Started By
Message

re: How can college officials over 2 qtrs to throw a flag

Posted on 10/11/09 at 8:40 pm to
Posted by Golfer
Member since Nov 2005
75052 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 8:40 pm to
I didn't see much a delay...
Posted by rickyh
Positiger Nation
Member since Dec 2003
12971 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 8:41 pm to
Yes if you will notice when the second half starts the LSU tackle pops the center and the call was made. Give Chavis credit but he should have told one of the guys to pop him after the first time that it happened. The officials have no excuse. Those plays and the missed call on offensive pass interference were turning points in the game.
Posted by arrakis
Member since Nov 2008
21168 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:05 pm to
quote:

I didn't see much a delay...


I'm sorry you can't see the obvious. When he looked left the tackle didn't move.

AFTER he looked, the tackle jumped because he was trying to time the snap. If you watch the game video you can see the center had the same cadence to his look...and then the snap. It's a silent cadence and nothing new to the game.

This post was edited on 10/11/09 at 9:06 pm
Posted by arrakis
Member since Nov 2008
21168 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:14 pm to
HERE is another. The LSU defender is lined up in the neutral zone. The center is doing the same head look he does on every play and it has nothing to do with the foul.

Posted by Golfer
Member since Nov 2005
75052 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:18 pm to
quote:

The center is doing the same head look he does on every play and it has nothing to do with the foul.


The center looks left at 0:09 and then snaps at 0:10, that isn't a "delay"
Posted by WushuTiger
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2008
7641 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:21 pm to
quote:

On each play he looked left, delayed, and then snapped the ball.

He didn't delay, has to be a full second iirc and it was not.
Posted by Golfer
Member since Nov 2005
75052 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:23 pm to
Exactly.

Here's some screen shots, looking right:



Then looking left:


Then the snap in the same motion...notice 0:09 still on the clock



The move at 0:07 is perfectly legal, however, the look to the left JUST before snapping, is not. Funny how the DB is looking right at the center, then jumps when he moves his head to the left to simulate the snap.
This post was edited on 10/11/09 at 9:29 pm
Posted by arrakis
Member since Nov 2008
21168 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:31 pm to
quote:

He didn't delay, has to be a full second iirc and it was not.


That's hilarious.

A 1 second delay is required for a SHIFT.

As long as the center's mov't does not simulate the start of a play, it is not a foul. To LSU's credit for gamesmanship, they came out in the 2nd half with the intent to jump as soon as he moved his head to see if they could draw a FS. All FL did was change the silent cadence. Meyer covered all this during his pregame meeting with the officials.

From what I've seen so far, it's nothing more than whiny LSU fans trying to invent an issue.
Posted by arrakis
Member since Nov 2008
21168 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:33 pm to
quote:

The move at 0:07 is perfectly legal, however, the look to the left JUST before snapping, is not.

Please post the NCAA rule that substantiates your claim.
Posted by MasonTiger
Mason, Ohio
Member since Jan 2005
18379 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:33 pm to
quote:

They talked at the half and Chevis told Alexander to cream him immediately and point to the center.
My question is why in the hell hadn't Miles/Chavis coached these guys to do this anyway?
Posted by terd ferguson
Darren Wilson Fan Club President
Member since Aug 2007
113810 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:43 pm to
quote:

The move at 0:07 is perfectly legal, however, the look to the left JUST before snapping, is not.

Please post the NCAA rule that substantiates your claim.


OK...


After the ball is ready for play and all players are in scrimmage formation, no offensive player shall make a quick, jerky movement before the snap, including but not limited to (A.R. 7-1-4-II-IV):
1. A lineman moving his foot, shoulder, arm, body or head in a quick, jerky motion in any direction [S19].


2. The snapper shifting or moving the ball or moving his thumb or fingers, flexing his elbows, jerking his head, or dipping his shoulders or buttocks [S19].
Posted by Golfer
Member since Nov 2005
75052 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:43 pm to
Terd found the further ruling before I could get to that one...
This post was edited on 10/11/09 at 9:45 pm
Posted by terd ferguson
Darren Wilson Fan Club President
Member since Aug 2007
113810 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:47 pm to
I try to just lurk but when someone is arguing about shite and they have no clue... I already knew the rule but went and looked it up for exact wording.

If you don't have a clue about what you are talking about then maybe you should STFU and look into it before you go running your mouth.
Posted by Golfer
Member since Nov 2005
75052 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:49 pm to
quote:

If you don't have a clue about what you are talking about then maybe you should STFU and look into it before you go running your mouth.


Huh? I knew what the rule was...

Posted by LSUSUPERSTAR
TX
Member since Jan 2005
16821 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:50 pm to
Just like on the Poli board, he just got pwnd and won't be back.
Posted by terd ferguson
Darren Wilson Fan Club President
Member since Aug 2007
113810 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:51 pm to
quote:

Huh? I knew what the rule was...


Not you... arrakis
Posted by Golfer
Member since Nov 2005
75052 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:52 pm to
Ah, my bad...you replied to me...

Yea, he won't be back...

The head bob with the snap was garbage...even if Meyer talked with the officials about it before the game. It still has to be legal...
Posted by ForeLSU
The Corner of Sanity and Madness
Member since Sep 2003
41525 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:53 pm to
quote:

the officials were keened in on the offsides more than the offensive pass interference for sure...


all I could think about during that drive was Denzel in "Remember the Titans" telling the ref repeatedly..."He's lined up offsides!!!"
Posted by arrakis
Member since Nov 2008
21168 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:58 pm to
quote:

(b) A shift or movement that simulates the beginning of a play.
This includes the snapper who, after assuming a position for the succeeding snap and touching or simulating (hand[s] at or below his knees) touching the ball, moves to another position.


Using what you've posted:
Did the snapper move to a new position after addressing the ball? Even you have to agree he didn't do that, so, let's move on.

What movement by the snapper simulated the beginning of a play?

Snappers move their feet at the snap....did he move them prematurely?
Snappers move their arms at the snap....did he move them prematurely?
Snappers move their heads up at the snap....did he move his head upward prematurely?

All are movements common to the position at the beginning of a play. A look to the left is not. A look to the right is not.
Posted by LSUthrilla
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2008
2099 posts
Posted on 10/11/09 at 9:59 pm to
arrakis will argue with anybody on CFB ruling... There was huge thread at the beginning of the season where he was doing the same BS.... Its his MO
Jump to page
Page 1 2 3 4 5 ... 14
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 2 of 14Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram