Started By
Message

re: Big 10 refs are the worst in CFB

Posted on 11/29/25 at 12:56 pm to
Posted by RobbBobb
Member since Feb 2007
33365 posts
Posted on 11/29/25 at 12:56 pm to
quote:

Oh got comped a TD. Dude didn’t possess the ball when he crossed the goal line and stepped out of bounds when he did gain control.

So this isnt a TD?? His body makes no contact within the EZ. Only the ball


Posted by Riseupfromtherubble
You'll Never Walk Alone
Member since Jun 2011
39586 posts
Posted on 11/29/25 at 1:07 pm to
quote:

Big 10 refs are the worst in CFB


Posted by NOLALGD
Member since May 2014
2693 posts
Posted on 11/29/25 at 1:09 pm to
In your picture this player has clearly made a football move at some point and HAS CLEAR POSESSION OF THE FOOTBALL while breaking the plane.

Smith didn't break the plane WITH CLEAR POSESSION OF THE FOOTBALL. It wasn't a bobble (pretty sure this term doesn't exist in the rule book), it was a fumble, before crossing the plane. He regained possession of the football when his foot was out, therefore he fumbled into the end zone and did not regain possession in bounds in the endzone, therefore by rule a touchback.
Posted by GruntbyAssociation
Member since Jul 2013
8571 posts
Posted on 11/29/25 at 1:22 pm to
He has control of the ball
Posted by RobbBobb
Member since Feb 2007
33365 posts
Posted on 11/29/25 at 1:54 pm to
Possession was established with the ball being held by the runner, who will land out of bounds, after the plane was crossed. TD

Once that occurs, it doesnt matter where his foot lands. Being in the EZ, with possession, ends the play. He doesnt have to maintain the "catch" at all, because the catch has already been established. Hes now a runner until he steps out of bounds. Which he does, after he crossed the plane. Just like Josh Allen did

Posted by TG
Metairie
Member since Sep 2004
3232 posts
Posted on 11/29/25 at 2:39 pm to
I know you haven't watched any SEC games in your lifetime. Especially Alabama games.
Posted by NOLALGD
Member since May 2014
2693 posts
Posted on 11/29/25 at 2:39 pm to
In the Ohio State game the catch was made and over, the WR was a runner who lost possession (fumbled) the ball before crossing the plane of the endzone. If you fumble before crossing the plane you have fully reposes the ball in the endzone AND in-bounds. WR did one, not both.

By the way the officiating expert and every commentator agreed it should have been a touchback.

Last, to the photo you posted the player had possession of the ball and crossed the plane. Again, the Ohio State receiver did not cross the plane of the endzone with possession of the football.
first pageprev pagePage 2 of 2Next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram