Posted by
Message
JetsetNuggs
Chicago Cubs Fan
New Orleans
Member since Jun 2014
6134 posts
 Online 

NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
IGN

quote:

Since its launch last week on September 6, a large number of players have begun reporting major technical issues with the annual basketball game, NBA 2K20. The general furor has risen to the point that social media has become flooded with the #Fix2K20 hashtag demanding immediate action from 2K.


Oh, and the completely reasonable complaint that seems to come about every game nowadays:

quote:

The other major factor that has gamers calling foul is the persistent issue of aggressive microtransactions, which have been the cause of controversy in annualized sports games for years. This year’s IGN review criticized NBA 2K20 repeatedly for inserting them into “nearly every corner” and calling them “casino-like,” and said that the goal of the MyTeam mode “is to extract as much money as I am willing to give up.”


These companies must still be making money hand over fist, because they constantly ignore us consumers when well tell them we hate micro-transactions.


DownSouthCrawfish
Drake Fan
Prime, Marley's, F&$^ City Bar
Member since Oct 2011
17735 posts

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
Take Two/2k is a monster and won't change anytime soon.


JetsetNuggs
Chicago Cubs Fan
New Orleans
Member since Jun 2014
6134 posts
 Online 

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
Those douches will probably just fix the bugs and say "look, we did it!" and nothing else about minimizing the amount of times they try to stick their hands in your wallet.

The problem is that they have no competition, so they prey on the fact that we want our basketball fix when the new season starts.
This post was edited on 9/11 at 4:13 pm


DownSouthCrawfish
Drake Fan
Prime, Marley's, F&$^ City Bar
Member since Oct 2011
17735 posts

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
That's the thing. They don't care about the micro transactions as long as the YouTube whales and the unknown person that doesn't care about splurging $50 every time they want to max a build out or buy a bundle pack from MYteam exist.

I'm convinced that its a vocal minority that complains about microtransactions (I'm in this group) while the silent majority bends over and gives them all the money they want.


quote:

The problem is that they have no competition
Yep.
This post was edited on 9/11 at 4:16 pm


JetsetNuggs
Chicago Cubs Fan
New Orleans
Member since Jun 2014
6134 posts
 Online 

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
I'll admit I'm guilty of throwing a few bucks here and there, but I don't mind doing it if the game is complete and rock solid.

But with Fallout 76 for example, the game is constantly bugged yet the damn atomic shop works perfectly.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
willymeaux
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Mar 2012
4038 posts

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
This wouldn’t fly if they were still under Sega Sports!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
hg
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2009
108245 posts
 Online 

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
I’ve bought the past probably 5 2Ks and grinded to a 96 in 2K19 with my myplayer.

I have yet to buy 20 nor do I want to after the reviews



They don’t even try to hide it anymore
This post was edited on 9/11 at 5:03 pm


Scruffy
USA Fan
Member since Jul 2011
58292 posts

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
All of those people will bitch and moan about this game and the microtransactions...and then turn around and buy 2k21.

These companies know that their customers are idiots.

They aren’t going to lose any money because idiots will continue to buy the games.
This post was edited on 9/11 at 5:18 pm


finchmeister08
Florida Fan
Member since Mar 2011
19511 posts

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
I read on Reddit the other day that a guy who bought madden submitted a video clip of how ridiculous the game play was to Sony customer service and was able to get their money back. If enough people did that, storefronts could pull every copy off the shelves sending them back to EA/2K. That would be the wake up call they need.


Scruffy
USA Fan
Member since Jul 2011
58292 posts

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
quote:

I read on Reddit the other day that a guy who bought madden submitted a video clip of how ridiculous the game play was to Sony customer service and was able to get their money back.
The minute that more than a handful of people did that, they would stop returning money.

People need to just not buy the games in the first place.

That is the only way it will change.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
70
TD SponsorTD Fan
USA
Member since 2001
Thank you for supporting our sponsors
Advertisement
Freauxzen
USA Fan
Utah
Member since Feb 2006
33317 posts

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
quote:

ignore us consumers when well tell them we hate micro-transactions.


Because, like gambling, there are a small percentage that make it all worth it. They spend WAY more than the average person, and it's worth all of the bad press.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
theducks
Detroit Mercy Fan
Where The Blazers Play
Member since Aug 2013
9618 posts
 Online 

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
They make so much off micro transactions that it doesn’t really matter if small but vocal minority returns/doesn’t buy their games.

I mentioned it in the Madden thread, consumers are conditioned to believe that they pay $60 for access to the game and that they need to pay more $$$ to skip the grind. Somebody in that same thread countered that they’d have “nothing to grind for then”


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
JetsetNuggs
Chicago Cubs Fan
New Orleans
Member since Jun 2014
6134 posts
 Online 

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
quote:

I read on Reddit the other day that a guy who bought madden submitted a video clip of how ridiculous the game play was to Sony customer service and was able to get their money back.


I wish I had the effort to put into doing this.

If I would've known they'd ruin MyGM, I wouldnt have bought the game. I dont care at all about myplayer or any of the online stuff.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Smoke7024
USA Fan
Member since Jun 2010
16011 posts

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
Thank God I only play modes that require no extra money. The game is perfectly fine to me, then again, I only play myGM mode and quick play games.

ETA: I haven't started a myGM yet, but just read the changes. It looks like they killed that off. I really have no reason to buy it without that, so this may be the last one I buy.
This post was edited on 9/12 at 8:20 am


Ancient Astronaut
Ole Miss Fan
Louisiana
Member since May 2015
15725 posts

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
2k used to be so good. Smh


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
JetsetNuggs
Chicago Cubs Fan
New Orleans
Member since Jun 2014
6134 posts
 Online 

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
quote:

I haven't started a myGM yet, but just read the changes. It looks like they killed that off. I really have no reason to buy it without that, so this may be the last one I buy


They did some cool things with it like having to really build up your organization with sponsors and stuff, but I just can't get over not being able to change any of the gameplay settings.

You basically have to choose which player you want to have a good game, because you don't have enough time to score with more than 1 or 2 guys.


Smoke7024
USA Fan
Member since Jun 2010
16011 posts

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
I also saw that fatigue was automatically turned off and no imported draft classes or even the ability to customize the generated one. Losing all game customization for the sake of a leaderboard that no one will pay any attention to.
This post was edited on 9/12 at 10:55 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
SCgamecock2988
South Carolina Fan
Cayce, SC
Member since Oct 2015
1818 posts

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
They couldn't even take the time to update the Steam icon for NBA 2K20 - multiple Steam reviews say it still shows 2K19. I'm not sure if that means the icon you see in your steam library next to the installed game or at the bottom in your taskbar while you're playing it.

But that right there tells you all you need to know.

Apparently it is currently the 2nd worst rated game ever on Steam. And there is A LOT of garbage on Steam for those that don't know. There are virtually zero quality control standards.
This post was edited on 9/12 at 11:19 am


Lazy But Talented
New Orleans Saints Fan
Dallas
Member since Aug 2011
11963 posts

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
This and madden are the only games I play on xbox. I gameshare so I only buy one of the games. Then I end up dumping a couple hundred dollars into VC over the year to make new players or whatever.

I complain about the game a lot (to my friends), but yeah I fall into that category of I'm going to buy it again next year because it's the only game I can play with my friends and that I'm good at.

They have the same exact badge glitch as last year that they haven't patched yet
This post was edited on 9/12 at 2:42 pm


SnowAubie
Auburn Fan
Member since Dec 2016
226 posts

re: NBA 2K20 Players Flood Social Media With Angry #Fix2K20 Complaints
Looks like they just patched the badge glitch within the past hour. I was only able to get two games of badge points to stack where this morning I did it about 20 times in a row. People on reddit seem to confirm its patched as well.

If you find a new glitch for VC/Badges/mypoints please post it here and I’ll do the same


first pageprev pagePage 1 of 2next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram