- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: Refs just did the same thing to SC that they did us
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:37 pm to atltiger6487
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:37 pm to atltiger6487
If it was Clemson everybody on here would say it's not a catch
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:55 pm to Fun Bunch
quote:
Which the rule explicitly and clearly states is totally irrelevant. It says it doesn’t matter where it is, including the endzone.
With the exception of making a football move which he did after catching the ball then taking a step and diving into the endzone.
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 8:57 pm
Posted on 8/31/25 at 9:06 pm to holdem Tiger
quote:
That's exactly it. If the receiver was falling in the act of the catch
quote:
Was Brown falling? Probably so.
Is there any rule that suggests this? I have yet to see anyone reference or quote any rule that suggest he was "falling the in the act of the catch". Every receiver that catches a ball in the air is "falling in the act of the catch", but at some point they cease to be "in the act of a catch" and become a runner with possession. When they are taking steps, they are not falling. I have seen nothing cited to suggest otherwise. Brown was taking steps, ergo was not "falling in the act of the catch". Also, he was hit by the defender after the catch to put him to the ground. That is also not "falling in the act of a catch".
None of these rule situations fit what happened with Brown. It would not surprise me if the NCAA crafted some rule stupidly enough to apply these kinds of conditions to that situation, but thankfully they have not yet. Which is why none of these commentaries can cite or quote any rule to support the notion that Brown was "go[ing] to the ground in the act of catching a pass". The elements of Section 4, Article 3, Paragraphs 1-3 were all completed before he fell, so he clearly did not go to the ground "in the act of catching a pass"; he had already completed that act.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 9:12 pm to Fun Bunch
quote:
Which the rule explicitly and clearly states is totally irrelevant.
No, it doesn't. It says it is irrelevant whether the catch occurs in the endzone or not. It says nothing about the receiver catching the ball in the field of play and then crossing into the endzone being irrelevant. In fact, in Section 4, Article 3, paragraph 3, it explicitly states that it is relevant if the receiver manages to "advance" the ball, which of course is what happens when you cross the goalline with it.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 9:23 pm to King Joey
Y'know what, after a day I'm at peace with the whole thing.
We won the game anyway. Instead of riding a big surge in momentum, we got hit with a big bit of adversity (no TD, then a badly missed FG with our kicker limping off afterwards). Perfect opportunity for Clemson to seize control, but instead we forced a 3 and out, and went 75 yds in 11 plays for the TD next drive.
That's a damn good sign.
And as for the end of the game- final drive, preseason 1st Team All American QB leading his team in the final minutes for the tying/go-ahead score, at home...
and we stuff him.
That's also a damn good sign.
We know Nuss can hit Hilton, now we know he can hit Brown too. It's gonna happen.

We won the game anyway. Instead of riding a big surge in momentum, we got hit with a big bit of adversity (no TD, then a badly missed FG with our kicker limping off afterwards). Perfect opportunity for Clemson to seize control, but instead we forced a 3 and out, and went 75 yds in 11 plays for the TD next drive.
That's a damn good sign.
And as for the end of the game- final drive, preseason 1st Team All American QB leading his team in the final minutes for the tying/go-ahead score, at home...
and we stuff him.
That's also a damn good sign.
We know Nuss can hit Hilton, now we know he can hit Brown too. It's gonna happen.
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:55 am to King Joey
quote:
I have yet to see anyone reference or quote any rule that suggest he was "falling the in the act of the catch".
Agree completely. The rule doesn’t much help you interpret that.
The league’s training probably has many scenarios explaining how to interpret, which we will never see. In Brown’s case I could argue it either way. He was leaning forward off balance, but did manage to take two steps.
Call is at least defensible.
Popular
Back to top


0




