Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports
San Antonio Spurs small forward Kawhi Leonard was named the 2014-15 NBA Defensive Player of the Year on Thursday.

Leonard won the award over Warriors forward Draymond Green, Clippers center DeAndre Jordan, and Pelicans forward Anthony Davis. Per ESPN:

Injuries limited Leonard to just 64 games this season. But he still made an enormous impact, especially on defense. He helped the Spurs finish third in defensive rating with 99.6 points allowed per 100 possessions during the regular season. When he was on the floor, the Spurs allowed just 97.1 points per 100 possessions, a number that jumped to 102.2 when he wasn't playing.
The last Spurs player to win the award was David Robinson during the 1991-92 season.
Filed Under: NBA
user avatar
TbirdSpur2010110 months
Go Spurs Go
user avatar
Go Spurs Go!!
Popular Stories
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.