- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: 3 yrs later, we all agree it wasn't pass interference...
Posted on 10/21/09 at 7:22 pm to Chimlim
Posted on 10/21/09 at 7:22 pm to Chimlim
In all honesty, yes it takes away from it a little bit, but not a lot (LSU would never admit the game winning drive could have been ended on 4th down in '07 if not for a spot or that it in any way diminished the game in an LSU fans mind).
But it was an incredible game that should be appreciated for being one of the greatest physical slugfests ever played too. Not the bitchfest some rantards have turned it into.
But it was an incredible game that should be appreciated for being one of the greatest physical slugfests ever played too. Not the bitchfest some rantards have turned it into.
Posted on 10/21/09 at 7:24 pm to xiv
quote:
There was another Auburn defender in the path of the ball. It was his, and not Doucet's, to catch. Defensive holding would have been an acceptable call, but there was no pass interference. NC_Tigah can post that picture all he wants, but he has no picture of a pass interference.
Dude, seriously? Are you still fighting this dumbass battle with the same ridiculous logic?
Answer the following questions:
If a DB holds an eligible receiver down to the ground, once the ball is in the air, but someone else comes in to bat the ball away, you would say that's not a penalty?
OR
If a DB tackles an eligible receiver, while the ball is in the air, but someone else comes in to bat the ball away, you would say that's not a penalty?
OR
If a DB holds the arms of an eligible receiver, while the ball is in the air, but someone else comes in to bat the ball away, you would say that's not a penalty?
Ladies and gentlemen, we have here in our midst, the blind referee from the LSU-Auburn game from 2006. You are truly a dumbass.
Posted on 10/21/09 at 7:28 pm to DrEdgeLSU
You guys are a pitiful bunch.
Pitiful and laughable. Guess I should just pity some of you on this thread for all the
after 3 years.
Pitiful and laughable. Guess I should just pity some of you on this thread for all the
Posted on 10/21/09 at 7:32 pm to DrEdgeLSU
BTW, you are the dumbass and not paying attention. XIV has stated MANY MANY MANY times that it could/should have been a penalty, but the correct call was not PI.
Like I said, looks like YOU are the dumbass here.
Like I said, looks like YOU are the dumbass here.
Posted on 10/21/09 at 7:43 pm to Tiger n Miami AU83
Again Tiger in Miami, why was PI called by LSU in the exact same scenario earlier in the game? The only difference was LSU actually intercepted it? PI was called and LSU lost the pick. That is the bigger issue here.
The game is over, but clarifying some of the BS brought on here by Auburn fans is ridiculous. To compare a 3rd down spot (1 play still to get the 6 inches) versus a 4th down play where a penalty was overturned by review? Big difference?
Now, in the the end, Auburn won. LSU lost that game because of more than the refs. They lost it because of their own playcalling and screwups. Hester holds onto the ball, then there is no need for the review. JR throws a better pass the PI doesn't happen.
It's on LSU, but still being upset about the officiating isn't invalid.
The game is over, but clarifying some of the BS brought on here by Auburn fans is ridiculous. To compare a 3rd down spot (1 play still to get the 6 inches) versus a 4th down play where a penalty was overturned by review? Big difference?
Now, in the the end, Auburn won. LSU lost that game because of more than the refs. They lost it because of their own playcalling and screwups. Hester holds onto the ball, then there is no need for the review. JR throws a better pass the PI doesn't happen.
It's on LSU, but still being upset about the officiating isn't invalid.
Posted on 10/21/09 at 7:46 pm to Tiger n Miami AU83
Ummmmmm, ok. Who kicked your dog, chief?
I am not whining - just arguing that the rules for PI don't allow for the type of interpretation xiv suggests they do. PI can happen anytime the ball is in the air; it is not contingent upon the ball hitting the receiver or anything. It is contingent on the receiver having a fair opportunity to make a play for the ball. It is not contingent on whether the ref thinks the receiver is going to catch it; instead it is contingent on whether or not the ball is catchable. Regardless, as you can see from the pics, holding someones arms is clearly interfering with their opportunity to make a play on the ball.
I am not whining - just arguing that the rules for PI don't allow for the type of interpretation xiv suggests they do. PI can happen anytime the ball is in the air; it is not contingent upon the ball hitting the receiver or anything. It is contingent on the receiver having a fair opportunity to make a play for the ball. It is not contingent on whether the ref thinks the receiver is going to catch it; instead it is contingent on whether or not the ball is catchable. Regardless, as you can see from the pics, holding someones arms is clearly interfering with their opportunity to make a play on the ball.
Posted on 10/21/09 at 7:48 pm to GeauxBob
It is not invalid to an extent and primarily three years ago. Yes we got the benifit of more calls in 2006 than you did in 2007. But the level of bitching (even now) about it is ABSOLUTELY fricking LAUGHABLE.
Beyond that I am not rehashing and arguing a bunch of tired ole shite 3 years later when LSU fans proved to me here on the rant 2 years ago how ridiculous and asinine they can be.
Beyond that I am not rehashing and arguing a bunch of tired ole shite 3 years later when LSU fans proved to me here on the rant 2 years ago how ridiculous and asinine they can be.
Posted on 10/21/09 at 7:52 pm to DrEdgeLSU
quote:
Ummmmmm, ok. Who kicked your dog, chief?
Alright, I am going to give it a rest. Like I said, I am not argueing or rehashing the specifics of this shite again. Especially after it has been worn out so much.
I will however call you guys out for CONTINUING to bitch about it 3 years later. Then I see you guys being hypocrits to UGA, and everyone else when the shoe is on the other foot and not accepting their were bad calls in the 2007 AU game in LSU's favor. Several of them, not just the spot and all in LSU's favor.
For being so whiny and being hypocrits, you get called out when it is justified as it is here. Period.
Posted on 10/21/09 at 8:15 pm to Tiger n Miami AU83
I'd like to point out xiv brought it up. But I love rules discussions. So screw it. I’ll post the rules
RULE 9 of the NCAA rules covers player conduct
SECTION 1 is interference fouls
ARTICLE 2-f
“No player shall tackle or run into a receiver when a forward pass to him obviously is not catchable. This is a personal foul and not pass interference.”
ARTICLE 4-b
“Defensive players may not use hands and arms to tackle, hold or otherwise illegally obstruct an opponent other than a runner.”
ARTICLE 4-d
“e. When a legal forward pass crosses the neutral zone during a forward pass play and a contact foul that is not pass interference is committed, the enforcement spot is the previous spot. This includes Rule 9-3-4-c
(A.R. 7-3-9-II and A.R. 9-3-4-I and II).”
But that’s all prelude to the PI rule, found in RULE 7, SECTION 3 concerning passing. I’ll just post the whole thing:
ETA my two cents: PI can be called unless tipped. Which it was not. So xiv's argument hinges that the ball was "obviously" not catchable. But, if that is true, Rule 9-1-2-f should apply as a defender was tackling a receiver on an obviously uncatchable ball. That is a personal foul. I think this is the incorrect reading, as the ball was catchable (all he had to do was extend his arms) and the ball had not been tipped to waive off PI.
RULE 9 of the NCAA rules covers player conduct
SECTION 1 is interference fouls
ARTICLE 2-f
“No player shall tackle or run into a receiver when a forward pass to him obviously is not catchable. This is a personal foul and not pass interference.”
ARTICLE 4-b
“Defensive players may not use hands and arms to tackle, hold or otherwise illegally obstruct an opponent other than a runner.”
ARTICLE 4-d
“e. When a legal forward pass crosses the neutral zone during a forward pass play and a contact foul that is not pass interference is committed, the enforcement spot is the previous spot. This includes Rule 9-3-4-c
(A.R. 7-3-9-II and A.R. 9-3-4-I and II).”
But that’s all prelude to the PI rule, found in RULE 7, SECTION 3 concerning passing. I’ll just post the whole thing:
quote:
ARTICLE 8
a. During a down in which a legal forward pass crosses the neutral zone, illegal contact by Team A and Team B players is prohibited from the time the ball is snapped until it is touched by any player or an official (A.R. 7-3-8-II and III).
…
c. Defensive pass interference is contact beyond the neutral zone by a Team B player whose intent to impede an eligible opponent is obvious and it could prevent the opponent the opportunity of receiving a catchable forward pass. When in question, a legal forward pass is catchable. (emphasis mine)
Defensive pass interference occurs only after a legal forward pass is thrown. It is not defensive pass interference (A.R. 7-3-8-I, IV, V, IX-XI, XIV and XV):
1. When, after the snap, opposing players immediately charge and establish contact with opponents at a point that is within one yard beyond the neutral zone.
2. When two or more eligible players are making a simultaneous and bona fide attempt to reach, catch or bat the pass. Eligible players of either team have equal rights to the ball (A.R. 7-3-8-XII).
3. When a Team B player legally contacts an opponent before the pass is thrown (A.R. 7-3-8-XIII).
4. When a Team A potential kicker, from scrimmage kick formation, simulates a scrimmage kick by throwing the ball high and deep, and contact by a Team B player occurs.
ETA my two cents: PI can be called unless tipped. Which it was not. So xiv's argument hinges that the ball was "obviously" not catchable. But, if that is true, Rule 9-1-2-f should apply as a defender was tackling a receiver on an obviously uncatchable ball. That is a personal foul. I think this is the incorrect reading, as the ball was catchable (all he had to do was extend his arms) and the ball had not been tipped to waive off PI.
This post was edited on 10/21/09 at 8:19 pm
Posted on 10/21/09 at 8:19 pm to Tiger n Miami AU83
quote:OK. I've let your BS posts pass several times like bad Egyptian food through an unsuspecting system. Now it's time to call the bluff! 2003, 2007 National Champs! Any questions you insignificant pissant?
For being so whiny and being hypocrits, you get called out when it is justified as it is here
Any Questions?
Not about 2003 or 2007,
but about you being a pissant?
There is National Consensus that 09/19/2006 represents the dark point in Collegiate Football Refereeing. LSU and OU were both screwed that day. It cost LSU a run at what would have been its 3rd MNC in 4 yrs. Pathetic!
Pathetic.
Not because of what it cost LSU, but because of what it cost Auburn.
You simply suck.
You are not even the best program in your own state!
That must suck!
Posted on 10/21/09 at 8:26 pm to NC_Tigah
Stupid weak arse post. Not even relevant to the thread.
You lose again and that was a massive pitiful failure. You should quit posting now if you are too stupid to even discuss a subject without pulling out irrelevant extemporaneous bullshite.
You lose again and that was a massive pitiful failure. You should quit posting now if you are too stupid to even discuss a subject without pulling out irrelevant extemporaneous bullshite.
Posted on 10/21/09 at 8:30 pm to Tiger n Miami AU83
Guys...you're speaking to Auburn students - you need to use smaller words.
Posted on 10/21/09 at 8:30 pm to Tiger n Miami AU83
Yet you ignore me posting the friggin rule showing that NC's intepretation was correct? What's up with that?
Posted on 10/21/09 at 8:35 pm to Baloo
I haven't really cared for a rule discussion since it has been done so many times. I will point out one thing after you were so diligent as to post the relevant rules....
The ball was batted in what pretty much amounts to a simultaneous attempt to make a play on it. Now you can say the AU defender contacted the LSU player a fraction of a second sooner and I can say it was practically a simultaneous attempt to make a play on the ball. Had the AU player not touched the LSU player, Brock still would have batted the ball away as Doucet was still three yards downfield from the ball jumping vertically to prepare to catch the ball against his chest/stomach. He was not in the process of jumping 3 yards forward and extending his arms in which case Brock still may have batted it away (even though that was never his trajectory regardless of the other AU defender).
There, that is the only thing I will say about the rules and specifics because:
1. It has been rehashed too much already.
2. It is WAYYYYY to close of a call with questions to bitch about and it is pathetic that LSU has bitched so long and hard about it in the first place.
quote:
It is not defensive pass interference
quote:
2. When two or more eligible players are making a simultaneous and bona fide attempt to reach, catch or bat the pass. Eligible players of either team have equal rights to the ball (A.R. 7-3-8-XII).
The ball was batted in what pretty much amounts to a simultaneous attempt to make a play on it. Now you can say the AU defender contacted the LSU player a fraction of a second sooner and I can say it was practically a simultaneous attempt to make a play on the ball. Had the AU player not touched the LSU player, Brock still would have batted the ball away as Doucet was still three yards downfield from the ball jumping vertically to prepare to catch the ball against his chest/stomach. He was not in the process of jumping 3 yards forward and extending his arms in which case Brock still may have batted it away (even though that was never his trajectory regardless of the other AU defender).
There, that is the only thing I will say about the rules and specifics because:
1. It has been rehashed too much already.
2. It is WAYYYYY to close of a call with questions to bitch about and it is pathetic that LSU has bitched so long and hard about it in the first place.
Posted on 10/21/09 at 8:36 pm to Baloo
Was getting to it. Your post required more time. The other guy was just an idiot that wasn't worthy of much.
Posted on 10/21/09 at 8:49 pm to Tiger n Miami AU83
quote:
Stupid weak arse post. Not even relevant to the thread.
You lose again and that was a massive pitiful failure. You should quit posting now if you are too stupid to even discuss a subject without pulling out irrelevant extemporaneous bullshite.
Let me guess:
IQ of 68?
No?
Then subsequent to your imbecilic post; prove it.
Posted on 10/21/09 at 8:57 pm to NC_Tigah
Dude, you are a joke and not very bright apparently.
Now go away or back to your poli board or whatever...
Now go away or back to your poli board or whatever...
Posted on 10/21/09 at 9:08 pm to Tiger n Miami AU83
Your interpretation of the rules would make sense if the defender that initiated contact with the receiver was making a play on the ball at all. Instead, he is wrapping the receivers arms up before the ball arrived. Otherwise, outside of that massive fail, continue on.
Posted on 10/21/09 at 9:24 pm to DrEdgeLSU
quote:
two or more eligible players
You do not seem that bright either. Maybe I gave you too much credit?
Posted on 10/21/09 at 9:42 pm to Tiger n Miami AU83
So, just so we are clear, your interpretation of the clearly stated rules posted above is that as long as one defender is playing the ball, another defender can come in and nail the eligible receiver whenever he wants, because two or more eligible players can make a play for the ball.
Again, in this case, as it is painfully obvious to anyone who is a) not comatose or b) not legally blind, the player who is interfering with the receiver is NOT making a play at the ball. So, while you might interpret the rules differently, your biggest problem is that your interpretation is wildly inconsistent with that of most intelligent individuals (in dumbed-down language, I am basically saying you are dumb).
Again, in this case, as it is painfully obvious to anyone who is a) not comatose or b) not legally blind, the player who is interfering with the receiver is NOT making a play at the ball. So, while you might interpret the rules differently, your biggest problem is that your interpretation is wildly inconsistent with that of most intelligent individuals (in dumbed-down language, I am basically saying you are dumb).
Popular
Back to top


0




