Posted by
Message
geauxmc
LSU Fan
Castor
Member since Nov 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Does anyone know if there is an official graduation ring design for LSUS? I can't find one anywhere. If there is a ring design, can someone post the picture?

Thanks


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
21
audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
31 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I have zero accounting experience in work or education but Accounting 701 with Li Huang so far has been a breeze. Unlimited attempts to answer the homework, the weekly quiz reuses about 1/4 of those questions, and the lecture slides is the only thing you need to study.
There is a project in this class that I havent looked into yet though.


PurplePower
Member since Aug 2019
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
How are you finding the weekly work load? I have ACCT 701 with Hannah. We have weekly readings and use cases.


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
31 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
extremely light. Ive been putting in about 3.5 hours for each week so far and it could be much less but Im new to accounting and Im over studying a bit because I want to really ace these first tests to build up a grade cushion.


Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
38 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
It’s a shame that, in many classes, the single most important thing for success is drawing the right academic coach.


islandniloc
Member since Jan 2020
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Segwaying off that comment from Quintus - is there a running Excel sheet/Google doc that has a list of each class and the preferred professor?


Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
42 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

is there a running Excel sheet/Google doc that has a list of each class and the preferred professor?


If it exists, I'm not aware of it. Some of the folks that frequented this board years ago (around page 250) started some pretty in-depth threads and reviews that are still relevant. If you use Google to search this forum, you can glean some good information, but the newer professors are not well reviewed here on TD.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
71 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I'm down to start one if people want to contribute.


kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
71 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Here's my humble opinion on the courses I've taken. I feel extremely fortunate to have gotten all the profs I really wanted except for one, which really worked out. I've taken 2 courses at a time, so I'll pair up my reviews with the courses I took concurrently.

The following was accurate as of Summer 2019:
ISDS 705 (CORE COURSE)- MIS, DARBAN
SLIDEDECKS: YES
ZOOM/VIDEOS/INTERACTIVE: NO
REQUIRED DISCUSSION POSTS: YES, weekly + a response to a classmate. Darban will respond to people intermittently as well
QUIZZES/EXAMS: YES, weekly, proctored, closed book
GROUP WORK: YES, weekly w/a group video due at the end of the term (some people really go all out on this. We simply recorded a Zoom session and it was fine)
WRITING: YES, weekly for the group work. A final group paper of 20 pages is also due at the end
"ACADEMIC COACH" GRADERS: YES, but ours was cool
TIME COMMITMENT: 3-8 HR/WEEK (depending on the week)
THOUGHTS: I would recommend Darban. TD consensus seems to be that ISDS 705 is a garbage class that people just take for an easy A with Gibbs or Lin as the easiest professors. With Darban, I actually gained a solid foundation about business principles including competitive advantage, Porter's Five Forces, switching costs, value chain, vertical integration...if you're not following, take this class! IMO, Darban provides a good class that's actually kind of fun if your group doesn't suck (mine was great). If you participate each week, an A would be easily attainable, IMO

MADM 701 (CORE COURSE)- ORGANIZATIONAL BEHAVIOR, KUNGU
SLIDEDECKS: NO
ZOOM/VIDEOS/INTERACTIVE: NO
REQUIRED DISCUSSION POSTS: YES, weekly + a response to a classmate
QUIZZES/EXAMS: YES, weekly w/an emphasis on memorized vocabulary words, not concepts; closed book, proctored
GROUP WORK: NO
WRITING: YES, 500 words every other week that is based on some kind of personality assessment you'll take that week
“ACADEMIC COACH” GRADERS: YES, but mine was very cool and kind of funny in an email exchange I once had with her, making me realize not all ACs are bad
TIME COMMITMENT: 3-6 HR/WEEK
THOUGHTS: Unpopular opinion but I found this class to be very straightforward and light, therefore I would recommend taking it from Kungu (though I agree he doesn’t really add to the program). I got a B by .54% because I completely skipped Module 1 (he didn’t curve for my class)…unfortunately, I didn't take the 7 week structure of this program seriously yet (first term in the program), but easily obtained As in modules 2-7 and you can, too
This post was edited on 1/30 at 6:10 pm


kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
71 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
The following was accurate as of Summer 2019:

MADM 760 (CORE COURSE)- STRATEGY, MEEKS
SLIDEDECKS: YES
ZOOM/VIDEOS/INTERACTIVE: LOL, YES (watch to your heart's content…probably over 100 for the course). Meeks will join your weekly group Zoom sessions, too
REQUIRED DISCUSSION POSTS: NO
QUIZZES/EXAMS: NO
GROUP WORK: YES, but only about a 30 min-1 hour per week commitment. Super minimal and easy (you fill in one slide from a slidedeck template and record a 5 min Zoom session, but you MUST meet together weekly to get the points).
WRITING: LOL, YES. 2,000-4,000 words per week (don't submit fewer than 1,700 words if you want an A. Just don't.)
“ACADEMIC COACH” GRADERS: NO. Meeks grades quickly but with zero feedback (again, grading is heavily reliant on # of words submitted)
TIME COMMITMENT: 5 HR/WEEK (more if you want to really watch the videos and read all the materials or if you don't easily crank out papers)
THOUGHTS: I definitely recommend Meeks. If you're a good writer and hate exams, you'll love this class. Don't let the groupwork scare you away. It's easy and you'll meet some great people. I think this course and Darban’s ISDS 705 are the two best “Intro to MBA Principles” courses in the program

ISDS 715 (ELECTIVE)- PROJECT MANAGEMENT, HENNIGAN
SLIDEDECKS: YES, but poor quality with a million words on each AND very wordy notes underneath the slides that do not adequately prepare you for the exams
ZOOM/VIDEOS/INTERACTIVE: NO, Hennigan is MIA
REQUIRED DISCUSSION POSTS: NO
QUIZZES/EXAMS: YES, weekly with multiple choice and fill in the blank answers; closed book, proctored
GROUP WORK: NO
WRITING: NOT REALLY, there are hw assignments each week, but the writing is very minimal (the assignments consist of mostly math or diagrams and if I recall correctly, you only write when you create a Charter and Project Management Plan)
“ACADEMIC COACH” GRADERS: NO, and Hennigan is a forgiving grader on the hw
TIME COMMITMENT: 3hr/week
THOUGHTS: Pretty poor course that provides the 35 hour education requirement to sit for the PMP but won't actually prepare you to pass the PMP (which I felt like he acknowledged in his email at the end of the term). Though it's not the best course, an A is very doable. Just take the time to really memorize what's in the slides


kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
71 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I'm getting a post quantity and quality check, so I'll just do all of Fall 2019 together. I paired the top two together and then the bottom two together.

ACCT 701 (CORE COURSE)- ACCOUNTING, AMBROSIO
SLIDEDECKS: YES, and they look like there's chocolate sauce running down every single one of them/like they’re from the 90’s ;) but the content is super high quality
ZOOM/VIDEOS/INTERACTIVE: YES, all of the above. The videos are professionally produced. Ambrosio makes a serious effort
REQUIRED DISCUSSION POSTS: NO, but there is an optional, active discussion board where you can ask questions and Ambrosio will answer all of them
QUIZZES/EXAMS: YES, weekly. 12 questions @ 8 pts each= minimal wiggle room for error! Proctored, but they are open book/open everything but the internet
GROUP WORK: NO
WRITING: NO
“ACADEMIC COACH” GRADERS: NO
TIME COMMITMENT: 5 HR/WEEK
THOUGHTS: Ambrosio is a great professor who provides lots of resources and will answer every question you have until you really get it. I cannot endorse this course as an "easy A," but you can get one with enough diligence. Ambrosio is a really awesome professor, IMO, the best in the entire program

FIN 701 (CORE COURSE)- FINANCE, CHOI
SLIDEDECKS: YES, good quality
ZOOM/VIDEOS/INTERACTIVE: NO, but there is an active discussion board where you can ask questions and Choi will respond
REQUIRED DISCUSSION POSTS: YES, weekly + response to classmate
QUIZZES/EXAMS: YES, 3 non-comprehensive. Closed book & proctored, but 1/2 sheet page of handwritten notes allowed
GROUP WORK: NO
WRITING: YES, 500 word case study every other week
“ACADEMIC COACH” GRADERS: YES, but mine was cool
TIME COMMITMENT: 5-10 HR/WEEK
THOUGHTS: I dropped Vines and switched into Choi and I am very happy I did. Choi seems like a nice & engaged guy, though all his communication is written (no videos/Zoom sessions). I liked that there was a writing component in this course to offset any bad exam scores for us math haters :D

ECON 705 (CORE COURSE)- ECONOMICS, SHAUGHNESSY
SLIDEDECKS: YES (took me a while to find them, but they’re there)
ZOOM/VIDEOS/INTERACTIVE: YES to both but I strongly disliked this course’s format. There were two long (>1 hour each) videos you had to watch each week with a video quiz for each, along with many other optional videos. For some reason, I just couldn’t get into the disorganized look and feel of the course materials offered. However- Shaughnessy makes a SERIOUS effort to give lots of course materials if you’re into that
REQUIRED DISCUSSION POSTS: NO, but there are optional ones
QUIZZES/EXAMS: YES, many (IMO). I’ll explain them the best I can. There are 2 video quizzes (unproctored) that go with the 2 videos you have to watch each week. There is also a self assessment (unproctored) each week. You get 2 chances on the video quizzes and the self assessments and he averages the two scores together (so he doesn’t take your highest score, but the average of the two). There is also an end of module assessment each week. Shaughnessy gives you the gist of the questions in advance, you work on them in paragraph form, and then take the assessment (proctored), which has multiple choice questions and you hope that what you put into your own answers match up to one of his multiple choice questions (usually they do- the questions are relatively straightforward). FYI: you can find a lot of previous semesters’ answers on CourseHero or Chegg, BUT I will warn you that a lot of the ones I found on there were NOT correct and Dr. S definitely mixes it up, so don’t trust all of them!! The questions may be the same, but I think Dr. S makes an effort to not make the answers the same
GROUP WORK: NO
WRITING: NO (only what you choose to write in your end of module answer prep)
“ACADEMIC COACH” GRADERS: NO
TIME COMMITMENT: 5-10 hr/week (the videos alone take up 2-3 hours, which I disliked. I very much prefer slide decks and a go-at-your-own-pace style of work more)
THOUGHTS: Hmm. I really liked Shaughnessy’s personality in the videos but I didn’t like the structure of the course. For all the resources he provides (which can be overwhelming at times), I disliked that he didn’t provide slide decks that contained just the critical information. I think if you’re a really eager learner who likes to have nice-to-know on top of need-to-know, you’ll enjoy this course. Shaughnessy really put in an effort to make it great. As for me, I prefer a more straightforward approach (e.g. Ambrosio style) without a whole bunch of optional material added in all over the place. I found myself having FOMO because I couldn’t get to all of the materials and just found it all to be too much. I know a lot of people consider Shaughnessy the “gold standard” in the program and I’m sure he’s an awesome in-person professor. I think this course is best suited for people with a strong interest in Econ with lots of extra time on their hands

ISDS 710 (ELECTIVE)- DATA-DRIVEN DECISION MAKING, M. DARRAT
SLIDEDECKS: NO (weekly assigned reading/articles from HBR, Kellogg, journal articles instead)
ZOOM/VIDEOS/INTERACTIVE: NO
REQUIRED DISCUSSION POSTS: YES, 5 total
QUIZZES/EXAMS: 1 FINAL (proctored, open note, closed internet, worth 25% of grade)
GROUP WORK: NO
WRITING: YES, 4 Case Studies 3-5 pages in length worth 25% of grade; 5 Discussion Posts (250 words) w/reply worth 25% of grade; (there are also 4 Excel-based HW assignments worth 25% of grade- not necessarily writing, but I just thought you should know about them)
“ACADEMIC COACH” GRADERS: YES
TIME COMMITMENT: 5-8 hr/week
THOUGHTS: Great course if you’re interested in marketing and Excel. A decent amount (~1-2 hr/week) of reading and then thought sharing (writing)- more socratic-learning style than teaching to a test. I liked the format of this class and found the readings were interesting. I took this course because I thought it would be a solid intro to R, but he either took that component out or I misunderstood previous course offerings because R is not mentioned anywhere in this course. Darrat is largely absent; if you’re an Ambrosio, Shaughnessy, Meeks-type learner, you may not like this course. If you like straightforward, self-directed learning, and light course materials, you will probably like this course. Overall, I think I have positive feelings about the class and I learned some solid Excel tricks/it was a good Excel refresher course


kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
71 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I am in week 3 of this term, but I’m confident in the below information.

MKT 701 (CORE COURSE)- MARKETING, SI CHEN
SLIDEDECKS: YES, a little bare bones, but they give you everything you need to know
ZOOM/VIDEOS/INTERACTIVE: Video lectures, yes. Zoom, no. She has been very responsive via email
REQUIRED DISCUSSION POSTS: YES, 350 words but you don't have to respond to a classmate
QUIZZES/EXAMS: YES, but only every other week
GROUP WORK: NO
WRITING: YES, 3-5 page case studies but only on the weeks you don't have an exam, so they alternate
“ACADEMIC COACH” GRADERS: YES, but mine has actually been excellent
TIME COMMITMENT: 4-5 hours per week
THOUGHTS: I enthusiastically recommend taking marketing from Si Chen if you can. She's new but I've learned a lot and her videos are succinct/get to the point (kind of like Ambrosio's) and I feel like I'm learning without being overworked. I have read horror stories about other MKT 701 professors but Chen has been a delight (I had an email exchange with her, which she was really professional and kind in). I have also heard great things about M. Darrat, but he didn’t offer the course this term. I’m really glad I got stuck with Chen anyway

ISDS 702 (ELECTIVE)-QUANTITATIVE ANALYSIS FOR MANAGEMENT, KOKSAL
SLIDEDECKS: YES
ZOOM/VIDEOS/INTERACTIVE: YES, both video lectures and Zoom sessions/responsive via email as well
REQUIRED DISCUSSION POSTS: NO, they're optional
QUIZZES/EXAMS: YES, weekly (and IMO, they're pretty difficult. Closed notes, short (so little room for error) and ask VERY specific questions that are easy to get wrong. Of course with the no-return policy, you don't understand what you did wrong
GROUP WORK: NO
WRITING: NO
“ACADEMIC COACH” GRADERS: NO
TIME COMMITMENT: 5 HR/WEEK +++
THOUGHTS: This is not an easy A course, but it is not due to lack of effort on Koksal's part. It's an Excel regression/stats course. The exams require that you not only understand how to run the regression of the week, but also the logic behind it. I'm learning a lot and I like Dr. Koksal a lot, but this is not the easy A it was advertised to be here on TD (at least not for me). I do think these are critical analytical skills that everyone (esp. MBA grads) should know, so definitely take the course if you can

OVERALL THOUGHTS ON THE LSUS MBA PROGRAM:
I would say in general, the quality was just as good as my undergrad which was at a top 75 "very good" U.S. school. Overall, I'm really glad I did it. My local b-school is top 30, but the price tag was more than 5x as much as LSUS and I do believe unless you're going T20, just go where the value is. It's pretty clear (at least to me) that LSUS provides the best value of any AACSB MBA program out there.

Most students I encountered in the program were professionals with great insights to offer. I noticed a lot of engineers and pharmacists in the program; each of my classes had Ivy grads as well. In getting to know my classmates, many had already "made it" but needed MBA credentials to move into C-level positions at their companies, which is what brought them to this program. I was able to get to know some great people in the program (thank you, group work!), many of whom got new jobs and promotions thanks to their LSUS MBA (even while still attending).

ProctorU wasn't too bad. Some kinks to work out there, but I think proctoring does lend to more credibility for the program. The key is not to take the exam RIGHT at the cutoff time (which I made the mistake of doing a time or two ;).

Things I didn't like: the no-return policy was one of the worst things about this program. How can we learn from our mistakes if we don't know what they are? Also, the new-ish policy preventing professors from posting future modules until Mondays. I'd like to know the logic on this one. Granted, most of us are professionals who barely make it week to week, but if you have a big trip coming up, it would be REALLY nice to be able to do next week's work in advance.

Good luck to anyone who chooses to do this program. It's all in all worth it. I work with lots of MBA grads and I found that as I progressed through the program, I was able to keep up with their discussions and really value add more and more at work. I love discussing competitive advantage and value propositions now, which I wasn't confident in before.

IMO the "don't miss" professors are Ambrosio & Meeks. I hate accounting but Ambrosio does a good job making it less bad and he runs the perfect online course. I enjoyed picking Meeks’ brain during our Zoom sessions (he attended all of them).

Registration tip: registration is at “12:00 am,” however, myLSUS goes down each night from 11:30pm-12:30am CST, so don’t have a heart attack when you can’t get in at 12 (like I did my first time, thinking the site went down due to high volume) and go in right at 12:30 to get the classes you need. It also doesn't take daylight savings into account. Just an FYI.

PSA: people of TigerDroppings- please remember this is a public facing forum and what you post on here comes up on people’s Google searches…thanks to all who contributed to making TD a great resource (beyond just coming on here to ask for syllabi…) and good luck to those who go after me.
This post was edited on 1/30 at 6:22 pm


Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
38 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Maybe I am a slow worker, but I am putting in a lot more time than that. However, we had all different professors.

I too am satisfied with the program overall.

Thanks for great post.
Good luck to you.


kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
71 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thanks, Quintus. I have found your contributions valuable in my time here on TD as well. I'm sure you just got the more work/time-intensive profs. I've read about some requiring 15+ hours per week per class.


islandniloc
Member since Jan 2020
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
That would be great. Could post the link here and on the Facebook


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
81 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
KiKi awesome infro. Glad to see people still contributing. This forum has been fantastic. I'm in my last semester and have used this forum religiously. Being a more introverted student, I've used this forum to completely avoid group projects. Seems that fewer people have been on over the past few months. I suppose more people are finding their way over to the FB group, but hopefully these posts continue to be helpful to someone pursing thier MBA.


RSLSUHSC
Member since May 2019
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hey guys and gals. Thanks to all who have taken the time to document all the useful information.

I'm considering pursuing a MBA and hoping to get some input on how course material is presented.

In short I have a two hour daily commute that over the years I've used to study for board exams, complete CMEs, etc. and I'm curious if any of the course material is presented in a way that would allow me to make use of my commute. Audio available for lectures etc.

Thanks in advance


Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
38 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Econ - White. Very good. Weekly hw problems, basic excel project, quiz, and optional Q and A zoom sessions. Most of grade is from quizzes. Only as much math as necessary. Responsive. I recommend.

ISDS-705 Gibbs. Shows you some cool web sites and apps with weekly projects, additionally weekly excel projects are time consuming. Weekly nit picky quizzes on boring worthless textbook readings. Gibbs is responsive. Everything is easy A except quizzes, so you will need to do the readings until your grade cushion is sufficient. Neutral on my recommendation.

FIN 701- Choi. Good class. Short Weekly posts and responses on topics that require minimal internet research. Bi weekly papers. Posts and papers graded very easily representing about half the grade. Tests are moderately difficult but he provides practice questions. (Not cumulative) Some plug and chug math or you can use his step by step instructions for using a financial calculator. Choi is responsive. Class set up so that it is impossible to make a C. If you do well on the tests, you will get A. I recommend.

MADM-760 Heller Lots of reading for weekly quizzes. 1 writing assignment and one post with response a week that are graded easily. Heller tries to act involved by sending motivational articles, and he will respond if you email him, but it really is a class run by mercenaries (academic coaches). I did not care for this class, because I think it is an unsubstantiated pseudoscience. Heller is OK.

Acct 701 Huang. Good class. Not too hard even without background. Study slides with examples. Project not bad. Lots of easy points, but I learned about as much as I wanted to about accounting. I recommend.

Fin 730 Choi. Same setup as 701. Material is more about financial law/history and the different instruments. I recommend. I found it a bit harder than 701.

MADM 701- Heller. Same set up as 760. I took this class with Heller because I thought I had figured out what he was looking for in 760, but I was wrong. Lots of boring reading. This course needs lectures to simplify and abridge the material. TED talks are interesting. I would take someone else, if I had it to do over again, but it’s not terrible. I wouldn’t double this one.
This post was edited on 2/4 at 7:42 pm


kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
71 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@RSLSUHSC Yes, if you're riding a train or bus and not driving. There are slidedecks or reading materials you could review on your commute. In terms of audio, you'd have to enable the Siri speak screen feature and have that read your materials to you. Otherwise, you have to be logged into Moodle for the video lectures because the school uses Kaltura, which disables downloading the lectures for offline viewing (or I just don't know how to...). I guess it depends on how you like to study and what your commute method is. I would think a train/bus would enable you to crank out papers as well, which is a plus.


LSUSmn2018
Member since Jul 2018
11 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
This week, for the first time, I'm running into issues trying to initiate my test because ProctorU is identifying a remote desktop even though I'm not connected to or through one.

Has anyone run into this and/or know how to address it? Any thoughts are appreciated, thank you in advance!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Jump to page
Page First 435 436 437 438
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 437 of 438next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram