Started By
Message

re: You make the call: safe at first or out?

Posted on 3/11/17 at 11:42 am to
Posted by dshort_bruh
Verbena
Member since Sep 2016
507 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 11:42 am to
quote:

ART. 8 . . . The batter hits the ball fair or foul while either foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or while touching the plate. NOTE: A follow-through with the bat may carry one of the batter's feet entirely outside the box so it touches the ground as the ball is leaving the bat. It is customary for the umpire to ignore this if both feet were in legal position at the start of the swing and if it is not considered an attempt to circumvent the spirit of the rule


She was not out.
This post was edited on 3/11/17 at 11:43 am
Posted by Darth_Vader
A galaxy far, far away
Member since Dec 2011
72122 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 11:53 am to
quote:

NOTE: A follow-through with the bat may carry one of the batter's feet entirely outside the box so it touches the ground as the ball is leaving the bat. It is customary for the umpire to ignore this if both feet were in legal position at the start of the swing and if it is not considered an attempt to circumvent the spirit of the rule


I think that should settle the batters box question once and for all.

With that mystery solved, the only thing left is to figure out why the 1st base Blue called her out at 1 even though she clearly beat the throw by a country mile.

Her foot clearly tags the bag at the 6 second mark while the throw from the third base line area does not arrive until until after the 7 second mark and the runner is already a good 10' past the bag. What's worse is it appears Blue is looking directly at her and can clearly see she's already tagged and past the base before the throw was there.

Not only was this girl safe, it was not even a close call. Missing this call is inexcusable on Blue's part. In fact it's so bad his ability to call a game in a professional, accurate, and unbiased manner should be seriously questioned.
This post was edited on 3/11/17 at 11:55 am
Posted by fightin tigers
Downtown Prairieville
Member since Mar 2008
76191 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 11:54 am to
shite, looks like she might have touched the plate or stepped in front of it at least.


Type of problems we have when the sport becomes bastardized.
Posted by Darth_Vader
A galaxy far, far away
Member since Dec 2011
72122 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 11:56 am to
quote:

shite, looks like she might have touched the plate or stepped in front of it at least.


Type of problems we have when the sport becomes bastardized.


Read the first post on this page where he quotes the rule book section covering the issue of steeping during the swing.

Again, what she did at the plate is very common and very legal in girls softball.
Posted by OWLFAN86
Erotic Novelist
Member since Jun 2004
194508 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:03 pm to
jesus you will argue about the most inane pointless shite and not in a good-humored way


your dick must be so tiny
Posted by Darth_Vader
A galaxy far, far away
Member since Dec 2011
72122 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:14 pm to
quote:

jesus you will argue about the most inane pointless shite and not in a good-humored way



What a miserable fricking loser you must be. You add nothing to the conversation, probably because your'e a pale, fat, non-athletic nerd who's never played a sport in your life unless you consider Dungons and Dragons in your parents basement a sport.

You can't comment on the subject so instead you come in here, multiple times now I might add, to do nothing but throw out lame insults as though your loser opinion means shite to anyone. Nobody asked for your opinion because nobody cares what you think. God your pathetic.

quote:

your dick must be so tiny


It's good enough to keep a smile on your mom's face, dork.
This post was edited on 3/11/17 at 12:15 pm
Posted by Geauxtiga
No man's land
Member since Jan 2008
34400 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:19 pm to
quote:

She was running before she ever swung. That's an out.
Not in softball. It's called slap hitting. Batters' box is 4 ft to the front (from center) and 3 ft to the back.

Edit: Sorry, didn't realize I was so late to the party.
This post was edited on 3/11/17 at 12:23 pm
Posted by fightin tigers
Downtown Prairieville
Member since Mar 2008
76191 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:22 pm to
quote:

Read the first post on this page where he quotes the rule book section covering the issue of steeping during the swing.

Again, what she did at the plate is very common and very legal in girls softball.


I'm not debating if she can move in the box, but it looks like she was easily in front of the plate. The screenshot posted looks like it.
Posted by Darth_Vader
A galaxy far, far away
Member since Dec 2011
72122 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:25 pm to
quote:




I'm not debating if she can move in the box, but it looks like she was easily in front of the plate. The screenshot posted looks like it.


Read the post right before this one where it's pointed out in softball the batters box extends 4' in front of the plate.

And keep in mind that according to the rules the batter can be in front of the batters box when they make contact with the ball. Being in front of the plate, or even having a foot in front of the batters box does not matter in girls softball. It's perfectly legal.
Posted by Hamma1122
Member since Sep 2016
21849 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:28 pm to
She stepped out of batters box before making contact
Posted by Darth_Vader
A galaxy far, far away
Member since Dec 2011
72122 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:28 pm to
quote:

She stepped out of batters box before making contact


Again, that's legal in girl's softball.

From the rule book....

quote:

ART. 8 . . . The batter hits the ball fair or foul while either foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or while touching the plate. NOTE: A follow-through with the bat may carry one of the batter's feet entirely outside the box so it touches the ground as the ball is leaving the bat. It is customary for the umpire to ignore this if both feet were in legal position at the start of the swing and if it is not considered an attempt to circumvent the spirit of the rule



Plus, that call would have been made by the home ump. The 1st base ump called her out on the throw, which was clearly late.
This post was edited on 3/11/17 at 12:31 pm
Posted by fightin tigers
Downtown Prairieville
Member since Mar 2008
76191 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:29 pm to
quote:

Again, that's legal in girl's softball.


No it isn't.

There is no batters box in front of the plate...none.
Posted by Geauxtiga
No man's land
Member since Jan 2008
34400 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:30 pm to
quote:

Again, that's legal in girl's softball.
Only if the complete foot is out on contact.
Posted by Darth_Vader
A galaxy far, far away
Member since Dec 2011
72122 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:31 pm to
quote:




No it isn't.

There is no batters box in front of the plate...none.


Batters box extends 4' in front of the plate.
Posted by Geauxtiga
No man's land
Member since Jan 2008
34400 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:33 pm to
4ft towards from from center.
Posted by Darth_Vader
A galaxy far, far away
Member since Dec 2011
72122 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:33 pm to
quote:


Only if the complete foot is out on contact.





That makes no sense. There is no requirement she put her entire foot outside the box. The only requirement is both feet start in the box before the pitch is made.
Posted by fightin tigers
Downtown Prairieville
Member since Mar 2008
76191 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:34 pm to
quote:

Batters box extends 4' in front of the plate.


Directly in front of the plate?

What prevents players from just standing directly in front of the plate and taking a pitch every time?
Posted by fightin tigers
Downtown Prairieville
Member since Mar 2008
76191 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:36 pm to
quote:

The only requirement is both feet start in the box before the pitch is made


Before contact is made
Posted by Darth_Vader
A galaxy far, far away
Member since Dec 2011
72122 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:36 pm to
quote:

4ft towards from from center


Again, if what you're trying to say is correct, the home ump would have called her out, not the 1st base ump. That's home ump's call.

Furthermore, it's obvious from the video the 1st base ump called her out based on the throw to 1st. You can tell because he is clearly watching toward 1 and only calls her out after the throw arrives at 1st.

She was not called out for leaving the box early. Period.
Posted by Darth_Vader
A galaxy far, far away
Member since Dec 2011
72122 posts
Posted on 3/11/17 at 12:37 pm to
quote:

Before contact is made


She was in the box before contact was made.
first pageprev pagePage 3 of 7Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram