Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports
LSU long snapper Blake Ferguson will represent the Tigers on the Southeastern Conference Football Leadership Council. Per

LSU ATHLETIC COMMUNICATIONS - For Immediate Release - February 2, 2018


BATON ROUGE -- Long snapper Blake Ferguson has been named LSU’s representative on the Southeastern Conference Football Leadership Council, the league office announced on Friday.

Now in its second year of existence, the SEC Football Leadership Council consists of one representative from each of the SEC’s 14 institutions. The group is meeting this weekend at the league office in Birmingham.

Ferguson replaces quarterback Danny Etling on the council for LSU. Etling was part of the initial SEC Football Leadership Council and served as vice-chair of the group.

Ferguson is a two-year starter at long snapper for the Tigers, where he’s helped the Tigers to a 17-8 overall mark and back-to-back appearances in the Citrus Bowl.

“I’m excited and honored to be part of the SEC Leadership Council,” Ferguson said. “It’s an honor to represent my team and LSU in this capacity.

“To be seen as a leader amongst my teammates and coaches has always been a point of emphasis for me and it makes me proud to know that people see me as leader on and off the field.”

The Football Leadership Council is one of three components of the SEC Student-Athlete Leadership Council. The other two consist of representatives on the Men's and Women's Basketball Leadership Councils.

SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey introduced new Student-Athlete Leadership Councils in 2016 for the sports of football and men’s and women’s basketball which, in addition to the conference’s longstanding Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC), provide student-athletes with additional opportunities to engage with campus leaders and conference office staff. The councils serve as a conduit of communication to the conference office on issues related to student-athlete experience and student-athlete wellness.

Among the agenda items for the group this weekend is a review of NCAA and SEC legislative items, open discussion on topics submitted by members of the Council, and engagement with football officials on rules of the game and student-athlete/referee interaction. Marcus Spears, SEC Network analyst and former SEC football student-athlete, will also meet with the group to discuss leadership and career development.

Recent legislation passed by representatives from Autonomy Conferences that increased the allowance provided to student-athletes who serve as hosts for visiting recruits was initially proposed by the SEC Football Student-Athlete Leadership Council last year.

Joining Ferguson on the SEC Football Leadership Council are: Josh Casher (Alabama), T.J. Smith (Arkansas), Derrick Brown (Auburn); Jeremiah Moon (Florida), Charlie Woerner (Georgia), Jordan Griffin (Kentucky), Javon Patterson (Ole Miss), Gerri Green (Mississippi State), Damarea Crockett (Missouri), Bryson Allen-Williams (South Carolina), Micah Abernathy (Tennessee), Braden Mann (Texas A&M), Khari Blasingame (Vanderbilt), and Brandon Lee (Missouri - Autonomy Representative).
Filed Under: LSU Football


user avatar
Sounds like a loe blow to me for ethling! He saved our season sooo... Wow speak about credit where credit is due!!!
Reply70 months
user avatar
How so? Etling graduated man. Had to promote someone else.
70 months
Popular Stories