- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: No Call on the Onsides Kick
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:10 pm to Lithium
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:10 pm to Lithium
quote:
think the onsides kick suprised the coaching staff
If they had brains, it should not have surprised them!!! UNC had NOTHING to lose by doing that. They were already losing and were expected to lose. That onside kick is an example of playing to WIN the game!!!! If Leslie and his staff of morons didn't think it was coming, perhaps they should all pack their shite and leave TODAY!!! Even the idiotic announcers said it was coming!
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:12 pm to SlowFlowPro
Regardless of what the rule is it was a clip. Last time I checked you aren't ever allowed to block people in the back and since he didn't have the ball it can't be classified as a tackle.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:13 pm to Lithium
quote:
I think the onsides kick suprised the coaching staff
Obviously ... that's why the hands team was out there.

Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:13 pm to Lithium
quote:
I think the onsides kick suprised the coaching staff
I don't think that in the slightest. Prior to th one where we fumbled on 1st down - We had sustained drives of 5:07(punt) and 3:07(INT). There was no way in hell UNC was going to do anything BUT onsides kick with 1:08 on the clock.
That being said - I just saw who I was responding to and realize that you are intelligent enough that your post was possibly sarcasm.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:16 pm to 1984Tiger
well maybe thay just practice the damn play more and stay 10 yards away
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:18 pm to ottothewise
quote:
the man catching the ball was hit before he got the ball.
he was hit inside the 10 yard zone.
Therefore it was a mistake by UNC and should have been LSU's ball.
Bad call
This is not the rule in the NFL and unless they changed things recently I don't think it's the rule in college football.
Once the ball hits the ground, the only restriction is touching the ball before 10 yards.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:22 pm to yurintroubl
What do I think? I think they'd have called interference on LSU.
We won the game- but should've finished them in the third qtr.
The funny thing is- if we'd have hit that opening series FG, the game would've been over much earlier.
We won the game- but should've finished them in the third qtr.
The funny thing is- if we'd have hit that opening series FG, the game would've been over much earlier.
This post was edited on 9/5/10 at 12:23 pm
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:35 pm to mgdtiger
quote:
the question is not whether a team can bowl into the players on an onside that has hit the ground already, the question is can they do it before the ball has travelled 10 yards or hit a guy within the 10 yards. I haven't seen anyone post the rule or state in any knowing manner.
Think about the middle onside kick that we've run in the past. The kicker dribbles it slowly while the kicking teams clears out the guy in the middle. The kicker then lets the ball go 10 yards before falling on it.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:38 pm to yurintroubl
quote:
Was it because they couldn't review a penalty?
This. But for everyone else, the kicking team cannot make contact AT ALL within the 10 yd zone. You can hit whoever you want as long as they are past 10 yds. It was illegal what the guy did hitting the LSU player before the ball got there.
This post was edited on 9/5/10 at 12:39 pm
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:41 pm to Lithium
quote:
I think the onsides kick suprised the coaching staff
I would have bet my life savings that they were going to kick it deep, and were just tricking us with the onside formation.
The onside kick was the WRONG decision by UNC there because if they don't get it the game is basically over.
But as usual with a Leslie coached team crazy shite happens, and happened and the roller coaster ride was just getting started.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:41 pm to moneyg
This was difficult to fiiiiind (sarcasm). Ruling: INTERFERENCE WITH THE OPPORTUNITY - ARTICLE 1. A player of the receiving team within the boundary lines attempting to catch a kick, and so located that he could have caught a free kick or a scrimmage kick that is beyond the neutral zone, must be given an unimpeded opportunity to catch the kick (A.R. 6-3-1-III, A.R. 6-4-1-V and A.R. 6-4-1-X).
a. This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player
of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any
player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone (Rule
6-5-1-a) (A.R. 6-4-1-IV).
b. If interference with a potential receiver is the result of a player being blocked
by an opponent, it is not a foul.
c. It is an interference foul if the kicking team contacts the potential receiver
before, or simultaneous to, his first touching the ball (A.R. 6-4-1-II, III, VII and
IX). When in question, it is an interference foul.
a. This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player
of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any
player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone (Rule
6-5-1-a) (A.R. 6-4-1-IV).
b. If interference with a potential receiver is the result of a player being blocked
by an opponent, it is not a foul.
c. It is an interference foul if the kicking team contacts the potential receiver
before, or simultaneous to, his first touching the ball (A.R. 6-4-1-II, III, VII and
IX). When in question, it is an interference foul.
This post was edited on 9/5/10 at 12:45 pm
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:42 pm to TigerOnTheProwl
quote:
If they had brains, it should not have surprised them!!! UNC had NOTHING to lose by doing that. They were already losing and were expected to lose. That onside kick is an example of playing to WIN the game!!!! If Leslie and his staff of morons didn't think it was coming, perhaps they should all pack their shite and leave TODAY!!! Even the idiotic announcers said it was coming!
Basically the rule of thumb is "would Sean Payton do this?"
Sean Payton would have kicked the ball deep there because it was obvious that LSU was in a shell offense, would have gone 3 and out, and UNC would have gotten the ball back in decent field position with plenty of time.
That onside kick had a 15% chance of success if you go by the book (expected onside kicks rarely work) and wasn't the smart play. If LSU recovers that you've surrendered 40 yards of field position plus the chance for LSU to make it a 2 possession game with one of the best FG kickers in the country.
This post was edited on 9/5/10 at 12:44 pm
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:45 pm to AlejandroInHouston
why do people keep saying lsu didn't think it was coming, we were in our onside return set up with the hands team out there.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:45 pm to Lithium
quote:why in the hell would you think that? we had 10 guys on the line and PP was the only deep man.
Message
Posted by Lithium
I think the onsides kick suprised the coaching staff

Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:50 pm to Lithium
quote:
I think the onsides kick suprised the coaching staff


Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:51 pm to redwolfsteamroller
only thing i can find on the ncaa site for this ruling.
g. No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a
free-kicked ball [S19].
PENALTY—Live-ball foul. Five yards from the previous spot, or five yards
from the spot where the subsequent dead ball belongs to Team
B, or from the spot where the ball is placed after a touchback
Team A is the kicking team and not eligible to touch the ball till it is 10 yards from them i believe
g. No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a
free-kicked ball [S19].
PENALTY—Live-ball foul. Five yards from the previous spot, or five yards
from the spot where the subsequent dead ball belongs to Team
B, or from the spot where the ball is placed after a touchback
Team A is the kicking team and not eligible to touch the ball till it is 10 yards from them i believe
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:55 pm to mgdtiger
quote:
only thing i can find on the ncaa site for this ruling.
then look up at my post.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:55 pm to mgdtiger
By rule, once a kick is grounded (touched the ground) the receiving team is no longer protected. Good no call. LSU should not have touched the ball before it went ten yards.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 12:58 pm to LSUcc
Sorry, didn't see your post. The key is te kick touching the ground. That's why it's intentionally kicked into the ground.
Popular
Back to top
