Page 1
Page 1
Started By
Message

Appletv Possibly Hacked

Posted on 6/22/26 at 9:45 pm
Posted by bleedpurplengold
Member since Feb 2007
1418 posts
Posted on 6/22/26 at 9:45 pm
So this afternoon around 4:00 I had a payment confirmation email come through stating that I made a purchase of around $14 for appletv services. Contacted my wife who said she didn’t make this purchase. Cancelled the service at that time.

When I got home around 5:30 I checked the Appletv app and noticed that someone was watching Widow’s Bay. It was on episode 3 and had 14 minutes left of the episode. Checked again just now and episodes 1-5 have all been watched in full.

Is it possible to know what device made the purchase or what device is streaming the app? Checked forums and haven’t had any luck in this regard except for them all telling me to do the settings thing in my phone to see what devices I’m signed into. I have done that and it’s only my home appletv, my iPhone, my extra iPhone that in my side tv cabinet for pandora use only and my kids iPad (does not have appletv app). Confirmed kid didn’t do it because he doesn’t have app. Plus apple always has a 2 part authentication which makes this even more confusing

Is there a way around the 2 part? I have already changed my password so all of my Apple devices will require the new password.
Posted by whiskey over ice
Member since Sep 2020
3802 posts
Posted on 6/23/26 at 2:54 pm to
Are you all sharing the same Apple ID? Should be able to narrow down which one made the purchase
Posted by RoyalWe
Louisiana
Member since Mar 2018
5306 posts
Posted on 6/23/26 at 6:19 pm to
The only thought I have is to log into your Apple account and reset all connections to at least make them sign in again. Change the password so they can't do it again without your giving it to them.
Posted by bleedpurplengold
Member since Feb 2007
1418 posts
Posted on 6/24/26 at 9:26 am to
That's what I did and no do not share the account. Contacted Apple and they refunded me, but really curious as to how this person achieved this. I know purchasing an app requires a two part authentication. Plus I changed the password to my Apple account about a year ago and nobody would be able to guess what it is.

It was very strange seeing somebody else watching our Apple account
Posted by RoyalWe
Louisiana
Member since Mar 2018
5306 posts
Posted on 6/24/26 at 10:08 am to
I have known people who went on vacation, used their credentials to log into streaming services on the TV, and then forgot to log out leaving their account available for the next person who rented the house.
Posted by j1897
Member since Nov 2011
4913 posts
Posted on 6/24/26 at 3:08 pm to
quote:


I have known people who went on vacation, used their credentials to log into streaming services on the TV, and then forgot to log out leaving their account available for the next person who rented the house.


Done this a bunch, also used other people's stuff. Gotta love the random stuff on Airbnb tv's.
Posted by bleedpurplengold
Member since Feb 2007
1418 posts
Posted on 6/24/26 at 7:37 pm to
While I have done that for espn and Netflix, never for appletv. I’ve only had it twice in my life and cancelled after the show I watched ended. Last time I had it was in April of this year and cancelled at end of month. Didn’t have a May charge and all of a sudden got an email stating I had been charged for Apple services. When I logged into my Apple account I saw it was for Appletv. Then once I entered the app is when I saw that somebody was watching Widow’s bay and was halfway through the 3rd ep. Few hours later they were on ep 5
Posted by j1897
Member since Nov 2011
4913 posts
Posted on 6/24/26 at 8:13 pm to
I'm with you, i honestly have no idea how that happened.
Posted by dallastigers
Member since Dec 2003
10949 posts
Posted on 6/27/26 at 5:27 pm to
Have you had any new issues after resetting password?

quote:

I have done that and it’s only my home appletv, my iPhone, my extra iPhone that in my side tv cabinet for pandora use only and my kids iPad (does not have appletv app). Confirmed kid didn’t do it because he doesn’t have app. Plus apple always has a 2 part authentication which makes this even more confusing


Only thing I would add to the above is asking if the iPad is signed into your account at device’s iCloud or Apple account login?

If it is set as a trusted device (under settings/Apple account) it is able to receive account verification codes and likely could be set to approve what happened (you still should have seen a verification pop up on your device but I am not sure if it stays once another device approves). You can limit Face ID or Touch ID from approving purchases, but the device password can still access passwords to approve (device password can be used in certain instances as well). If signed in like this it could also have access to passwords you have saved & stored in the password app.

Having a device logged into your Apple account like above can also automatically log you into that Apple account with pre-installed Apple apps.

For example deleting the Apple TV app that is on a device that is using your Apple account as device’s main Apple account and then reinstalling Apple TV app from App Store will automatically log back in to your Apple account on the Apple TV app without being prompted for 2nd authorization as device already authorized. It doesn’t even ask for password and just logs the app into the device’s apple account automatically when you open the app.

Redownloading the Apple TV app from App Store could depend on settings for free or previously purchased apps (and if restrictions set to limit any changes to those settings), but since it’s free and pre-installed I think default settings allow for the Apple TV app to be redownloaded after deletions without password or override as well.

You aren’t supposed to be able to hide the Apple TV app due to being pre-installed, but I am not sure if that was always the case or dependent on iOS versions. You could check there as well just to make sure. Also make sure the app wasn’t just removed off the Home Screen but still in App Library.


If it ends up being from your kid’s device I would look into starting a family group and creating a child’s profile with appropriate restrictions as the main Apple account on your kid’s device instead of using yours. You can share purchases or by app selectively log into your account instead of setting up your account as the main Apple account for the device and sharing all your stuff with it.
This post was edited on 6/27/26 at 5:34 pm
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 1Next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram