Oh man you are dumb
Posted by bmy
Nashville
Member since Oct 2007
48203 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:16 pm to
quote:


Oh really?

-YTC


Hadn't the ball gone the required 10 yards before contact was made?
Posted by mmill32
Williamson County, Texas
Member since Jul 2005
2999 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:17 pm to
the officials would blow that dead once no player attempts to secure player posession
Posted by AlxTgr
Kyre Banorg
Member since Oct 2003
86302 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:17 pm to
No one entitled to the "protection" of the rule was hit

Posted by whiteyc777
Greenville, SC
Member since Dec 2009
134 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:17 pm to
quote:

Hadn't the ball gone the required 10 yards before contact was made?


Are you even watching the video that I linked? Of course contact was made before it went 10 yards.

Not that I would expect any of you to admit when you are wrong...

-YTC
Posted by mmill32
Williamson County, Texas
Member since Jul 2005
2999 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:18 pm to
and you cannot block a R player into the ball and and still retain posession.. that contact is ignored
Posted by meauxjeaux2
watson
Member since Oct 2007
60283 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:19 pm to
quote:

If they wanted to, sure.
no,they can't

It is written in the rules.
The ball must go past the neutral zone before contact can be made,either with the ball or the opposing team members.
Posted by RPC4LSU
Thibodaux, LA
Member since Jan 2006
2041 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:19 pm to
quote:

whiteyc777
quote:

Not that I would expect any of you to admit when you are wrong...

Would you because you are abviously wrong now.
Posted by MastrShake
SoCal
Member since Nov 2008
7281 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:20 pm to
quote:

Are you even watching the video that I linked? Of course contact was made before it went 10 yards.


not with the receiver dipshit. according to your logic, it would be pass interference when the DE and RT hit each other.
Posted by tiger45br
baton rouge
Member since Aug 2009
20 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:21 pm to
The link you provided shows the ball well past the 10 yd. neutral zone and the kicking team players are not making contact with the receiver prior to him touching the ball. Again --- the ball touching the ground prior to the 10 yd. mark does not allow for the kicking team to receive the ball or contacting a receiver prior to the receiver touching the ball. Otherwise each onside kick would be onto the ground parallel to the kicking team's line of play.
Posted by meauxjeaux2
watson
Member since Oct 2007
60283 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:21 pm to
just watched your video.
The ball was kicked in the air and contact was made after the ball travels 10 yards.
Posted by ELVIS U
Member since Feb 2007
11498 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:21 pm to
They didn't kick to them, they kicked to Freshman Alfred Blue. Ever seen the waterboy?
Posted by Golfer
Member since Nov 2005
75052 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:23 pm to
quote:

Are you even watching the video that I linked? Of course contact was made before it went 10 yards.


NOT WITH THE PLAYER ATTEMPTING TO RECEIVE THE BALL.
Posted by whiteyc777
Greenville, SC
Member since Dec 2009
134 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 4:23 pm to
So you guys are telling me that there was no contact made between players prior to the ball crossing 10 yards in that video, correct?

-YTC
Jump to page
Page First 6 7 8 9 10 ... 17
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 8 of 17Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram