- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: No Call on the Onsides Kick
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:00 pm to johnarbour
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:00 pm to johnarbour
quote:
g. No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a

Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:01 pm to johnarbour
the point is, even if it is grounded as all onside kicks are the kicking team still can not touch it before it goes 10 yards, otherwise they kick it 1 yard and recover it.
the fact it is grounded comes into play after 10 yards, now the kicking team can recover. even when grounded it is illegal and a penalty for kicking team to touch the ball before 10 yards. I would take from the rule i posted that they can't hit a player until it goes 10 yards.
the fact it is grounded comes into play after 10 yards, now the kicking team can recover. even when grounded it is illegal and a penalty for kicking team to touch the ball before 10 yards. I would take from the rule i posted that they can't hit a player until it goes 10 yards.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:02 pm to johnarbour
You people are just stupid. It was an obvious onside kick situation and it was obvious to anyone with a brain that LSU knew it was coming. It was so obvious that UNC didn't even try to disguise it.
One person makes a joke about the LSU coaches and then half a million people have serious discussion on if the LSU coaches thought it was coming or not!
.
.
.
.
.
And it was still a block in the back... penalty!
One person makes a joke about the LSU coaches and then half a million people have serious discussion on if the LSU coaches thought it was coming or not!
.
.
.
.
.
And it was still a block in the back... penalty!
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:04 pm to mgdtiger
The key the it hit ground means the receiving team is noblonger protected. Kicking team cannot recover until it goes ten yards, but once it hits the ground the receiving team can be hit without penalty.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:05 pm to Lithium
quote:
I think the onsides kick suprised the coaching staff
I guess that is why the "Hands" team was in. Bitch about the quality of coaching of the "Hands" team but don't make shite up.

Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:06 pm to johnarbour
quote:
but once it hits the ground the receiving team can be hit without penalty.
Not in the back. And since the foul occurred before possession was established.... LSU ball or re-kick?
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:06 pm to johnarbour
johnarbour, the rule you speak of protects the receiver
but this rule:
appears to prohibit ALL contact before 10 yds
but this rule:
quote:
g. No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a
free-kicked ball [S19].
appears to prohibit ALL contact before 10 yds
This post was edited on 9/5/10 at 1:11 pm
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:08 pm to evansky
yea i could be wrong but i see 2 different rules.
the other posters is more directed to after 10 yards when it is legal for the kicking team to touch the ball. the rule i posted had no exception to being grounded to making it legal for the kicking team to touch.
the other posters is more directed to after 10 yards when it is legal for the kicking team to touch the ball. the rule i posted had no exception to being grounded to making it legal for the kicking team to touch.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:09 pm to JaxTigah
quote:
I think the onsides kick suprised the coaching staff
Maybe the kicker laying the ball long ways on the tee could have "tipped" off our staff!
We knew obviously, we had at least 8 waiting.
Who was the LSU guy by the way who got jacked trying to catch it
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:12 pm to yurintroubl
The LSU guy didn't call for a fair catch but it shouldn't have mattered because he was hit before the ball got to him. I think that it should have been a penalty.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:14 pm to DBG
quote:
you've always been able to have your first line of players slam into the receiving teams first line, thats the strategy
True,also the recievers front line is to take out the first wave comming after the ball,Leaving the people behind him open space to recover the oncomming kick. Of course that is a perfect scenerio to recieve an onside kick. UNC did thier part perfectly
This post was edited on 9/5/10 at 1:17 pm
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:15 pm to the LSUSaint
Alfred Blue. At about the 8 1/2 yard mark of the 10 yard whatever you call it zone. He a couple yards in from the sideline facing the ball as it bounced towards him in a direct line from the tee.
He was bending his knees, leaning forward with the ball about 3 inches from his fingertips when he got trucked by a UNC guy.
He was bending his knees, leaning forward with the ball about 3 inches from his fingertips when he got trucked by a UNC guy.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:15 pm to TigerOnTheProwl
You know, we should have NEVER been in THAT situation to begin with- NEVER and EVER. That game should have been put away in the 3rd quarter, but instead we pulled out the old Crowton playbook from the last 2 years and for whatever reason decided to let our defense be the offense AND the defense in the 2nd half. Nearly got us beat, and probably should have. Sad thing is that this staff will NOT learn anything from their mistakes and will do this crap time and time again, and that really does tick me off.
We are talking about this play! Not what you think about the game as a whole.
We are talking about this play! Not what you think about the game as a whole.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:16 pm to evansky
But a free kick is no longer defined as a free kick once it touches the ground or a player of the receiving team. It's a crazy definition. It could have been called a block in the back. In that case, since it was a loose ball when the penalty occurred, UNC is backed ip 10 yards, and rekick.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:23 pm to omegaman66
quote:
And it was still a block in the back... penalty!
No such thing as a block in the back by the DEFENSE.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:25 pm to johnarbour
It should've been a penalty. Janzen Jackson laid into Julio Jones last year in the exact same situation on the UT-Bama onside kick and it was determined that it should've been a penalty.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:25 pm to 1984Tiger
Yes there is. Rule doesn't specify.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:25 pm to yurintroubl
It's on the replay on ESPN3 at the 3:22:00 mark.
Posted on 9/5/10 at 1:34 pm to yurintroubl
Popular
Back to top
