Started By
Message

re: Link to video of LSU triple play

Posted on 5/7/16 at 9:42 am to
Posted by im4LSU
Hattiesburg, MS
Member since Aug 2004
34425 posts
Posted on 5/7/16 at 9:42 am to
quote:

So outs two and three were near instantaneous, correct?


Correct.

As soon as Reid caught the throw from Romero, the runner that left 3rd (didnt tag) was out. Then Reid tagged the runner advancing from 2nd to 3rd.
Posted by CheerWhine
A little bit of Mardi Gras
Member since Apr 2014
77141 posts
Posted on 5/7/16 at 9:44 am to
quote:

How did the umpires rule it before overturning? (What did they actually call, I missed it)


I'm not entirely sure if I have this right, so bear with me. At first, they said Robertson didn't catch the ball (which I honestly don't think he did), so it was a ground ball for a 6-2-5 double play, runners at 2nd and 3rd were out on force plays and a tag by Reid at 3rd. Then they conversed and decided that Robertson did catch it, so there was no force play at home, but for some reason, they also decided that Reid didn't touch 3rd base when the ball was thrown to him. That's why we had to appeal to 3rd afterwards, in order to retire the runner there who didn't tag up.
Posted by tigerskin
Member since Nov 2004
44837 posts
Posted on 5/7/16 at 9:47 am to
They thought Reid had to appeal the runner from 3rd leaving early. Which is the wrong ruling.
Posted by beauchristopher
Member since Jan 2008
72321 posts
Posted on 5/7/16 at 10:10 am to
They could have appealed the guy on 1st as well as he never tagged up or touch the base
Posted by LSURussian
Member since Feb 2005
133590 posts
Posted on 5/7/16 at 10:12 am to
quote:

They could have appealed the guy on 1st as well as he never tagged up or touch the ba
A quadruple play!!
Posted by EazyBreesy
Shreveport, La
Member since Feb 2016
563 posts
Posted on 5/7/16 at 10:21 am to
quote:

How did the umpires rule it before overturning? (What did they actually call, I missed it)


On the original, where did the end up with base runners. I thought I remember them having runners on 2nd and third.
This post was edited on 5/7/16 at 10:22 am
Posted by CheerWhine
A little bit of Mardi Gras
Member since Apr 2014
77141 posts
Posted on 5/7/16 at 10:27 am to
quote:

On the original, where did the end up with base runners. I thought I remember them having runners on 2nd and third.


Before everything started, the bases were loaded with no outs. It was originally a ground ball double play with force plays at home and 3rd, along with a tag on the runner coming into 3rd for good measure. So Arkansas had runners on 1st and 2nd with 2 outs on the original ruling.
Posted by DArbonneDuke
D'Arbonne, LA
Member since Nov 2005
1462 posts
Posted on 5/7/16 at 1:01 pm to
The umps messed up by not acknowledging Reid being on third for the force out, therefore requiring the appeal. CheerWhine got it right.
Posted by LSURussian
Member since Feb 2005
133590 posts
Posted on 5/7/16 at 1:13 pm to
quote:

The umps messed up by not acknowledging Reid being on third for the force o
When Reid caught the throw from Romero, he was kneeling on third base and it appears his right foot was also on the bag.

I was at the game and I have to admit I was as confused as the umps were. My only consolation is they were much closer to the play and they get paid to make the correct call.

LINK

ETA: However, if you watch the ump at second base, it sure looks like he immediately raises is right hand signaling Kramer caught the ball in the air for an out. So why all the confusion about what the umps called??
This post was edited on 5/7/16 at 1:22 pm
Posted by SlapahoeTribe
Tiger Nation
Member since Jul 2012
12444 posts
Posted on 5/7/16 at 3:23 pm to
quote:

A quadruple play!!

It has actually happened!
quote:

After a brief conference, the umpires decided that Kansas City would start the fourth with one out.


I'd love to see van Horn's reaction to that.
Posted by josh336
baton rouge
Member since Jan 2007
81968 posts
Posted on 5/7/16 at 3:31 pm to
You thought that was real?
Posted by josh336
baton rouge
Member since Jan 2007
81968 posts
Posted on 5/7/16 at 3:33 pm to
quote:

It should have been a triple play since they ruled the line drive was caught. The umpires completely botched the situation.

Come on man. They botched it worse than that. Kramer didn't even catch it.
Posted by DArbonneDuke
D'Arbonne, LA
Member since Nov 2005
1462 posts
Posted on 5/7/16 at 3:43 pm to
I never saw a replay that clearly showed whether Robertson caught it or short-hopped it. Has Kramer weighed in on this?
Posted by josh336
baton rouge
Member since Jan 2007
81968 posts
Posted on 5/7/16 at 3:50 pm to
Go watch the watchespn version. It's obvious he didn't catch it.
Posted by CheerWhine
A little bit of Mardi Gras
Member since Apr 2014
77141 posts
Posted on 5/7/16 at 3:56 pm to
KRob weighs in

He doesn't think he caught it, and I have to agree with him.
first pageprev pagePage 2 of 2Next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram