- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message

on side kick ruling from 2009
Posted on 9/5/10 at 10:58 pm
Posted on 9/5/10 at 10:58 pm
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:04 pm to Raparooot
It basically says this which was discussed earlier tonight here:
quote:
Touching and Recovery of a Free Kick ARTICLE 3. a. No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player (Exception: Rules 6-1-4 and 6-5-1-b);
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line (Exception: Rule 6-4-1) (A.R. 2-11-5-I); or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s restraining line.
Thereafter, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or catch the kick.
So, the ball has to go 10 yards before any of that "hitting the ground" stuff comes into play.
Also:
quote:
No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball [S19].
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:06 pm to medtiger
Pretty sure whoever that was that fumbled that onside kick for us stepped up inside the 40 yard line by about half a yard
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:07 pm to bmy
quote:
So it was a missed call?
I believe so. It was a relief to see Les light into the refs after that. Reminded me of 2006 Tennessee when he about pistol-whipped the ref after that missed muff punt.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:08 pm to km
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:09 pm to josh336
quote:
Pretty sure whoever that was that fumbled that onside kick for us stepped up inside the 40 yard line by about half a yard
Alfred Blue was that guy, and he did; but that's not the issue. The UNC player hit Blue before he was eligible to do so because the ball hadn't gone 10 yards, and Blue hadn't touched the ball at that point. The refs missed this call.
Blue touched the ball first, then UNC recovered. When it was being reviewed, this is all the replay official is allowed to review because you can't overturn an uncalled penalty. So, even though it was clearly not UNC's ball, the replay ref couldn't give LSU the ball because the penalty wasn't called on the field. Pretty fricked up situation.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:11 pm to medtiger
quote:
Team A executes an on-side kick at its 30-yard line. At Team A’s 36-yard line A65 blocks B23 in the front at the waist, and then A25 touches the ball at the A-38.
(a) The ball rolls to the A-42 where it is recovered by A88.
(b) B42 recovers the ball while grounded at the 50-yard line.
RULING: Illegal touching by A25 and a foul by A65 for blocking before being eligible to touch the ball. (a) Team A is in legal possession of the ball at the A-42, so Team B has two options: they may take the ball at the spot of the illegal touching (the A-38), or they may have Team A re-kick at the A-25 following the five-yard penalty for the illegal block by A65. (b) Team B has three options: take the ball at the spot of the illegal touching (the A-38); have Team A re-kick at the A-25 following the five-yard penalty for the illegal block by A65; or have the five-yard penalty enforced at the dead-ball spot, the 50-yard line (they will not choose this last option). NOTE: The illegal-touching spot is not an enforcement spot since the illegal-touching privilege is canceled if the penalty is accepted. (6-1-2-g, 6-1-3, 6-1-8).
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:12 pm to josh336
He did step inside the 40, and I was also under the impression it meant the penalty couldn't be called. But the example in the link mentioned the kicking team player making contact with the receiving team player at the 36.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:12 pm to medtiger
watching the play on ESPN U i recorded it, and the announcers seem to think that becuase the LSU player stepped inside the 40 yard line he is able to block him.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:14 pm to catholictigerfan
quote:
the announcers seem to think that becuase the LSU player stepped inside the 40 yard line he is able to block him.
quote:
No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball
They're wrong.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:16 pm to Raparooot
8. Team A executes an on-side kick at its 30-yard line. At Team A’s 36-yard line A65 blocks B23 in the front at the waist, and then A25 touches the ball at the A-38.
(a) The ball rolls to the A-42 where it is recovered by A88.
(b) B42 recovers the ball while grounded at the 50-yard line.
RULING: Illegal touching by A25 and a foul by A65 for blocking before being eligible to touch the ball. (a) Team A is in legal possession of the ball at the A-42, so Team B has two options: they may take the ball at the spot of the illegal touching (the A-38), or they may have Team A re-kick at the A-25 following the five-yard penalty for the illegal block by A65. (b) Team B has three options: take the ball at the spot of the illegal touching (the A-38); have Team A re-kick at the A-25 following the five-yard penalty for the illegal block by A65; or have the five-yard penalty enforced at the dead-ball spot, the 50-yard line (they will not choose this last option). NOTE: The illegal-touching spot is not an enforcement spot since the illegal-touching privilege is canceled if the penalty is accepted. (6-1-2-g, 6-1-3, 6-1-8).
Were we supposed to cover the "grounded" ball, as B42 did???
(a) The ball rolls to the A-42 where it is recovered by A88.
(b) B42 recovers the ball while grounded at the 50-yard line.
RULING: Illegal touching by A25 and a foul by A65 for blocking before being eligible to touch the ball. (a) Team A is in legal possession of the ball at the A-42, so Team B has two options: they may take the ball at the spot of the illegal touching (the A-38), or they may have Team A re-kick at the A-25 following the five-yard penalty for the illegal block by A65. (b) Team B has three options: take the ball at the spot of the illegal touching (the A-38); have Team A re-kick at the A-25 following the five-yard penalty for the illegal block by A65; or have the five-yard penalty enforced at the dead-ball spot, the 50-yard line (they will not choose this last option). NOTE: The illegal-touching spot is not an enforcement spot since the illegal-touching privilege is canceled if the penalty is accepted. (6-1-2-g, 6-1-3, 6-1-8).
Were we supposed to cover the "grounded" ball, as B42 did???
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:18 pm to medtiger
quote:
No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball
They're wrong.
Exactly.
Team A is not eligible to touch the ball until it has gone 10 yards. Therefore, if the ball has not traveled 10 yards, UNC is not allowed to touch anyone.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:20 pm to SG_Geaux
Didn't this happen in the Tenn vs Bama game last year when Tenn recovered the onside kick then? It went uncalled then too if I recall.
I think Arrakis confirmed it as a missed call too.
the refs hate LSU

I think Arrakis confirmed it as a missed call too.
the refs hate LSU
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:21 pm to medtiger
What pisses me off is not the refs missing the call. It's the fact they are paying someone to review the play, which it was, and they still got it wrong.
This post was edited on 9/5/10 at 11:25 pm
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:22 pm to Kim
If it had gne ten yards yes. But once it hits the ground, if kicking team touches before ten yards, it's called first touching. Receiving team gets the ball at that spot. In my opinion, blue was blocked (legally) into the ball and by rule, that negates te receiving team touching it. That is revihewable by the way. Not the blocking penalty, but the fact that he was blocked into the ball. But it was his fault for going to get the ball before it went ten yards. That's fundamentals.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:24 pm to MOT
The review didn't piss me off so much because there was nothing they could do about that. You can't call a penalty off of a review.
What pissed me off was the official standing at the 40 yard line who they kept showing in the instant replays who had a clear vantage of where the 40 was and where the ball was and didn't throw the fricking flag.
What pissed me off was the official standing at the 40 yard line who they kept showing in the instant replays who had a clear vantage of where the 40 was and where the ball was and didn't throw the fricking flag.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 11:27 pm to chilge1
I don't know all the review rules. But I also thought they couldn't review the first fumble.
Popular
Back to top

3






