- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: the onside kick
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:12 pm to Golfer
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:12 pm to Golfer
quote:
quote:
Blocking
ARTICLE 1. a. Blocking is obstructing an opponent by contacting him with
any part of the blocker’s body.
b. Pushing is blocking an opponent with open hands.
From that great rule book you quoted earlier...
So my definition of block was not complete. How does that change anything I said?
-YTC
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:13 pm to DoubleDeuce
quote:
This keeps getting overlooked. You can hit anyone once the ball hits the ground. It has nothing to do with the neutral zone. Basically catch interference is waived if the ball hits the ground first.
No, it isn't being overlooked but that does not apply to this instance.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:14 pm to whiteyc777
quote:
How does that change anything I said?
Its further proving you don't know jack shite for comprehension of a rule.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:16 pm to Golfer
quote:
Its further proving you don't know jack shite for comprehension of a rule.
Who is "jack shite"?
Edit: I realized that this may be the profanity filter kicking in.
-YTC
This post was edited on 9/7/10 at 5:20 pm
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:17 pm to Golfer
quote:
No, it isn't being overlooked but that does not apply to this instance.
How? The ball hit the ground first, correct?
Think about what Blue did. If it would have been illegal for the kicking team to touch him, then everyone would run into the neutral zone on an onside kick and try to recover the kick. The kicking team can't touch him.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:17 pm to DoubleDeuce
quote:
but you may once the ball hits the ground.
Wrong
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:20 pm to DoubleDeuce
quote:
f it would have been illegal for the kicking team to touch him, then everyone would run into the neutral zone on an onside kick and try to recover the kick.
Which is why kickers try to get the second hop right over the guys moving in on the ball.
And you're ignoring the fact that the kicking team CAN hit the receiving team after the ball is touched.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:21 pm to tiger45br
quote:
the onside kick
Whether or not they are attempting to receive the ball, they are still eligible receivers on a kick.
So, I have shown you clear video evidence of receivers being hit within the 10 yard zone. Anything else?
You have not shown any video evidence of what happened during the LSU-UNC game which was the point of discussion. Discussing this any further is pointless since you are not addressing what actually happened- a player in the process of receiving the kick within 10 yds. & being hit prior to touching the ball.
This is why I posted the rules that I found. I am not the best interpreter but it looks to me that once the receiver crosses into the neutral zone(between the 30 and 40 yard line{24 was on the 38 when he got hit}) he is fair game. They have to give him a fair shot if he is not in the neutral zone. However I believe this part is null and void once the ball hits the ground, which it did so anybody can get hit IMO. I could be wrong, but that's what I unfortunately get out of the rules.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:22 pm to DoubleDeuce
a. This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground --- this statement is referring back to the initial described situation where "a player of the receiving team" ... "is beyond the neutral zone"
c. This is the statement that described what actually happened ---- "it is an interference foul if the kicking team contacts the potential receiver before, or simultaneous to, his first touching the ball"
c. This is the statement that described what actually happened ---- "it is an interference foul if the kicking team contacts the potential receiver before, or simultaneous to, his first touching the ball"
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:23 pm to Nick Papa Georgio
quote:
Rule 6, Section 1, Article 2:
g. No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball [S19]
this
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:24 pm to evansky
quote:
Rule 6, Section 1, Article 2:
g. No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball [S19]
Thank you.
And we've already determined blocking as:
quote:
Blocking
ARTICLE 1. a. Blocking is obstructing an opponent by contacting him with
any part of the blocker’s body.
b. Pushing is blocking an opponent with open hands.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:24 pm to Golfer
quote:
And you're ignoring the fact
There's a lot of that going on in this thread
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:25 pm to DoubleDeuce
quote:
This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone (Rule 6-5-1-a) (A.R. 6-4-1-IV).
You're trying to use part of the rule to make your argument. The rule states two instances.
quote:
This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone,
OR
quote:
when any player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone (Rule 6-5-1-a) (A.R. 6-4-1-IV).
The rule is stating the protection terminates for a ball kicked into the ground when the receiving team muffs the kick.
The LSU player didn't muff the kick. He was hit before the ball hit him.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:26 pm to GeauxElliott
Here is the FULL Rule which applies to this situation:
None of those bolded occurred before Blue was hit.
quote:
Touching and Recovery of a Free Kick
ARTICLE 3. a. No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player (Exception: Rules 6-1-4 and 6-5-1-b);
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line
(Exception: Rule 6-4-1) (A.R. 2-11-5-I); or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s
restraining line.
Thereafter, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or catch the
kick.
b. Any other touching by Team A is illegal touching, a violation that, when
the ball becomes dead, gives the receiving team the privilege of taking
the ball at the spot of the violation.
c. If a penalty incurred by either team before the ball becomes dead is
enforced, or if there are offsetting fouls, the illegal touching privilege is
canceled (A.R. 6-1-3-I).
d. Illegal touching in Team A’s end zone is ignored.
None of those bolded occurred before Blue was hit.
This post was edited on 9/7/10 at 5:30 pm
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:27 pm to GeauxElliott
quote:
The LSU player didn't muff the kick. He was hit before the ball hit him.
YTC will not get this.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:31 pm to Golfer
quote:
Rule 6, Section 1, Article 2: g. No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball [S19]
That is waived if the ball touches the ground. It no longer is a "free-kicked" ball. It happens all the time. Players hit each other before the ball is caught on onside kicks all the time!
LINK
Video above
This isn't exactly what happened in the LSU game, but it gives you some perspective of what normally happens. Once the ball hits the ground you can hit anyone regardless of where the ball is or whom is trying to recover it
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:31 pm to DoubleDeuce
quote:
That is waived if the ball touches the ground.
No it is not.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:33 pm to Golfer
quote:
None of those bolded occurred before Blue was hit.
You are trying to mash rules together. Blue being hit has nothing to do with catching a free kick beyond the neutral zone. Blue was hit after the ball hit the ground, which is legal. Blue then touches the ball, allowing the kicking team to recover the ball before it travels 10 yards.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:34 pm to whiteyc777
Last go at this
Rule 6 covers "Kicks".
Rule 6-1-2-g states: No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.
That is pretty clear right.
But if you read further down to Rule 6-1-3, you'll find the following:
No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player;
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line; or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s
restraining line.
Thereafter, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or catch the
kick.
Simply put, they are not eligible to receive the ball unless one of the above occurs. So, they may not block anyone one Team A until one of those things occurs.
Rule 6-4-1 states:
A player of the receiving team within the boundary lines attempting
to catch a kick, and so located that he could have caught a free kick or a scrimmage
kick that is beyond the neutral zone, must be given an unimpeded opportunity to
catch the kick.
The key words here are beyond the neutral zone. That means beyond 10 yards in this case or anywhere beyond the line of scrimmage on a punt. This is covering true receivers of punts and kickoffs.
Then in Rule 6-4-1-a, you read:
This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player
of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any
player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone.
The protection referred to applies to kicks heyond the nuetral zone or kicks that have gone 10 yards. This protection has nothing to do with Rule 6-1-2-g. That is why it is a subsection of rule 6-4-1.
That is as clear as it gets.
Rule 6 covers "Kicks".
Rule 6-1-2-g states: No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.
That is pretty clear right.
But if you read further down to Rule 6-1-3, you'll find the following:
No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player;
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line; or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s
restraining line.
Thereafter, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or catch the
kick.
Simply put, they are not eligible to receive the ball unless one of the above occurs. So, they may not block anyone one Team A until one of those things occurs.
Rule 6-4-1 states:
A player of the receiving team within the boundary lines attempting
to catch a kick, and so located that he could have caught a free kick or a scrimmage
kick that is beyond the neutral zone, must be given an unimpeded opportunity to
catch the kick.
The key words here are beyond the neutral zone. That means beyond 10 yards in this case or anywhere beyond the line of scrimmage on a punt. This is covering true receivers of punts and kickoffs.
Then in Rule 6-4-1-a, you read:
This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player
of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any
player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone.
The protection referred to applies to kicks heyond the nuetral zone or kicks that have gone 10 yards. This protection has nothing to do with Rule 6-1-2-g. That is why it is a subsection of rule 6-4-1.
That is as clear as it gets.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:35 pm to Golfer
quote:
No it is not.
Yes it is. Once the ball hits the ground it basically becomes a free-for-all. The kicking team still cannot touch the ball until a player on the receiving team does or it travels 10 yards.
Popular
Back to top


1



