Stephen Lew-USA TODAY Sports
LSU freshman Cam Thomas was among the Top 10 candidates for the 2021 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award, announced by The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Tuesday. Per

Thomas is the Southeastern Conference leader in scoring at 21.7 points per game and has nine games of 20 points or more which is the most by a Division I freshman. He was the first SEC player over the last 25 seasons to score 15 or more in the first seven games of his career. Thomas set an LSU school record earlier in the year with 42 consecutive made free throws. He leads the league in free throw percentage at 88.2 percent (90-of-102).

In late February, five finalists will be presented to Mr. West and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. The winner of the 2021 Jerry West Award will be presented April 9, 2021, along with the other four members of the Men's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women's Starting Five. College basketball fans can support their favorite players by participating in Fan Voting presented by Dell.

Previous winners of the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award include Myles Powell, Seton Hall (2020), RJ Barrett, Duke (2019), Carsen Edwards, Purdue (2018), Malik Monk, Kentucky (2017), Buddy Hield, Oklahoma (2016) and D'Angelo Russell, Ohio State (2015).
Filed Under: LSU Basketball


user avatar
Well deserved
Reply32 months
Popular Stories