The Hornell Red Raiders met the Palmyra-Macedon Red Raiders in New York's Section V Class B1baseball title game on Saturday and things ended rather chaotically...

Hornell to ok a 5-4 lead into the bottom of the 7th inning and Pal-Mac was down to their last strike when chaos and confusion resulted in both teams taking a turn celebrating a sectional title.

With a 2-2 count, the Pal-Mac batter took a called third strike, but was not out because the umpire ruled the ball had hit the dirt. The batter took off for first and the catcher pointed as if to say he made the tag, but there was never any confirmation that the out was recorded. So the runner on second took off, as did the batter. Hornell continued to celebrate while the runners rounded the bases.

(The Big Lead)
user avatar
GeorgeWinter9 months
I couldn't take my eyes off the whole thing. The referee obviously made a mistake by not counting the third. And apparently, even the players did not immediately understand what happened. Out is recorded or not, the million-dollar question! It's like a movie with a twisted plot, where everyone is confused, but you need to keep your composure. I recently read an absolutely free article at LINK / about how sport builds courage in students. Apparently, this match is perfect as an example and as an idea for your paper. After all, such situations teach you how to work under stressful conditions, make decisions, and cope with unexpected circumstances.
user avatar
Kevin Faulkner12 months
Thats on the catcher. Ump did not signal the out.
user avatar
TigersCajuns12 months
Why are they both wearing their dark colored jerseys, that was awful
user avatar
Mulkey Man12 months
Many high school teams only have one set of uniforms.
Popular Stories
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.