Page 1
Page 1
Started By
Message
locked post

Baseball ruling question

Posted on 5/18/11 at 9:13 pm
Posted by LSUDAN
Louisiana
Member since Jun 2005
490 posts
Posted on 5/18/11 at 9:13 pm
Bases are loaded. Ball is hit and runner going from 2nd to 3rd is hit with the ball. Does the runner from 3rd going home have to go back to 3rd or they allowed to score. Happened in game tonight and umpire called runner hit out and made runner from 3rd going home go back to 3rd and next batter got out for the 3rd out.
Posted by FunkyTiger
New Orleans
Member since Nov 2009
1207 posts
Posted on 5/18/11 at 9:15 pm to
If the guy hit with the ball was the third out, then the runner going home does not score. Since it was the second out, he should have scored.
Posted by Bama and Beer
Baldwin Co, AL
Member since Oct 2010
84694 posts
Posted on 5/18/11 at 9:16 pm to
Pretty sure the runner being hit is out but I don't think it's a dead ball. Runner should be allowed to score if there is one out or less.

ETA: Damn this got moved from the OT to the MSB pretty damn quick.

This post was edited on 5/18/11 at 9:18 pm
Posted by Tino
:yawn:
Member since Dec 2004
86225 posts
Posted on 5/18/11 at 9:16 pm to
not an expert, but pretty sure the ump made the wrong call
Posted by East Coast Band
Member since Nov 2010
66950 posts
Posted on 5/18/11 at 9:19 pm to
Not really knowing for sure. But think of the extreme. Say you hit a ball and the runner going to third picks the ball up and holds it, allowing all the runners to score. Not fair, is it? I bet the ump was correct.
Posted by Hullabaloo
LA
Member since Sep 2009
15296 posts
Posted on 5/18/11 at 9:21 pm to
Thats different bro. That's interference.
Posted by medtiger
Member since Sep 2003
21954 posts
Posted on 5/18/11 at 9:36 pm to
From the baseball rule book:

quote:

He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an
infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except
runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when
touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out;


Ump made the right call...runner from 2nd to 3rd is out, runner on 3rd stays put because he's no longer forced. Batter to 1st and runner on 1st to 2nd.
Posted by steel rain
Member since Apr 2011
52 posts
Posted on 5/18/11 at 9:39 pm to
Correct Call. Ball is dead, runner cannot score.
Posted by Vicks Kennel Club
29-24 #BlewDat
Member since Dec 2010
31210 posts
Posted on 5/18/11 at 9:39 pm to
Dead ball. I think there would then be there 2 outs, bases loaded because the runner on second is out, the runner on third returns to return, the runner on first goes to second only because the batter has to occupy first base. The ump probably knows what is up, but I would presume bases loaded, only 2 outs.
Posted by josh336
baton rouge
Member since Jan 2007
81973 posts
Posted on 5/18/11 at 10:10 pm to
Sounds like the ump made the right call to me, before the rulebook came up, I was thinking dead ball, which meant the guy can't score
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 1Next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram