- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: You make the call: safe at first or out?
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:38 pm to Darth_Vader
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:38 pm to Darth_Vader
quote:I didn't say anything about a requirement. I'm saying batter is only out if complete foot is out of batters box on contact.
That makes no sense. There is no requirement she put her entire foot outside the box. The only requirement is both feet start in the box before the pitch is made.
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:39 pm to Darth_Vader
quote:
She was not called out for leaving the box early. Period.
Again, you are basing this off of a video that doesn't even show the home plate ump.
The first base ump could have been reiterating the home umps call
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:39 pm to Geauxtiga
quote:
I didn't say anything about a requirement. I'm saying batter is only out if complete foot is out of batters box on contact.
And I'm pointing out it's been posted in here multiple times in girls softball the batter can have a foot completely outside the box on contact. What part of this are you not understanding?
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:42 pm to Darth_Vader
quote:
She was in the box before contact was made.
At contact her left foot looks to be in front of home plate.
Since batters boxes do not exist directly in front of home plate it could lead one to believe she had the entire foot out of a batters box (See crossing the plate) while contact was made.
Yes, she started out in the batters box, but as the rule posted says: The batter hits the ball fair or foul while either foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or while touching the plate.
shite, her foot could have been touching
This post was edited on 3/11/17 at 12:44 pm
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:43 pm to fightin tigers
quote:
Again, you are basing this off of a video that doesn't even show the home plate ump.
The first base ump could have been reiterating the home umps call
Don't you think if home ump had called her out the news article would have mentioned that fact? Did you read the article or just watch the Twitter video? There's zero evidence the home ump called her out and it's not just because the Twitter video didn't show it. Unless you can provide any evidence the home ump called her out, it's a straw man argument.
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:43 pm to Darth_Vader
quote:
Again, if what you're trying to say is correct, the home ump would have called her out, not the 1st base ump. That's home ump's call.
quote:Agree. I'm not sure why you're directing that at me since I haven't said either. I haven't called in a few years but I'm a certified HS ump.
Furthermore, it's obvious from the video the 1st base ump called her out based on the throw to 1st. You can tell because he is clearly watching toward 1 and only calls her out after the throw arrives at 1st.
She was not called out for leaving the box early. Period.
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:44 pm to Darth_Vader
quote:I just put a class 5 curse on you
What a miserable fricking loser you must be. You add nothing to the conversation, probably because your'e a pale, fat, non-athletic nerd who's never played a sport in your life unless you consider Dungons and Dragons in your parents basement a sport.
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:45 pm to Darth_Vader
quote:
Don't you think if home ump had called her out the news article would have mentioned that fact?
Because it is written by a hack of a journalist/blogger that may be her uncle.
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:46 pm to fightin tigers
quote:
At contact her left foot looks to be in front of home plate.
Since batters boxes do not exist directly in front of home plate it could lead one to believe she had the entire foot out of a batters box (See crossing the plate) while contact was made.
Yes, she started out in the batters box, but as the rule posted says: The batter hits the ball fair or foul while either foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or while touching the plate.
shite, her foot could have been touching
Reading comprehension... do you have any? Read this slowly and think about it a moment....
quote:
NOTE: A follow-through with the bat may carry one of the batter's feet entirely outside the box so it touches the ground as the ball is leaving the bat.
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:47 pm to Darth_Vader
quote:That would be wrong,
And I'm pointing out it's been posted in here multiple times in girls softball the batter can have a foot completely outside the box on contact. What part of this are you not understanding?
quote:
ART. 8 . . . The batter hits the ball fair or foul while either foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or while touching the plate. NOTE: A follow-through with the bat may carry one of the batter's feet entirely outside the box so it touches the ground as the ball is leaving the bat. It is customary for the umpire to ignore this if both feet were in legal position at the start of the swing and if it is not considered an attempt to circumvent the spirit of the rule
This post was edited on 3/11/17 at 12:48 pm
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:48 pm to fightin tigers
quote:
Because it is written by a hack of a journalist/blogger that may be her uncle.
You know this journalist enough to basically call them a liar? Please give us your evidence to back up your claim. Otherwise you're just attacking the messenger because you can't counter the story on facts alone.
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:50 pm to Darth_Vader
The coach better have gotten tossed after that
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:51 pm to Darth_Vader
She didn't leave box early
She touched 1st base
Umpire Was Looking at Bag and I'm assuming watching foot & listening for ball hitting glove.
He totally missed the call
She touched 1st base
Umpire Was Looking at Bag and I'm assuming watching foot & listening for ball hitting glove.
He totally missed the call
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:52 pm to Geauxtiga
quote:
quote:
And I'm pointing out it's been posted in here multiple times in girls softball the batter can have a foot completely outside the box on contact. What part of this are you not understanding?
quote:
That would be wrong,
How is it wrong? This comes from the rule book...
quote:
A follow-through with the bat may carry one of the batter's feet entirely outside the box so it touches the ground as the ball is leaving the bat.
quote:
A follow-through with the bat may carry one of the batter's feet entirely outside the box so it touches the ground as the ball is leaving the bat.
Plus, this is just a distraction since it's obvious the 1st base ump called her out based on the throw and not anything to do with when or where she hit the ball. That's not even his call.
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:54 pm to Darth_Vader
"follow through with bat carrying one's foot" does not equal foo completely out ON contact.
I'm afraid to ask what you think happens in the 5th inning when there are no longer lines visible.
I'm afraid to ask what you think happens in the 5th inning when there are no longer lines visible.
This post was edited on 3/11/17 at 12:56 pm
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:58 pm to Geauxtiga
quote:
"follow through with bat" does not equal foo completely out ON contact.
I'm afraid to ask what you think happens in the 5th inning when there are no longer lines visible.
Again, this has nothing to do with the play since it's obvious the call was based on the throw to 1st and had NOTHING TO DO WITH ANYTHING THAT HAPPENED AT THE PLATE.
Posted on 3/11/17 at 1:01 pm to Darth_Vader
quote:Again, I agree and am not arguing that. Go back and read where I got in. it was in the rule interpretation (you know, the one you are wrong on) that I tried to clarify. You keep jumping around though so I'm done.
Again, this has nothing to do with the play since it's obvious the call was based on the throw to 1st and had NOTHING TO DO WITH ANYTHING THAT HAPPENED AT THE PLATE.
Posted on 3/11/17 at 1:02 pm to Darth_Vader
quote:how do you know the ump just didnt make a mistake,
since it's obvious the call was based on the throw to 1st and had NOTHING TO DO WITH ANYTHING THAT HAPPENED AT THE PLATE.
saw the out at the plate but pointed to the bag out of habit ?
Posted on 3/11/17 at 1:04 pm to Darth_Vader
quote:
Again, this has nothing to do with the play since it's obvious the call was based on the throw to 1st and had NOTHING TO DO WITH ANYTHING THAT HAPPENED AT THE PLATE.
I'm not going to lie. I thought I was trolling you for a while. You got me to bite on yours.
Back to top


1





