Posted by
Message
Bhs83
Member since Mar 2016
484 posts

Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
With the bracket for softball regionals being released, we now have a pretty good idea of what path LSU will have to take to get to Oklahoma for the WCWS. It's not an easy one, and there is a good chance that ULL or maybe McNeese State could possibly put LSU out. Both are very good teams. Even if we get past the two Louisiana teams for regionals, Florida State awaits us.

So, now, if the goal here is winning and getting to the WCWS in Oklahoma, there are a few things that the coaching staff cannot do. One, and most important, is the staff should not concern itself with the feelings of its players. In other words, put the BEST players in the lineup. Forget about seniority and promises. Florida State is probably one of the top five teams in the country, and I would say they are at least third best. Beating them will take our best nine (or ten).

The second thing they need to avoid is trying to get away with the least quality pitcher they can in a game like with Fordham, or McNeese. Looking back to the SEC tournament, none of the teams pitched their best pitcher against Ole Miss, or at least Florida didn't, Alabama didnt, and neither did LSU.

The lineup becomes the big question and I think all of us are quite impressed with Shemiah Sanchez, and there is no player on this team that I admire more than she, however, I would probably move Doyle to Third, put Springfield at First, and DP Nicky Dawson.

I'd also move the batting order around, and would have either Nicky Dawson or Andrews leading off. Put Griggs 6th.

Andrews
Jaquish
Landry
Doyle
Springfield
Griggs
Quinn
Serret
Dawson




As of late, or it might be more accurate to say most of the season, this team has struggled offensively.

Griggs has bolstered herself by becoming a swing-away/occasional slapper. Her swing is too good to waste, and I believe she will go .350+ next year. The problem is they have her at lead off and I dont think she is best there.

Jaquish, for some reason, now turned loose to swing away, has done just average in hitting. Maybe needs more time to adjust to her newfound freedom, but she has to know what pitches she can square and which ones to let go, even if they are strikes. It's what made Wade Boggs great, fouling off strikes that he didnt like, and smashing those he did.

Landry's problem.... I mean if you consider the fact that she is almost 100 points down on her batting average in the last month or so, is that she almost immediately goes to two strikes, and the reason is because she fouls off so many pitches, then ends up swinging at bad ones with the two strike pressure on her. I used to think she should stand still and swing but when she power slaps, her head moves with the ball and she is looking right at the ball as it comes past the bat. When she stands and swings, she does not move her head, just her eyes, and she misses a lot like that. Great player, we are going to miss her, but I really hope her last few games left are the best of her career. She has been a tremendous asset to this team.

I think Doyle is relaxing and coming around, and just wait till next year.... just wait.

Springfield hasn't had her makeover yet as far as batting goes. I really think what we have here is quite different from Oklahoma, ULL, Auburn, etc. Those teams, the batters bat pretty much the same way, and you can see the batting coach's philosophy all over them in their mindset, their stance, their pitch selection, and their swing. LSU is more “run what you brung and we will do the best we can with that” type coaching approach.

LSU hitters vary in mindset, approach, stance, and swing from player to player. You dont see a lot of consistency with them. I would hope the batting coach would influence them more and to the point where we see a consistent style and mindset.

Quinn, though she does not get a lot of hits, does get significant, timely hits, and this is maybe what has helped her keep her starting position. I am with the few on this forum who believe she'd not be benched unless she played really awful.

Sanchez, though I admire her, until she is fully healthy again, should sit. Her arm sometimes doesnt seem strong. She has played well. Maybe letting her sit and putting Doyle at third would work best.

Serret is going to have to finish out the year “as-is” but I hope in the off season she gets a hitting makeover like Springfield needs.

Andrews is doing very well. She needs to stop diving at balls with bases loaded and especially so when there is really no chance she will catch the ball. Sometimes being cautious is best. Her hitting is good enough to where she can assume lead-off.

Nicky Dawson should be the DP. Everybody has had their chance, and she has done the best. As someone who leans a little more toward being a batting coach, I look at her and see that her batting style is closest to perfection when it comes to flat-handed hitting. The way she is flat through the zone, her pitch selection, calmness.... and her speed.

Time to put the best players out there. Anything less than that will most surely ensure that the days of Jaquish and Landry, at LSU, will end at some point before the best eight teams go to Oklahoma.
This post was edited on 5/17 at 5:44 pm


Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
10718 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Was literally workin on this today

Beat me too it

I just received news that LSU is in the top 3 for a top ten prospect in the 2019 class.


Bhs83
Member since Mar 2016
484 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
oh man i am sorry! looking forward to see what you post!


Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
10718 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Personally I think Doyle should start at 3B. Springfield at 1B and Dawson at DH.

Its by far the best offensive lineup.

I also think Andrews needs to be at lead off. Griggs isn't a bad player at all but she is not a typical lead off


Bhs83
Member since Mar 2016
484 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
I been quiet for a while, got a cast on my left arm from ulnar nerve entrapment-release at the elbow. Still a little rough but pushed through and posted the above.

This is going to be an interesting Regional set up all across the board.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
30
wildcat81tiger86
Member since Feb 2014
438 posts
 Online 

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Good stuff.

I agree


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
10718 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Although I somewhat doubt Torina will change the lineup like I envision this late into the season. I just don't see it but maybe I am wrong.


Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
10718 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Beside the tuscaloose regional I think this is the toughest regional out there by far. Mcneese is capable of knocking off any team in this regional as well.

I think LSU pitching can stand up to anyone. Now what I am curious is if the offense can hold its own.

While its nice to see they came alive in the SECT they have not shown they can do this over a period of weeks. This is my major concern.

ULL hits a shite load of extra base hits. I don't think they would have numbers they have if they played in a much more competitive conference but still they are deadly on offense. The key for LSU is not to let them beat us with the long ball. I would not allow Sanders to beat us either. We might be giving her the Jaquish treatment this weekend


Bhs83
Member since Mar 2016
484 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
I often wonder about people walking Jaquish intentionally. I wonder if we get to Florida in the WCWS and Barnhill is pitching, would they pitch to Jaquish? Oklahoma would.


Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
10718 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
The one thing that bugs me about the offense is how different every batter is. Everyone has a completely different swing, completely different approach, stance in the box.

There is no time to fix a lot of the flaws with a lot of our hitters but the key for us will be attacking early in the count. You saw a lot more success this past weekend because of it.

What I do like about Quinn is she has really good at bats, she fouls off a lot of pitches and eventually she will find something.

We really need Serrett Doyle and Springfield to help carry the load for us


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
21
Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
10718 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Now that she is in the two hole she has to be pitched too more now, Landry is right behind her. Its almost pick your position. I don't think anyone now can truly pitch around at the moment with Landry following her.

As of now offense is the most important thing for this team and we need the best offensive players playing. Doyle has shown she is an asset for this team on the defensive side as well and she is very good at 3B. I just doubt this staff is making the change like that now all of a sudden.


Bhs83
Member since Mar 2016
484 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
yeah i am not sure Beth will make the changes we want, but i hope she does. I hate to see someone start all year then get benched, but Sanchez has more time left at LSU and almost certainly will start next year.


Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
10718 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Personally, Doyle is by far one of the better infielder on the team and Springfield is a natural 1B. She is really good defensively and a lot better than people thought. I just think the best defensive lineup is with Doyle at 3B and Springfield at 1B. Then you can use Sanchez, Dawson, Satchell or whoever at DH.

I love Sanchez as well but her plays definitely doesn't warrant a full time starter on the infield.


I was very happy to see Springfield get some hits in the SECT. She hit SEC pitching finally. A 2 run blast to center field, a double against Tennessee and a 2 rbi rope down the line.

We need Springfield and Doyle to put up some extra base hits this post season. Doyle, Springfield are very powerful players
This post was edited on 5/17 at 5:51 pm


Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
10718 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Also not sure if people were aware of this but Doyle had a major leg injury in HS during her junior year. This is her first year really truly playing healthy for once.

I am sure you will see a substantial difference come next year with her bat


Bhs83
Member since Mar 2016
484 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
I think you are right... i think this is all going to depend on the 4-6 batters, so we dont end up leaving so many on base.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
SanFranTiger
LSU Fan
San Francisco, CA
Member since Sep 2003
4257 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
quote:

Fordham


Fairfield
This post was edited on 5/17 at 6:28 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
50
catnip
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2003
12704 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Damn 357, you had to mention a top ten prospect? Now we all are gonna wonder who that could be. Recruiting by Beth has been great so I would think she will have more of these prospects in the future.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Soup Sammich
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2015
1083 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
I'm not too familiar with softball but I was under the impression that Torina is one of the better coaches in the country. I'm guessing yall don't think Torina is a good coach? Is it that she is a good recruiter but a below average coach? I'm seriously asking and not trying to sound like an a-hole.


catnip
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2003
12704 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Soup, I think recruiting and coaching can go hand in hand. She was in Oklahoma City a few times so I would take that as good coaching.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
21
doya2
LSU Fan
Charenton
Member since Jan 2005
5431 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Kelsey Selman beat ULL in Lafayette earlier this year...

7 ip
5 h
4 r
3 er
3 bb
2 k

Kelsey would be our 4th starter this year. Just saying....



Page 1 2 3 4 5 6
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 6next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram