LSU Sports Photography
FORT WORTH, Texas - The Bobby Bragan National Collegiate Slugger Award (BBNCSA) presented by SR Bats has announced that Dylan Crews from LSU has won the 2023 award as the nation’s top college baseball hitter. Crews will be honored at a gala in the fall in Fort Worth.

The BBNCSA, created by the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation, was open to nominations from all Division I baseball programs in the country. The award is based on performance at the plate, academics, and personal integrity.

Crews, a junior from Longwood, Florida, has a .434 batting average (3rd in the nation) with 17 home runs and 67 RBI in leading LSU to a College World Series berth. In addition, the LSU outfielder’s overall game has made him a strong candidate to be the No. 1 pick in the upcoming MLB Draft after being named the SEC Player of the Year this season.

"I would first like to recognize the Bobby Bragan National Collegiate Slugger Award Selection Committee for the work they did this season," said Tracy Taylor, Executive Director of the Bobby Bragan National Collegiate Slugger Award and the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation.

"This was the deepest and most talented group of players we have seen in the history of the award. It was a very close race. I think the Selection Committee did a great job in selecting Dylan Crews of LSU as the winner of the 2023 Bobby Bragan National Collegiate Slugger Award presented by SR Bats. Dylan hit over .430 with an on base percentage of .576 and a 1.310 OPS in the toughest league in college baseball. He was the SEC Player of the Year and a consensus All America.

"But that is not the whole story of this student-athlete. Dylan is also on the SEC Community Service Team as well as being an excellent student. He has been recognized for his work with families with physical and mental disabilities in Baton Rouge and with Team Of Dreams in the area. Dylan Crews is a great example of what the Bobby Bragan National Collegiate Slugger Award is all about."

The BBNCSA originally started out in 2017 as an honor going to the top college hitter in Texas. In 2019, the BBNCSA expanded becoming a regional award covering Division I programs in Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico and Oklahoma. The BBNCSA became a national award in 2020; however, no winner was announced due to the COVID-19 virus which cut the 2020 college baseball season short.

Texas Tech’s Hunter Hargrove won the initial BBNCSA in 2017. Dallas Baptist’s Devlin Granberg took home the honor in 2018 with Texas Tech’s Josh Jung winning the award in 2019. Connor Norby from East Carolina University won the BBNCSA in 2021. Last year’s winner was Ivan Melendez from the University of Texas.

Fans can follow news about the Bobby Bragan National Collegiate Slugger Award presented by SR Bats at

(Release via LSU Athletics)
Filed Under: LSU Baseball
user avatar
creamofcornsoup13 months
Well deserved
user avatar
saturncube2113 months
Congrats young man
user avatar
theBru13 months
What an awesome young man! Hope to see you in the show, soon!
user avatar
DeafVallyBatnR13 months
Scenes wasn't eligible for this one.
Golden Spikes is the one I want Crews to get.
user avatar
DeafVallyBatnR13 months
user avatar
YMCA13 months
If Crews and Skenes sweep the awards and LSU wins it all, this would be 2019 all over again.
user avatar
cypresstiger13 months
I didn’t know Bobby Bragan so I looked up his bio. Wow—major honor to be picked by an association named for him
user avatar
cajunmud13 months
Like Trump said during the 2019 champs visit to the White House, "this guy is gonna be so rich."
user avatar
CDawson13 months
576 OBP is simply stupid for this level of baseball.
Popular Stories
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.