Posted by
Message
kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Mountain West
Member since Apr 2019
22 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hey Rybo, do you think ISDS715 sets us up for success for the PMP Exam or do we need to do extra studying on top of the coursework? I have the PMBOK and now am starting Andy Crowe's "The PMP Exam, How to Pass on Your First Try." Any other study techniques you felt really helped you pass? TIA!!


Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
17 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hey Kiki!

The benefit of ISDS 715 is that the course fulfills the educational requirement of the PMP certification. In addition, you'll need to submit your 3500 hours of PM time for review. If you need help with this, let's take it offline. I have helped all the members of my PMO with this step and none thus-far have been audited.

To answer your question, does this class prepare you for the PMP? Sadly, I have to say no.

The test is rooted in the processes, but many questions, at least 65+%, ask scenario-based "What do you do next", things that if you've PM'd long enough you know, but not really what is taught in the class.

My study strategy was this:

1. Read and digest and understand Andy Crowe's book, always study one chapter per night. This is the best book that I have come across. It is written with the goal to help pass the test with no fluff.

2. Only use the PMBOK as a reference guide. I have never read this book cover to cover.

3. When you are 90 days out from taking your test, subscribe to the PM Prepcast Simulator: LINK

These are the most accurate questions that I encountered during my prep. The site gives specific feedback on the areas you need to study. I used that feedback to refine my study strategy a few weeks out. The questions are hard, but you'll be well prepared.

4. In the PM Prepcast simulator are several full-lengths, 200 question tests. Take at least one to mentally and physically prepare for the grind of the test. I finished with less than 10 minutes to review my answers and was incredibly stressed out.

5. Finally, you've got to understand what the question on the PMP test is really asking. The test is designed to fail out marginal PM's, so I took the strategy of reading the question backward, then determining what is being asked, what phase of the project are we in, and what detail is being added. For example, if you are in the M&C phase, no answer in the planning phase would be applicable. Watch out for these types of tricks.

This post was edited on 8/7 at 12:35 pm


kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Mountain West
Member since Apr 2019
22 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Rybo, wow- thank you. This is all incredibly helpful. I've taken several certification exams with very little preparation and passed but it sounds like the PMP is not one to mess with. I'm actually glad the exam is more process-based than memorization, which I feel is the focus in our class. It sounds like I need to consider taking the test in November at the earliest. I'd love to keep in touch, my email is kikicub7@gmail.com. Thanks again!


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
11 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I am beginning my MBA journey in September. I figured I start off by taking 1 course with the session beginning 9/2 and possibly do 2 with the session beginning 10/28... depending on how well Im able to handle to first.
Any recommendations/tips for what classes/professors I should do for each session? Thanks!
ACCT 701 Bai, Yu 10/28
ECON 705 White, Mary 9/2
ECON 705 Fanta, Fassil 10/28
FIN 701 Kendall, Lynn 10/28
FIN 701 Shi, Han 10/28
MADM 701 Phillips, Nichole 9/2
MADM 701 Phillips, Nichole 10/28
MKT 701 Khan, Imran 9/2
MKT 701 Kim, Minseong 10/28
MKT 701 James, Karen 10/28
ISDS 705 Gherfal, Sam 9/2
ISDS 705 Lind, Mary 9/2
ISDS 705 Lin, Binshan 10/28
ISDS 705 Darban, Mehdi 10/28
This post was edited on 8/7 at 5:38 pm


agood623
Member since Jul 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Can you share the Syllabus and textbook for Hellers MADM760? I'm enrolled for Fall AP1 and want to get a jump on the reading. My email is Agoodwin119@gmail.com

Would be much appreciated. Thank you!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
QueDog
Tennessee Fan
Knoxville
Member since Jun 2019
11 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I had Lind and Phillips for my first two courses at the beginning of summer. I would take Phillips again, but would caution to avoid Lind.


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
11 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
hello QueDog, what class did you take Phillips with and can you elaborate on what you liked about it?


undkeith
Member since Aug 2007
102 posts
 Online 

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Does anyone have Ambrosio’s Acct 701 syllabus? Fawaz’’s Econ 705?
Please e-mail them to rjsmither1@gmail.com thanks!
This post was edited on 8/8 at 11:00 am


Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
17 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Sent Ambrosio's Acct 701 -- good 1st choice -- he's probably the best prof. in this program.


undkeith
Member since Aug 2007
102 posts
 Online 

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Got it! Thanks Rybo!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
11 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
do any classes benefit from taking a different class in the program first?
Im thinking of starting off with fin 720 as my first course as Im not seeing good reviews of the professors teaching the core classes this coming session. Also I dont have a finance/business background.


PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
44 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Any recommendations/tips for what classes/professors I should do for each session?


From previous posts, Lin ISDS 705 is supposed to be on of the lightest course loads in the program and has potential to be doubled up.

FIN 701 is typically recommended to take with Vines or Choi. I had Vines. Class is ok but based on 4 tests. If you have one bad module, you may finish with less than an A. In my case, I had a bad storm in my area during mod 2 that affected my studies and bombed the exam. Still squeaked out a B tho.

Most here despise MKT with Khan. I made an easy A and enjoyed that class so to each their own. Your results may be different. Could also depend on the assistant grading papers. I made A's on all papers. There's horror stories of getting an assistant that refuses to give an A. Maybe i was lucky.

ACCT has been recommended with Ambrosia or Yin. I'm taking Yin now and don't mind it. It's fairly light just a lot of trick questions on quizzes. I'm not a fan of that. Looks like I'll finsh with an A or high B depending on the final exam which is rumored to be ruthless.

That's all I can contribute. Good luck.


PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
44 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Im thinking of starting off with fin 720 as my first course


I've read to take 701 first but can't confirm. I've taken 701 and am registered for 720 next semester. Try to google "lsus tigerdroppings +FIN" you should be able to find some older reviews on the 720 courses. One detailed review recommended taken 701 first.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
11 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
any input on the value of taking FIN 650 - Real Est Invest/Tax?
This course will not help me with my IT career but I have 2 rental properties and looking at ways to expand my real estate investing.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
11 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
thanks I read some of your posts on Khan and MKT and Im somewhat leaning towards taking a shot at that on my first class. Did you have a business background/undergrad?


Amills
Fort Worth, Texas
Member since Aug 2019
13 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Would someone please send me the syllabuses for Choi FIN 701, McLaughlin MADM 701, and Darrat MKT 701 ? I'm taking those classes in the fall and trying to determine if I can manage the classes with my workload. My email is amnerismills@gmail.com. Thanks in advance!!!


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
11 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@Amills,
not sure if im missing something but I dont see any of those professors+course options for Fall


Amills
Fort Worth, Texas
Member since Aug 2019
13 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
If you go to actual page without signing in, click the course schedule, and choose the class, you will be able to see all the professor teaching that specific class.

LINK =


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
11 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
okay thanks, looks like it wasnt visible because they were full.
so apparently im stuck with all the left over professors nobody wants


Amills
Fort Worth, Texas
Member since Aug 2019
13 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Well, not really. I was in the same boat, but I kept checking throughout the date and was able to pick up some of the good classes. People usually go through out the date and drop a class and someone will pick it up immediately. I have modified my schedule quite a few times now because I constantly check for what will work best for me. I hope you get lucky!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
first pageprev pagePage 416 of 419next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram