Started By
Message

re: on side kick ruling from 2009

Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:28 pm to
Posted by medtiger
Member since Sep 2003
21954 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:28 pm to
quote:

In my opinion, blue was blocked (legally) into the ball


Your opinion is wrong. Look up the rule, or just look up to the top of this page where the rule is posted in my post. The kicking team can't touch anyone on the receiving team until the ball has gone 10 yards.

quote:

But it was his fault for going to get the ball before it went ten yards. That's fundamentals.


Why? If he thought he could field it cleanly inside of 10 yards, then he probably figured he could do so without being legally hit and have a better chance at coming up with it. I think it was smart.
This post was edited on 9/5/10 at 11:30 pm
Posted by johnarbour
Member since Aug 2009
124 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:36 pm to
How is it smart? If he knew the kicking team couldn't touch it until after ten yards unless he touched it, why would he go get it before it goes ten yards? Players are coached to let it come to them in an anticipated free kick. It's way too risky to go get it before it travels 10 yards.
Posted by chilge1
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2009
12139 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:43 pm to
Because he was in position to field it cleanly and he SHOULDN'T have gotten hit before the ball arrived.
Posted by johnarbour
Member since Aug 2009
124 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:45 pm to
Also, you're misinterpreting the rule. Once recieving team crosses it's restraining line like blue did, and the ball has touched the ground, which it did, he is fair game. The way you state it, the recieving team could run and smash a kicker before the ball goes ten yards, but a kicker cannot.
Posted by johnarbour
Member since Aug 2009
124 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:47 pm to
This is correct of he called fair catch. It would have been a penalty for calling fair catch of a grounded kick, but he would have been protected.
Posted by medtiger
Member since Sep 2003
21954 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:57 pm to
quote:

Also, you're misinterpreting the rule. Once recieving team crosses it's restraining line like blue did, and the ball has touched the ground, which it did, he is fair game.


Here's the rule that I found on ncaa.org. If you can find a rule that states I'm wrong, I'll be happy to admit it. But I can't find anything that states that a receiving team player is fair game once he crosses his restraining line.

quote:

SECTION 4. Opportunity To Catch a Kick Interference With Opportunity ARTICLE 1. A player of the receiving team within the boundary lines attempting to catch a kick, and so located that he could have caught a free kick or a scrimmage kick that is beyond the neutral zone, must be given an unimpeded opportunity to catch the kick (A.R. 6-3-1-III, A.R. 6-4-1-V and A.R. 6-4-1-X).
a. This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone (Rule 6-5-1-a) (A.R. 6-4-1-IV).
b. If interference with a potential receiver is the result of a player being blocked by an opponent, it is not a foul.
c. It is an interference foul if the kicking team contacts the potential receiver before, or simultaneous to, his first touching the ball (A.R. 6-4-1-II, III, VII and IX). When in question, it is an interference foul.


Also, the part that states "this protection terminates when the kick touches the ground" doesn't apply here because a kicking team member can't block a receiving team member until the kicking team is legally able to recover the ball, i.e., once the ball has gone 10 yards.
Posted by johnarbour
Member since Aug 2009
124 posts
Posted on 9/6/10 at 12:05 am to
I agree with everything you just stated, but in this case, once blue crosses his restraining line, he could be blocked. Otherwise, he could headhunt and wipe someone out. You have to take in consideration specific definitions and designations of terms. Football rules are a royal pain in the arse because definitions change so much in a play. For instance, how long is a quarterback considered a passer and have protection from roughing the passer? It's all really interesting and frustrating at the same time.
Posted by HeauxBeaux
Member since Mar 2008
5538 posts
Posted on 9/6/10 at 12:09 am to
quote:

Also, you're misinterpreting the rule. Once recieving team crosses it's restraining line like blue did, and the ball has touched the ground, which it did, he is fair game. The way you state it, the recieving team could run and smash a kicker before the ball goes ten yards, but a kicker cannot.

This makes sense but it doesn't jibe with this

quote:

No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball

It says nothing in the rules that the 10 yard eligibilty rule shortens when Team B player moves within it
Posted by Todd515151
Shreveport, LA
Member since Dec 2004
716 posts
Posted on 9/6/10 at 12:17 am to
quote:

How is it smart? If he knew the kicking team couldn't touch it until after ten yards unless he touched it, why would he go get it before it goes ten yards? Players are coached to let it come to them in an anticipated free kick. It's way too risky to go get it before it travels 10 yards.


I'm starting to understand that this board is filled with dumbasses. I really already knew that, but folks that can't understand this relatively unambiguous rule drives the point home.
Posted by johnarbour
Member since Aug 2009
124 posts
Posted on 9/6/10 at 12:26 am to
I wish I could remember exactly the interpretation i was referring to. It involved the definition of a block, and how in a case like this (a grounded kick), the definition of a block and blocker changes. Similar to how players can throw each other around when trying to secure a fumble. As I understand it, blocking in the back and clipping rules are still in effect. Looking at the replay again, I think a block in the back could have been called. It's close.
Posted by Poodlebrain
Way Right of Rex
Member since Jan 2004
19860 posts
Posted on 9/6/10 at 8:03 am to
quote:

How is it smart? If he knew the kicking team couldn't touch it until after ten yards unless he touched it, why would he go get it before it goes ten yards? Players are coached to let it come to them in an anticipated free kick. It's way too risky to go get it before it travels 10 yards.

Have you ever played a game involving fielding a bouncing ball? You are taught to charge the ball when you expect a good hop. And Blue did just that. The ball was waist high and easily catchable if he isn't hit illegally. If he waits for the ball, then he is catching it by the ground and risks getting a bad bounce.
Posted by johnarbour
Member since Aug 2009
124 posts
Posted on 9/6/10 at 9:34 am to
This isn't baseball. You can't really expect a good hop with a football kicked full force into the ground directly at you. Maybe a bouncing pooch kick.
Posted by los angeles tiger
1,601 miles from Tiger Stadium
Member since Oct 2003
55976 posts
Posted on 9/6/10 at 9:47 am to
There's also supposed to be at least 4 players on each side of the ball. It looked like there were only 3 on one side for UNC.
first pageprev pagePage 2 of 2Next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram