Page 1
Page 1
Started By
Message
locked post

The Brees Reach on 4th Downs

Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:26 pm
Posted by Putty
Member since Oct 2003
25890 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:26 pm
I understand this play works in goal line situations as the play is dead when the ball crosses the plane. However, when Drew just reaches over the LOS with the ball and just pulls it back without being down, why do we essentially get a forward progress type spot? Forward progress doesn't count if you voluntarily give ground.

I like the result obviously. Is there some rule I'm missing or are we just the beneficiaries of dumb refs? Would hate to find out its the latter in a critical spot.

Disclaimer: I was at the game and did not see whether he had the first down even after pulling the ball back but it didn't look like it. In any event, I've seen Brees use the same play in other games.
Posted by ForeverLSU02
Albany
Member since Jun 2007
52497 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:27 pm to
quote:

I understand this play works in goal line situations as the play is dead when the ball crosses the plane. However, when Drew just reaches over the LOS with the ball and just pulls it back without being down, why do we essentially get a forward progress type spot? Forward progress doesn't count if you voluntarily give ground.
I was wondering the same thing
Posted by Sid in Lakeshore
Member since Oct 2008
41956 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:28 pm to
There is a game on........the Falcons are losing.
Posted by Burkett
B.R
Member since Jun 2009
439 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:30 pm to
God forbid Lions fans get a peek at this thread

FWIW I don't have the answer
Posted by jaf 65
Houma, La
Member since Jan 2007
1870 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:30 pm to
Yea this was talked about earlier and yes you are correct. When he "pulled" the ball back that should have been loss of a yard.
Have to say SOME of the calls last night were head Scratchers.....even though a few went our way.
Posted by jaf 65
Houma, La
Member since Jan 2007
1870 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:32 pm to
quote:

FWIW I don't have the answer


It's sort of like when a recever catches the ball and reverses his field, he "lost" the gained yards he had.
Posted by Mahootney
Lovin' My German Footprint
Member since Sep 2008
12122 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:32 pm to
Unless he was considered "pushed back", he shouldn"t have gotten the maximum forward progress.
Posted by Burkett
B.R
Member since Jun 2009
439 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:34 pm to
But then again a player can extend the ball beyond the first down marker and then retract it before running out of bounds with no contact. And it's still a first down
Posted by ctalati32
Member since Sep 2007
4068 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:34 pm to
Personally I think we were beneficiaries on that call. The refs last night blew a few calls, but some went our way, some went theirs so it doesn't bother me that much.
Posted by Putty
Member since Oct 2003
25890 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:36 pm to
quote:


But then again a player can extend the ball beyond the first down marker and then retract it before running out of bounds with no contact. And it's still a first down



Not according to the rules. The rule is the ball is spotted where it was when the player went out of bounds.
Posted by jaf 65
Houma, La
Member since Jan 2007
1870 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:36 pm to
quote:

Unless he was considered "pushed back"


They could have seen it that way.
Posted by jaf 65
Houma, La
Member since Jan 2007
1870 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:37 pm to
quote:

Personally I think we were beneficiaries on that call. The refs last night blew a few calls, but some went our way, some went theirs so it doesn't bother me that much


I agree.
Posted by Pendulum
Member since Jan 2009
7901 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:37 pm to
quote:

a player can extend the ball beyond the first down marker and then retract it before running out of bounds with no contact. And it's still a first down

Exactly, perhaps it has something to do with him advancing the ball as far as he can while still not losing any ground.

Had he retracted and stepped back, it'd be a different story.

disclaimer: Homer shaded sunglasses are on
This post was edited on 1/8/12 at 2:38 pm
Posted by The Les Miles Bowl
West Monroe
Member since Dec 2010
247 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:38 pm to
cough lol who is league MVP? thanks
Posted by Burkett
B.R
Member since Jun 2009
439 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 2:43 pm to
quote:

Not according to the rules. The rule is the ball is spotted where it was when the player went out of bounds.


Definitely the way the rules are written. Just depends on the one enforcing the rules. For example, no spot on any down in any game is exact, and some games are decided by inches. That's just a part of fast-paced sports I guess.

I've always thought the majority of people on this board would make horrible analysts/writers but exceptional officials
Posted by 13SaintTiger
Isle of Capri
Member since Sep 2011
18370 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 3:00 pm to
If you watch the replay closely, he got the first down even without the reach. When he retracted his arms, he was rolling over other players in which he crossed the marker.
Posted by lsufan_26
Member since Feb 2004
12559 posts
Posted on 1/8/12 at 3:17 pm to
quote:

If you watch the replay closely, he got the first down even without the reach. When he retracted his arms, he was rolling over other players in which he crossed the marker.


This
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 1Next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram