Page 1
Page 1
Started By
Message
locked post

Overturned call

Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:30 pm
Posted by LsuSaintsCub57
Member since Mar 2025
162 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:30 pm
Say he catches it on the 2O takes 3 stes and the ball moves during the tackle thats 1OO% a catch once a football move is made the survive the ground rule isn't in olay. Thats not my opinion its a fact
Posted by holdem Tiger
Member since Oct 2007
1218 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:37 pm to
Well he only took 2 steps, so pretty silly comparison. And the second was out of bounds.

Does the matter? It shouldn’t to me, but I don’t know. We need an official explanation.
Posted by Tiger1988
Houston
Member since May 2016
29488 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:45 pm to
quote:

only took 2 steps
no it isn’t. The second step was in the end zone. The first step after the catch IS the football move.
Posted by holdem Tiger
Member since Oct 2007
1218 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:52 pm to
I’ve been watching football for a long time. I’ve never heard one step being enough for a football move
Posted by moneyg
Member since Jun 2006
61636 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:53 pm to
quote:

no it isn’t. The second step was in the end zone. The first step after the catch IS the football move


No

quote:

What is a catch in college football? A guide to how the NCAA ...In college football (NCAA), to make a legal catch, a player must secure firm control of a live ball in flight before it touches the ground, get one foot down inbounds, and then perform a "football move" such as a step, a third step, or an attempt to advance. If the player goes to the ground, they must maintain continuous control of the ball. Losing control of the ball and it touching the ground before control is regained results in an incomplete pass.


The player has to take 3 steps

Or

get 1 foot down in bounds and survive the ground

Or get 1 foot down and perform a football move. A football move is stretching the ball, turning your body to run, etc.

ETA I though he never lost control of the ball.


This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 1:54 pm
Posted by Rjlebla
Houma
Member since Jan 2014
19570 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:03 pm to
My only gripe, as I said last night during the game and like many have pointed out today, if Bauer’s “catch” was a fumble and not an incomplete pass, then Brown’s catch should have been ruled a touchdown. Both held on to the ball for about the same amount of time, with the same amount of steps before losing control. You cannot reward one with a catch and not the other.
Posted by Tiger1988
Houston
Member since May 2016
29488 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:43 pm to
The play is over once he possesses the ball in the freaking field of play and then move to the end zone. Jt says a “step or a third step”. A step is a move. He did that in the end zone. His right foot was clearly in the end zone field of play. Once that other foot was down the play was OVER
That is a catch.
THAT IS A TD
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 4:46 pm
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 1Next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram