- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Score Board
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- SEC Score Board
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:53 pm to SlowFlowPro
Again, thanks SlowFroProw. I think from experience that T.H. was signalling to his teammates to get away from the ball... but I see the point in light of the rule. Just never seen that one before.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:55 pm to Hideo Nomo
quote:.
Invalid Signals
ARTICLE 3. a. During a down in which a kick is made, no player of Team B shall
make any invalid fair catch signal during a free kick or beyond the neutral zone
during a scrimmage kick. Any signal is invalid after a scrimmage kick is caught
beyond the neutral zone, strikes the ground or touches another player beyond the
neutral zone. A signal is invalid after a free kick is caught, strikes the ground or
touches another player (A.R. 6-5-3-IV-VI).
b. A catch after an invalid signal is not a fair catch, and the ball is dead where
caught. If the signal follows a catch, the ball is dead when the signal is first
given (A.R. 6-5-1-II).
c. Invalid signals beyond the neutral zone apply only to Team B (A.R. 6-5-3-II).
d. An invalid signal beyond the neutral zone is possible only when the ball has
crossed the neutral zone (Rule 2-15-7) (A.R6-5-3-I).
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:57 pm to Volvagia
...and? Is that in response to my latest post? Returns have been waving off their coverage teams for as long as I can remember.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 6:59 pm to Hideo Nomo
1) That really isn't a counter arugment. If a cop lets you go with a warning for speeding, do you bring it up when another wants to give you a ticket later?
2) It is a new rule I think.
2) It is a new rule I think.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 7:03 pm to Hideo Nomo
quote:
You seriously think this is the first year that returners have been waving off their coverage team?
No, I meant I can't remember me, personally, seeing any THIS year where they tried to return it after the wave off.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 7:29 pm to Volvagia
anything you do with your hands, other than the proper fair catch signal, is considered an invalid signal, you can then catch the ball to keep it advancing down field but you cannot return it.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 7:31 pm to texastiger38
So you can't signal your teammates without penalty.

Posted on 11/23/08 at 7:33 pm to themunch
no you can, but you cannot return it, that is when the penalty comes into it.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 7:34 pm to Volvagia
The play on the extra point that was called was a new rule too. That was against Auburn I think.
We get em all.

We get em all.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 7:34 pm to Volvagia
quote:
No, I meant I can't remember me, personally, seeing any THIS year where they tried to return it after the wave off.
Oh, that's cool, I thought you meant that you'd never seen anyone wave off their coverage team before.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 7:37 pm to texastiger38
I have never seen a kick where the returner gives a fair catch signal when the ball bounces.
I have not seen every game so it is possible. Not probable though.

I have not seen every game so it is possible. Not probable though.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 7:39 pm to STEVED00
quote:To prevent the receiving team from confusing the kickoff coverage. Removes ANY doubt...if you wave your arms, it's done.
I'm still not sure what the reasoning for the rule is though.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 7:44 pm to Geauxtiga
In case the coverage team is confused by a fair catch signal, that was not one of them. Cannot get it back anyways. It is a done deal.
I thought the rule also would state what a fair catch signal would look like in order to be proper. If that is left out and left to discretion, it is not a proper rule. jmo

I thought the rule also would state what a fair catch signal would look like in order to be proper. If that is left out and left to discretion, it is not a proper rule. jmo
Posted on 11/23/08 at 9:41 pm to Volvagia
Today -- NY Giants returner gave the exact same signal and then grabbed the punted ball on two hops and ran it for 10 yards -- no penalty (unless NFL rules differ, this should not have been whistled down nor flaaaged.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 10:14 pm to Mrs. Amaro
quote:
Today -- NY Giants returner gave the exact same signal and then grabbed the punted ball on two hops and ran it for 10 yards -- no penalty (unless NFL rules differ, this should not have been whistled down nor flaaaged.
The NFL rule is different. In the NFL, once the ball hits the ground, the returner can advance the ball, even if he called for a fair catch.
In college, even if the ball hits the ground, the returner can not advance the ball. Doing so, results in a delay of game penalty.
LINK
Posted on 11/23/08 at 10:15 pm to legalbengal
Even if you make a fair catch signal, once the ball hits the ground, it's a live ball.
Posted on 11/23/08 at 10:16 pm to moneyg
quote:
The NFL rule is different. In the NFL, once the ball hits the ground, the returner can advance the ball, even if he called for a fair catch.
In college, even if the ball hits the ground, the returner can not advance the ball. Doing so, results in a delay of game penalty.
LINK
when did that rule change?
Posted on 11/23/08 at 10:17 pm to neweuquol
quote:
Even if you make a fair catch signal, once the ball hits the ground, it's a live ball.
any signal after the ball hits the ground makes the ball dead for the receiving team. ANY signal
Popular
Back to top

1







