Posted by
Message
PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
81 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Quintus, May I ask who your teaching assistant was with Heller MADM 701? Anyone have Dr. Gates? I’m getting so frustrated with his/her grading. They refuse to give a perfect score. Every week, the feedback for all assignments go “you met all the criteria and provided great insight into [insert subject]”... followed by 62/70 or 40/50 or something similar. It’s insane. I get feedback about how great i did then receive a low A or high B.


kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
71 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@quintus, great post. I found the overviews (e.g. Baroqen's) super helpful so I'm sure others will as well. And thank you, @PresJohnTyler.

@rybo44, can you please email me at kikicub7@gmail.com- I want to run some PMP application things by you if you don't mind?

I will start the Google Sheet this weekend. I think maybe we should do a Google Form so it can be anonymous like: LINK
This post was edited on 2/7 at 1:09 pm


islandniloc
Member since Jan 2020
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I just signed up for my first two classes after getting accepted last Thursday into the MBA in Finance.

There was bare bones available and I believe I made the best of it with MADM 760 McLaughlin and MKT 701 Chen. I'm on the waiting list for ISDS Gibbs.

I have a question I'm having trouble finding on my portal. Is there a list of dates the each of the terms open? I want to stay up until midnight on those days to ensure I get some good choices, but I can't seem to find which dates those are.

Anyone have a list?

Thanks!
This post was edited on 2/9 at 10:30 am


PurplePower
Member since Aug 2019
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Good luck islandniloc, I am in MKT 701 now with Khan and it has been a pretty steady workload. Every other week there is a paper due 4-7 pages and quiz every week which seems to be tied to class performance (lots of A's and B's more complex questions on next quiz). A couple of chapters of reading every week. 2 lectures and Power Point slides.I have combined this with ACCT 701 and I will say each one individually would be steady work during the week if you have a full time job, but combined, I spend every night reading, watching lectures, researching for the paper, writing papers and Sundays I study and take the quizes. I have heard that MADM 760 has a heavy work load.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
71 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@islandniloc, I am in Chen right now- it's a great choice course for a first session. idk why they make finding the registration dates so difficult, but you'll be able to register for summer and fall April 13 at 12:30 CST.


PurplePower
Member since Aug 2019
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
How do you get on the wait list for a course? I would like to take econ 705 in March, but I don't see where it is offered.


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
31 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
yes Gibbs has a few highly specific questions on the proctored quizzes but I found simply studying the reading assignment questions, chapter summary, and chapter index terms covered enough ground to not have to go about reading/studying the entire chapter.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
islandniloc
Member since Jan 2020
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@PurplePower

Getting on the wait list is a ridiculous process according to my advisor, here's the steps she email me:


How to step an email notification for classes in myLSUS:



Please navigate to the myLSUS website - Do Not Log In
Select Course Schedules to the left of the login area
Make sure that the appropriate term is selected and select either the AP1 or AP2 session
In the Course ID section, please type in the course that you would like to register for (ex: MADM 701)
Select Search Now and the available options will appear
Once you find the correct class, select Add to Cart, and then Proceed to Checkout on the Subsequent page
You will then be prompted to sign in using your Student ID number and PIN
Select Register and then you will receive the option to be notified once the course has a seat available
Repeat the above directions for any other classes that you would like to waitlist for the session


harharharris
Member since Feb 2020
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
This thread is very helpful. Does anyone know if a thread exist like this for the LSU Flores MBA program online?


RSLSUHSC
Member since May 2019
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thanks for the info and thoughts. It's greatly appreciated.


classicgold
LSU Fan
bfe
Member since Feb 2017
1718 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Looking for a little advice on this program. I'm about 90% sure I'm about to go ahead and apply for it. The cost is just too hard to pass up for an accredited online program while working full time.

I currently work in sales for a small business in marine transportation/Commercial fishing/industrial/O&G fields. I plan on being with them for a very long time, so I'm looking to further my education in order to help accelerate my growth within the company. I'm trying to decide between the Project Management Concentration and the Entrepreneurship & Family Enterprise Concentration. Either way I go, I'll most likely choose the elective for the other concentration.

Projects we manage are usually working in coordination with Engine Companies and O & G companies to supply our products for a fleet of boats or onshore drilling rigs. I feel like project management would help in this area, but the other concentration would help with learning how to run a business.

Any suggestions on how to decide between the 2 or which one I would get the best ROI? I appreciate any advice.


Jeaux Cool
LSU Fan
Frisco via Mecca
Member since Sep 2015
1298 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Does anyone know if a thread exist like this for the LSU Flores MBA program online?
It does not, not to this extent.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Mohawk MBA
LSU Fan
Tri-States
Member since Apr 2019
16 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Kiki, great post on the class details. Thank you for being a great contributor on this forum.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
GoldenSombrero
Arkansas Fan
Member since Sep 2010
2318 posts
 Online 

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

uintus, May I ask who your teaching assistant was with Heller MADM 701? Anyone have Dr. Gates? I’m getting so frustrated with his/her grading. They refuse to give a perfect score. Every week, the feedback for all assignments go “you met all the criteria and provided great insight into [insert subject]”... followed by 62/70 or 40/50 or something similar. It’s insane. I get feedback about how great i did then receive a low A or high B.


I have Heller from MADM 760 but have the same thing. My TA isn't Gates but my writing assignments have been much more critially reviewed than any of my other courses.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
71 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Classicgold, IMO you could get PMP cert to cover your project management side and then do the entrepreneurship concentration if it's what you're more interested in. I've never actually seen a job listing ask for a specific MBA concentration, so I think either way would be fine. In terms of ROI, a quick google search shows the average PMP makes $110k/yr. depending on how much you're already making or what you want to make, you can decide if getting the PMP/pursuing project management is worth your energy. ISDS 715 fulfills the 35 hr education requirement to sit for the PMP. There are also classes on Udemy that fulfill the requirement, are actually really good, and are only $13 if you don't want to take ISDS 715. Dr. Michael Meeks is a really good prof and teaches entrepreneurship- you would prob get a lot out of that course. I don't actually know anyone who's done the entrepreneurship concentration so I'm little help there.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Jump to page
Page First 436 437 438
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 438 of 438next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram