Posted by
Message
HoustonGumbeauxGuy
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
17873 posts

Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review
We went on a Tuesday morning, luckily it was the morning after a huge fundraising gala. Which meant the 100,000 sq ft hangar was being reset with the usual planes and other "not normally seen" planes were also being jockeyed around for us to enjoy. Anyway, here are the pics.

And if you are in Galveston, go see this place. I have newfound respect for historic military aviation...these things were nothing short of beautiful.

==========================





















































This post was edited on 12/22 at 8:42 am


Winston Cup
LSU Fan
San Antonio Spurs Fan
Member since May 2016
36266 posts

re: Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review
Very cool. Went years ago, from what i have heard a lot of the planes got destroyed by Hurricane Ike, and there are a lot less now. Looks like some were salvaged.


HoustonGumbeauxGuy
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
17873 posts

re: Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review
Yes Ike was brutal, they had 9 feet of water in that big hangar. They are building a new museum from the ground up over near Ellington Field.

There were lots of pics of the Ike damage that I didn't post on here.




This post was edited on 6/14 at 6:58 am


MSMHater
Houston Astros Fan
Houston
Member since Oct 2008
21420 posts

re: Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review
Cool pics. I have a subtle brag about that place.

A few years before Ike I happened to be playing on the Moody Golf Course on the same Saturday the museum was having one of their air shows. The back 9 essentially butts up to their runway, so I go to enjoy the entire show from a spot closer than the spectators. I saw several of the planes from your photos flying and doing the fake bombing runs. It was, by far, the coolest round of golf I ever played. Took 2.5 hours to play the back 9, and nobody cared. Every hole had golfers just slowly playing and watching the show.

I think the coolest part was a stealth bomber that was moving forward at a slow stall not 50 feet directly above my head. It was crazy, and something I'll never forget.


HoustonGumbeauxGuy
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
17873 posts

re: Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review
quote:

I saw several of the planes from your photos flying and doing the fake bombing runs. It was, by far, the coolest round of golf I ever played. Took 2.5 hours to play the back 9, and nobody cared. Every hole had golfers just slowly playing and watching the show. I think the coolest part was a stealth bomber that was moving forward at a slow stall not 50 feet directly above my head. It was crazy, and something I'll never forget


Kick ass!



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
HoustonGumbeauxGuy
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
17873 posts

re: Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review
quote:

it's really not that great at all. Used to land at that airport all the time


List 5 things that would make it "great".


This post was edited on 6/14 at 10:13 am


meauxjeaux2
Xavier Fan
watson
Member since Oct 2007
60283 posts

re: Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review


HoustonGumbeauxGuy
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
17873 posts

re: Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review
Do you understand the concept of time?


Image: https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/21/29/c6/2129c62a4b67d201939e8dc7c36617c7.jpg


This post was edited on 6/15 at 10:44 am


meauxjeaux2
Xavier Fan
watson
Member since Oct 2007
60283 posts

re: Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review
quote:

Do you understand the concept of time?
so it was convenient for you. Awesome! It's just to me not a very interesting air museum because i've actually been to several that i consider interesting.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
02
Reservoir dawg
Mississippi St. Fan
Member since Oct 2013
8475 posts

re: Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review
The Naval Aviation Museum in Pensacola is unreal. It took me a couple of hours to see it all, last time I was there.


meauxjeaux2
Xavier Fan
watson
Member since Oct 2007
60283 posts

re: Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review
now i feel like a huge dick for coming across HGG like i did. I'm sorry dude. You're a good poster.


HoustonGumbeauxGuy
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
17873 posts

re: Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review


It's all good sir. Thanks.

I felt like Jamie in this movie....

Image: https://le0pard13.files.wordpress.com/2011/08/steven-spielberg-moment-empire-of-the-sun.jpg

This post was edited on 6/16 at 10:20 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Reservoir dawg
Mississippi St. Fan
Member since Oct 2013
8475 posts

re: Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
LordoftheManor
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2006
8096 posts

re: Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review
Looks awesome
This post was edited on 8/15 at 10:44 am


HoustonGumbeauxGuy
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
17873 posts

re: Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review
I updated the pics...the URLS were all broken. You should be able to see all the photos now.




Winston Cup
LSU Fan
San Antonio Spurs Fan
Member since May 2016
36266 posts

re: Pics: Lone Star Flight Museum (Galveston, TX) -- HGG trip review
Awesome collection HGG.

Such a cool place. Would like to go back one day.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 1next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram