- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: Everyone I talked still involved in the game, from officials to replay officials said TD
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:33 am to Mickey Goldmill
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:33 am to Mickey Goldmill
quote:
That photo doesn't prove he lost control of the ball. He has a hand partially beneath it and pinned against his face mask.
You're right, the video does though. He clearly loses control if you watch it from the front angle in slo mo
Its clear as day. I saw it on the broadcast when it happened.
It sucks.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:41 am to Fun Bunch
quote:Wrong. He took 2 steps (football move) with firm control, then hit the pylon. That is a TD, he DOES NOT have to "survive the ground."
Correct. It was not a TD.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:47 am to PurpleandGeauld
quote:
Wrong. He took 2 steps (football move) with firm control, then hit the pylon. That is a TD, he DOES NOT have to "survive the ground."
LOL it doesn't matter how many times you tell them this, they have bought the gaslighting from this crooked conference. It is hilarious to watch them hang on to the belief the SEC is perfect.
Same game our RB dives in the EZ, loses control of the ball, Clemson rallies to try and say fumble, but didn't matter. Why? Because once he crossed the goal line with possession the play was dead.
Yet this same logic doesn't apply to the catch because the SEC said so and they believe the SEC.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:50 am to TutHillTiger
They was flat out trying to give Clemson the game . Did yall see the Bauer sharp catch on the sideline that was called incomplete ? I thought CBK should’ve challenged that.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:55 am to Fun Bunch
quote:
People are very emotional and see what they WANT the rule to be. The same exact thing happened with the Dez Bryant thing 20 years ago. Everyone freaked out and went on and on about how it should be a catch. But, it wasn't by the rule. Change the rule
What you aren’t realizing is that it is a different situation entirely.
It is different when the catch is made in the field of play and entering the end zone.
The second he had possession (control plus 2 steps) and crossed the goal line (even hitting the pylon made it more obvious) the play was over.
It was a touchdown well before he hit the ground. That’s where all referees will say it’s a catch and I suspect the SEC will ultimately admit such.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:56 am to Chase504jeffersonla
quote:
Did yall see the Bauer sharp catch on the sideline that was called incomplete ?
It was incomplete and he also fumbled on the earlier play. Those were correct calls. You could maybe argue the fumble was incomplete due to not taking a football move, but he got hit so hard he wasn't going anywhere.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:02 am to Capo
quote:
I suspect the SEC will ultimately admit such.
There is ZERO chance that that happens.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:19 am to Chase504jeffersonla
quote:
Did yall see the Bauer sharp catch on the sideline that was called incomplete ? I thought CBK should’ve challenged that.
His foot never touched the ground.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:22 am to PurpleandGeauld
quote:
He took 2 steps
One inbounds, the other is irrelevant
quote:
then hit the pylon. That is a TD,
The rule says REGARDLESS OF WHERE IT HAPPENS
quote:
That is a TD, he DOES NOT have to "survive the ground."
He does if he is within the act of the catch, which he was
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:25 am to Fun Bunch
quote:
He does if he is within the act of the catch, which he was
This is the debate.
Whether or not he had established a catch before falling.
I think he clearly had established the catch before going to the ground.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:26 am to Capo
quote:
It is different when the catch is made in the field of play and entering the end zone.
The second he had possession (control plus 2 steps) and crossed the goal line (even hitting the pylon made it more obvious) the play was over.
None of this is correct.
He was falling the entire time. If it is not a catch, then where it happened and crossing the pylon is totally irrelevant.
And it is not a catch if he goes to the ground and loses control. If its not a catch than the pylon doesn't matter.
The better argument is if he lost control or not.
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 9:28 am
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:27 am to Salmon
quote:
Whether or not he had established a catch before falling.
He is literally falling the entire time.
Loading Twitter/X Embed...
If tweet fails to load, click here. So your distinction is irrelevant.
He has to control it through the ground here.
It is up for debate on your end if he did or not.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:29 am to TheJuicey
quote:
Early on I was pissed we got Herbie as he has a Clemson bias, but he did a great job calling the game.
No he doesn’t
This place’s obsession with bitching about TV guys is insane
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:30 am to Fun Bunch
quote:
He is literally falling the entire time.
and? You can catch the ball and stumble for multiple steps and still have clearly caught the ball.
quote:
So your distinction is irrelevant.
He has to control it through the ground here.
It is up for debate on your end if he did or not.
He clearly lost control of the ball when he hit the ground. That shouldn't be a debate.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:32 am to Salmon
I'll give you an example of how stupid the rule is:
If he had been standing completely upright, took two steps and the defender pushed him down and the exact same thing happened: Touchdown. Not even up for debate.
But because he is falling, one foot is out of bounds, he is still within the act of the catch
It is absolute garbage and up for severe subjectivity at multiple levels. I hate the rule.
If he had been standing completely upright, took two steps and the defender pushed him down and the exact same thing happened: Touchdown. Not even up for debate.
But because he is falling, one foot is out of bounds, he is still within the act of the catch
It is absolute garbage and up for severe subjectivity at multiple levels. I hate the rule.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:33 am to Salmon
quote:
and? You can catch the ball and stumble for multiple steps and still have clearly caught the ball.
But he didn't. He took 1 and starts to fall. The other foot is out of bounds (and while falling to the ground) so "doesn't count"
However losing control out of bounds DOES count.
That' how stupid and inconsistent these rules are.
But, that is how they work.
quote:
He clearly lost control of the ball when he hit the ground. That shouldn't be a debate.
Ouch
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 9:35 am
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:33 am to Fun Bunch
quote:
and up for severe subjectivity at multiple levels.
yet you are arguing as if it is quite objective
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:35 am to Salmon
The rule in and of itself is subject to subjective calls at multiple levels
However, in this case, the only two subjective elements are
1) Is he going to the ground? (yes)
2) did he lose control? (yes, as you admitted)
However, in this case, the only two subjective elements are
1) Is he going to the ground? (yes)
2) did he lose control? (yes, as you admitted)
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:37 am to Salmon
quote:
and? You can catch the ball and stumble for multiple steps and still have clearly caught the ball.
If you're falling to the ground while in the process of securing a pass, you have to maintain control after hitting the ground.
quote:
He clearly lost control of the ball when he hit the ground. That shouldn't be a debate.
That is the real debate here. Yes the ball moves and touches the ground, but his hand in under the ball and the ball is pinned up against him/his facemask the entire time. The ground does not help him secure the ball and it was never at risk of falling out completely.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:38 am to Mickey Goldmill
quote:
but his hand in under the ball
it is not in the split second we are talking about
Popular
Back to top


1






