- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: Tebow stripped by Sheppard or Jones... one of em??
Posted on 10/14/09 at 12:38 pm to lsufball19
Posted on 10/14/09 at 12:38 pm to lsufball19
quote:
Tebow definitely fumbled the ball.
Problem was they blew the whistle before it popped out, even though he was still moving. Wathc the replay, you hear the whistle right before the strip. should have been a fumble but they were protecting Tebow. Nothing could be done to reverse call.
Posted on 10/14/09 at 12:48 pm to BayouBassInAL
There explanation on the field was forward progress stopped, however in the stadium it appeared Tebow was still inching forward and the whistle had Not blown when the ball appeared.
Posted on 10/14/09 at 12:50 pm to RANDY44
quote:
There explanation on the field was forward progress stopped, however in the stadium it appeared Tebow was still inching forward and the whistle had Not blown when the ball appeared.
Without looking at the replay, I have no idea whether or not his forward progress had been stopped, but all the talk about the whistle is kinda silly. If forward progress is stopped, the play is dead. Period. All the whistle does is inform everyone of that fact.
Posted on 10/14/09 at 12:59 pm to msutiger
the SEC can afford better refs..Plain and simple
Posted on 10/14/09 at 1:01 pm to afreis
Florida's center trying to draw us offsides with his quick head turn pissed me off more than anything. I sure noticed he didn't do it again after he finally got hit with the penalty.
Posted on 10/14/09 at 1:03 pm to 62zip
quote:
Without looking at the replay, I have no idea whether or not his forward progress had been stopped, but all the talk about the whistle is kinda silly. If forward progress is stopped, the play is dead. Period. All the whistle does is inform everyone of that fact.
It is true that the rulebook says the cessation of forward progress by the ball carrier is the technical end of the play but must be signaled immediately by the whistle. That's what stirred up folks at the game. The whistle was not heard in the stands until after the ball was out of Tebow's hands.
This post was edited on 10/14/09 at 1:06 pm
Posted on 10/14/09 at 1:18 pm to RANDY44
The problem is that if the ruling on the field is that forward progress has been stopped, the play is not reviewable as to whether the player fumbled or not.
Posted on 10/14/09 at 1:31 pm to OFWHAP
quote:
The problem is that if the ruling on the field is that forward progress has been stopped, the play is not reviewable as to whether the player fumbled or not.
Absolutely correct. The assumption being that if the official has signaled his ruling then players are beginning to stand down.
Posted on 10/14/09 at 1:33 pm to RANDY44
quote:
Absolutely correct. The assumption being that if the official has signaled his ruling then players are beginning to stand down.
I'm not sure that's entirely correct any more. I'm not positive, but I think the NCAA MAY have adopted something similar to the NFL's fumble and then instant recovery deal for plays like that.
I could just be confusing the two, but I'm pretty sure I remembered that change being made.
Posted on 10/14/09 at 1:38 pm to 62zip
quote:
I'm not sure that's entirely correct any more. I'm not positive, but I think the NCAA MAY have adopted something similar to the NFL's fumble and then instant recovery deal for plays like that.
It is correct. Forward progress in non-reviewable. If an official declares that a players forward progress has been stopped, it is a whistle blowing the play dead. Anytime a play has to be whistled dead it is non-reviewable.
The reason being they do not want to have to have audio on the replays. All replays are only visual replays not visual and audio.
The down by contact is reviewable in the NFL because that is a visual replay and the recovering team cannot advance the ball. It's a rule change they made because they could conclusively tell that the knee wasn't down, therefore it was a fumble.
In the case of forward progress, it just cannot be reviewed.
Posted on 10/14/09 at 1:40 pm to TigerMyth36
if it was tebow that would have been a late hit
Posted on 10/14/09 at 1:52 pm to DoubleDeuce
quote:
It is correct. Forward progress in non-reviewable. If an official declares that a players forward progress has been stopped, it is a whistle blowing the play dead. Anytime a play has to be whistled dead it is non-reviewable.
The reason being they do not want to have to have audio on the replays. All replays are only visual replays not visual and audio.
The down by contact is reviewable in the NFL because that is a visual replay and the recovering team cannot advance the ball. It's a rule change they made because they could conclusively tell that the knee wasn't down, therefore it was a fumble.
In the case of forward progress, it just cannot be reviewed.
You sure about that? I just looked this up.
12-3-d
Live ball ruled dead in possession of a ball carrier when the clear recovery of a loose ball occurs in the immediate continuing action after the loose ball.
1. If the ball is ruled dead and the replay official does not have indisputable video evidence as to which team recovers, the dead-ball ruling stands.
2. If the replay official rules that the ball was not dead, it belongs to
the recovering
Posted on 10/14/09 at 2:32 pm to Chicken
quote:
I think Sheppard (No. 11) stripped it, and he stripped it before the whistle blew...it is very clear...
I'm watching the video of the play right now. Tebow's forward progress was stopped LONG before the strip. Easy call...not even close.
The only whistle that kills a play is an inadvertent whistle. Like stated in the thread, the whistle is simply a notification that the ball is dead by rule.
Popular
Back to top


0




