Posted by
Message
Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
42 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Dr. Mary Lind is the professor with the 25-page paper and group presentation


Also ISDS 705 Darban has this insane deliverable. I dropped that class and grabbed Spring AP1 Gehrfal -- There are weekly writing assignments, but no group assignment/presentations. The Darban project certainly looks educational, but the requirements to interview a company *in person* + 3 followups is a complete non-starter. While some people might not mind the group work/paper + online presentation, for me this is an accelerated course, I work fulltime, travel often and would have a real hard time making this work.


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
31 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
ISDS 705 with Gibbs seems like much less effort. Some useless busy work (excel tutorials, answer chapter questions etc) but its very easy to complete and you would have to go out your way to not get 100% on them. The weekly chapter quizzes may have 1 or 2 highly specific questions but the other assignments give more than enough cushion to get away with just skimming through the chapters.
I got a easy A from just reviewing the completed chapter question assignment and chapter summary for most quizzes.
This post was edited on 1/9 at 5:22 pm


Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
42 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

ISDS 705 with Gibbs seems much less effort


Cripes -- So Gibbs is only offered in AP2 this semester, I need 3 classes to graduate, so def want to double up ISDS705 against either MADM760 or MKT701. Of course Gibbs is full, so i added myself to the wait list and hopefully someone drops before Monday!

Thanks for the advice AA1!


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
31 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
who did you take for those isds 715-730 courses?


Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
42 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

who did you take for those isds 715-730 courses?


715: Hennigan
720 & 730: Loughrin

I already hold a PMP cert, so the intro to PM (715) course was review and really...really easy for me. The level of effort for someone without a business or PM background could be a challenge but any Business undergrads will breeze thru. 720 has a group project which is a (actually really fun...) project simulation. I had a really good team, but our results stunk, i think we finished in the bottom 1/4 of the class, but I still earned a 97%+, the instructor is great and lets you learn from mistake without penalty. 730 also has group work, but 15-30 minutes a week, tops and the work submitted weekly is less than one - pages between four people. Easy.Both 720 & 730 offer a certification (six sigma green belt & lean management) which is nearly identical to the class final for $75.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
PurplePower
Member since Aug 2019
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I requested to join the group a couple of days ago. I haven't heard anything back yet. Any tips to get a response?


PurplePower
Member since Aug 2019
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Does anyone have the syllabus and book for ACCT701 Hannah and MKT701 Khan?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
crash_course
Member since Jan 2020
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
First and foremost, I appreciate the input from everyone with regard to the Online MBA Program. As a non-business major and being out of school for ten years, the information in this forum has been invaluable.

I will be starting the program during the Spring AP2 session and I'm currently registered for these two classes:
FIN 701 - Kendall, Lynn
MKT 701 - Kim, Minseong

There doesn't seem to be too much information out there on MKT with Kim. Everything seems to be pretty positive on FIN with Kendall. However, one poster did recommend taking ISDS 702 before taking FIN. For a first-class, which one of the two would be recommended? Thanks in advance.


Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
42 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hey Crash!

I tool FIN701 with Kendall last semester AP1 -- This was not an easy class and I do have a business undergrad degree. The benefit to Kendall is that she lets you use a index card with hand-written notes and a financial calculator. The downside is that tests 1-5 are very difficult and require a lot of practice even with the tools she lets you use. I would advise against this pairing because MKT701 is not that tough, it is a writing intensive class with group work. My advice would be to break up this pair of courses.


groovy
Member since Dec 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I realize its way past time for you guys but wanted to comment on Choi. I would highly recommend take Choi for FIN 701 and 730. I withdrew from FIN 701 Vines because of personal reasons, things going on. Vines is nice but Choi is much better organized, presents his material well and his case studies are valuable lessons. I feel like people are getting cheated taking it from Vines.
Choi's FIN 730 is a valuable class. I think anyone in the MBA program should take FIN 730 from Choi.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
crash_course
Member since Jan 2020
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thank you!


PurplePower
Member since Aug 2019
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Does anyone know what the process is for getting access to the Facebook group? I have been waiting for a response for almost a week.


MartaS
LSU Fan
Arlington VA
Member since Dec 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I wrote to the admin of the group and she added me in an hour


venubandi
Member since Nov 2019
6 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hello, does the Choi FIN 701 exam only have multiple choice questions or is there any short answer/lengthy answer questions?
Thanks - Venu


WylieTiger
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2006
8782 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Proctor U is being a turd right now. I have been waiting over 30 minutes for a technician to start my exam.


kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
71 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I can't remember but I think just multiple choice. In any event, it was not difficult if you prepared with the materials given. He totally sets you up for success.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
81 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Proctor U is being a turd right now. I have been waiting over 30 minutes for a technician to start my exam.


Same. I know Sunday's are bad but it was 11:00 AM. They can't say "well you shouldn't wait until Sunday to take your exam." Some people have full time jobs and get the bulk of their work done on saturday's. I only have 2 semesters's left but for future students' sake, i hope they drop ProcturU


WylieTiger
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2006
8782 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I'm fine with the setup. However my time is limited with work and family and I only have so many windows to take tests. The 30 minute delay sucked. I usually do one on Saturday and one on Sunday when it is a two test week.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
31
mattnollmusic
Member since Jan 2020
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
What are the easiest electives for the Online MBA? Specialization/Concentration doesn't matter.

I have completed all 9 Core classes and only have my electives to take. At this point, I just want to be done.


PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
81 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
FIN 730 wasn't bad. I've heard the same for Fin 740 but i think it's full until summer.


first pageprev pagePage 436 of 438next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram