- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Score Board
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- SEC Score Board
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
Posted on 10/12/09 at 11:58 am to Golfer
quote:
So the rule is only applicable in short yardage situations when people jump? Funny, I missed that language in the book...
Once again, you completely miss the point.
Tell me again how Florida was guilty of illegal motion.
Posted on 10/12/09 at 11:59 am to Golfer
quote:
In fairness to 62, I wasn't really offended by any of his comments...
Well....nor should u be.
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:01 pm to LSUBlake8
quote:
Defensive much? I wanted an ANSWER....i spent 10 minutes watching you disrespect Golfer...act like a total azz.....and then ask you a question.
EVERY reply has been condescending.......
I've heard enough from you.....and don't feel the need to respond to you after this post.....that my friend, is validation.
Go spew your venom somewhere else.....I hope Golfer realizes the same.
Ask a question, or inform me that I'm "an azz"?
I have no venom.
C ya
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:05 pm to 62zip
quote:
Tell me again how Florida was guilty of illegal motion.
do we really need to quote the ruling again??
quote:
ARTICLE 4. a. If a snap is preceded by a huddle or shift, all players of the
offensive team must come to an absolute stop and remain stationary in their
positions, without movement of the feet, body, head or arms, for at least one
full second before the ball is snapped (A.R. 7-1-4-I) [S20].
Lets break it down:
- UF broke a huddle
- The center is a member of the "offensive team"
- Center makes what you have deemed a legal motion with his head, however, does not remain stationary for one full second before the ball is snapped.
- Penalty (S20): Illegal motion.
/thread.
This post was edited on 10/12/09 at 12:07 pm
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:13 pm to Golfer
so, if the center turns his head and the d jumps and makes contact prior to the one second then the penalty should be on the defense?
the only way the offense could be guilty of an infraction here would be if the center would snap the ball prior the one second elapsing after he turned his head.
is this correct.
the only way the offense could be guilty of an infraction here would be if the center would snap the ball prior the one second elapsing after he turned his head.
is this correct.
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:13 pm to Golfer
Honestly, if you think that was illegal motion, well then yeah, your right - thread over - because you don't get it and you will never get it.
Is that what they were penalized for in the third quarter? Illegal motion? Seriously?
Do you even know the definition of illegal motion, it sure doesn't seem that way, becuase none of what we have talked about for two days now is in any way related to "illegal motion."
But you scored an 85, right?
Is that what they were penalized for in the third quarter? Illegal motion? Seriously?
Do you even know the definition of illegal motion, it sure doesn't seem that way, becuase none of what we have talked about for two days now is in any way related to "illegal motion."
But you scored an 85, right?
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:14 pm to novabill
quote:
so, if the center turns his head and the d jumps and makes contact prior to the one second then the penalty should be on the defense?
the only way the offense could be guilty of an infraction here would be if the center would snap the ball prior the one second elapsing after he turned his head.
is this correct.
If that were the case, then you could never legally have a player go in motion.
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:22 pm to 62zip
quote:
Do you even know the definition of illegal motion, it sure doesn't seem that way, becuase none of what we have talked about for two days now is in any way related to "illegal motion."
Its in black and white in the post above. Since we can argue the semantics of the wording all day lets proceed further into section b of this ruling:
quote:
b. It is not intended that Rule 7-1-4-a should prohibit smooth, rhythmical
shifts if properly executed. A smooth cadence shift or unhurried motion
is not an infraction. However, it is the responsibility of an offensive
player who moves before the snap to do so in a manner that in no way
simulates the beginning of a play. After the ball is ready for play and
all players are in scrimmage formation, no offensive player shall make
a quick, jerky movement before the snap, including but not limited to
(A.R. 7-1-4-II-IV):
Okay, for the sake of this argument, lets say the motion was part of the cadence and thus legal...
Now the snapper and the other 10 offensive players are in a scrimmage formation...thus the following is applicable:
quote:
1. A lineman moving his foot, shoulder, arm, body or head in a quick,
jerky motion in any direction [S19].
2. The snapper shifting or moving the ball or moving his thumb or
fingers, flexing his elbows, jerking his head, or dipping his shoulders
or buttocks [S19].
If you deem the head movement to be "jerking" the penalty is (S19), false start.
quote:
Is that what they were penalized for in the third quarter? Illegal motion? Seriously?
Once again, you are assuming the officials are correct.
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:24 pm to 62zip
quote:
Think of it like a team that shifts prior to every play - as long as they are doing it all game long and it doesn't pull anyone off, you don't have a problem
So if LSU had jumped and initiated contact when the center moved his head, it would be a penalty on the center? Is this correct? Should the LSU coaches have told the players to make contact every time he moved his head?
I'm not trying to flame, but I don't understand this. Other "false starts" do not require that the defense cross the line of scrimmage.
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:24 pm to Golfer
quote:
Its in black and white in the post above. Since we can argue the semantics of the wording all day lets proceed further into section b of this ruling:
I'm asking you - what is the definition of illegal motion? You have no idea, do you? I'll give you a hint - it has nothing to do with down linemen.
quote:
Once again, you are assuming the officials are correct.
So, you're saying that 56 was guilty of illegal motion, but it was misreported as a false start?
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:26 pm to 62zip
quote:
I'm asking you - what is the definition of illegal motion?
I'm pretty good at reading...
quote:
I'll give you a hint - it has nothing to do with down linemen.
funny how they aren't excluding from this ruling...
This post was edited on 10/12/09 at 12:30 pm
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:29 pm to 62zip
quote:
So, you're saying that 56 was guilty of illegal motion, but it was misreported as a false start?
No, I'm simply stating that you are assuming the officials have always made the correct call.
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:30 pm to Golfer
I can see it's pointless to continue this discussion with you if you don't even know the difference between a false start, illegal motion and an illegal shift.
You just don't get it and you never will.
85? NFW.
You just don't get it and you never will.
85? NFW.
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:31 pm to 62zip
quote:
I can see it's pointless to continue this discussion with you if you don't even know the difference between a false start, illegal motion and an illegal shift.
Jesus, explain it then? I'm quoting the rulebook here verbatim...I'm interested to see how you can change what is stated in the rule book...if so, I'm wrong.
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:34 pm to Golfer
quote:
Jesus, explain it then? I'm quoting the rulebook here verbatim...I'm interested to see how you can change what is stated in the rule book...if so, I'm wrong
You claim to have scored an 85, you tell me.
Do you even know what constitutes a shift, legal or illegal?
You say you are fluent in rule - tell me - cuz you sure aren't being very convincing. There is more to the rulebook than one or two selected secctions, I would have expected that you would understand that.
I could pull 10 fanboys off the street and I bet at least 7-8 of them could correctly explain the difference between motion, a shift and false start, yet somehow you can't grasp it.
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:38 pm to 62zip
I thought the officials were wanting people to learn?? Has that changed since last night??
Apparently, I don't know...so explain it to me. Because I know if I do explain it, cite the ruling from the book, you're going to tell me "well thats not how we call it"...
So provide me with some insight. Seriously, I'm not being sarcastic.
Apparently, I don't know...so explain it to me. Because I know if I do explain it, cite the ruling from the book, you're going to tell me "well thats not how we call it"...
So provide me with some insight. Seriously, I'm not being sarcastic.
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:44 pm to Golfer
I'm not even sure where to start if you don't have that basic understanding - which kinda shocks me though since you "scored an 85" and know the rule book, but I'm not going to waste hours tracking down and citing all of the different rules that are involved here.
You just say the word and we can sit down over lunch one afternoon and I will be happy to lay the whole thing out for you and take you through all 3 topics so that you can get some sort of grasp of them, because this typing back and forth and your constantlly changing positions make this very difficult.
Prior to taking the test, did you attend the rules class?
ETA: I would like to see a cite from the rule book that gives some indication that what you are talking about regarding the center could ever be considered "illegal motion."
You just say the word and we can sit down over lunch one afternoon and I will be happy to lay the whole thing out for you and take you through all 3 topics so that you can get some sort of grasp of them, because this typing back and forth and your constantlly changing positions make this very difficult.
Prior to taking the test, did you attend the rules class?
ETA: I would like to see a cite from the rule book that gives some indication that what you are talking about regarding the center could ever be considered "illegal motion."
This post was edited on 10/12/09 at 12:45 pm
Posted on 10/12/09 at 12:54 pm to 62zip
quote:No I did not. I studied the book and took the test. I was going to try and make time that year to "casually officiate" but my schedule would simply not allow it. I was still in school at the time...this was 4+ years ago now.
Prior to taking the test, did you attend the rules class?
quote:
ETA: I would like to see a cite from the rule book that gives some indication that what you are talking about regarding the center could ever be considered "illegal motion."
Pages 98 and 99 of the 2009 NCAA rule book:
LINK
Popular
Back to top


1




