Started By
Message

re: The Onside Kick

Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:12 pm to
Posted by Golfer
Member since Nov 2005
75052 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:12 pm to
This rule applies to anything beyond 10 yards. How many times does this have to be explained?!?!
Posted by PlanoPrivateer
Frisco, TX
Member since Jan 2004
2928 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:13 pm to
Wrong,wrong, wrong - the free kick must go 10 yards and touch the ground (doesn't matter in which order) or touch a team B (recieving team) player. The ball did not go 10 yards before a NC player contacted the LSU player nor did the ball touch a LSU player before the LSU player was hit.
Posted by tigernchicago
Alabama
Member since Sep 2003
5075 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:17 pm to
quote:

This rule applies to anything beyond 10 yards. How many times does this have to be explained?!?!


Agreed. Its beyond belief the number of people that do not take the time to read the rules.

According to the rules, Blue was blocked into the ball which by definition, not only awards LSU position at that spot, it essentially makes Blue touching the ball "not a touch".
Posted by OneMoreTime
Florida Gulf Coast Fan
Member since Dec 2008
61860 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:18 pm to
lol how about you read it again brah.
quote:

ARTICLE 1. A player of the receiving team within the boundary lines attempting
to catch a kick, and so located that he could have caught a free kick or a scrimmage
kick that is beyond the neutral zone, must be given an unimpeded opportunity to
catch the kick (A.R. 6-3-1-III, A.R. 6-4-1-V and A.R. 6-4-1-X).

This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player
of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any
player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone (Rule
6-5-1-a) (A.R. 6-4-1-IV).

See. If the ball touches the ground, the kicking team can block them. It says nothing about the ball having to be past 10 yards after hitting the ground.
Posted by tigernchicago
Alabama
Member since Sep 2003
5075 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:19 pm to
If you are unwilling to read and comprehend, I nor anyone else can help you.

I CANNOT FIX STUPID.

You are now on your own.
Posted by mgdtiger
Member since May 2006
3264 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:20 pm to
2 notes, notice article one states the neutral zone.
also this rule does not kill the other rule. Otherwise you are saying it is not illegal for the UNC players to touch the ball before 10 yards.
Posted by OneMoreTime
Florida Gulf Coast Fan
Member since Dec 2008
61860 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:21 pm to
Really? What am I not comprehending. Please show me. It's saying that the whole protection is terminated when the ball touches the ground.
Posted by OneMoreTime
Florida Gulf Coast Fan
Member since Dec 2008
61860 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:22 pm to
quote:

2 notes, notice article one states the neutral zone.

I do realize that. Notice it says nothing about the ball having to be past the neutral zone for the protection to be terminated if it hits the ground.
quote:

also this rule does not kill the other rule. Otherwise you are saying it is not illegal for the UNC players to touch the ball before 10 yards.
Sorry. I forgot to add the first part of the rule
quote:

SECTION 4. Opportunity To Catch a Kick
Interference With Opportunity


I said nothing about UNC being able to field the ball before 10 yards without us touching it.
This post was edited on 9/5/10 at 4:24 pm
Posted by chunk
UNDER YOUR BED
Member since Jan 2007
5126 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:23 pm to
Posted by tigernchicago
Alabama
Member since Sep 2003
5075 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:29 pm to
The kicking team cannot touch the ball or contact a receiving team's player until they are eligible to touche the ball.

For a kicking tema's player to be eligible to touch the ball:

the ball must have travelled past the neutral zone (10 yards) and hit the ground.

the point of contact happend about 8.5 yards from the point of the kick.

Do you know comprehend?

If you do not, please read pages FR-86 and FR-87.
Posted by lukestar
Parts unknown
Member since Dec 2004
3524 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:30 pm to
quote:

Didnt impact game


That's a stupid statement...
Posted by BenDover
Member since Jul 2010
5548 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:35 pm to
quote:

Please submit to a remedial reading course. If you have read the rules and beleive this, your reading comprehension is horrible.

hypocrite
Posted by OneMoreTime
Florida Gulf Coast Fan
Member since Dec 2008
61860 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:37 pm to
quote:

The kicking team cannot touch the ball or contact a receiving team's player until they are eligible to touche the ball.

For a kicking tema's player to be eligible to touch the ball:

the ball must have travelled past the neutral zone (10 yards) and hit the ground.

the point of contact happend about 8.5 yards from the point of the kick.

Do you know comprehend?

If you do not, please read pages FR-86 and FR-87.
Please proofread what you type before you hit submit because that's hard as hell to read. But yea you're right I was reading the wrong part of the rules. I missed this
quote:

No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a
free-kicked ball [S19].


And please don't question anyone else's intelligence while typing like a 2 year old. It's just sad.
Posted by vjp819
South Sec. 414 / Alex Box Sec. 210
Member since Nov 2003
10882 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:42 pm to
i fully agree with you and i'd like to add as far as the ball touching the ground before it clears the 10 yd neutral zone, that most onside kicks touch the ground within 3 yds of the kicking tee, because many times they are kicked at the top side of the ball. so balls touching the ground inside the 10 yrd. neutral zone is mute. it has to touch beyond that or touch a player beyond 10 yds.
Posted by tigernchicago
Alabama
Member since Sep 2003
5075 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:47 pm to
quote:

And please don't question anyone else's intelligence while typing like a 2 year old. It's just sad.


I have read at least 3 topics since the game last night in which you or other's like you have repeatedly shown you ingorance about the rules of football. And you ask me to proofread my posts.

Maybe you should vbe sure you know what you are discussing before proving yourself to be foolish.

Thank you for proving to me that:


I CANNOT FIX STUPID.
Posted by tigernchicago
Alabama
Member since Sep 2003
5075 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 4:49 pm to
quote:

i fully agree with you and i'd like to add as far as the ball touching the ground before it clears the 10 yd neutral zone, that most onside kicks touch the ground within 3 yds of the kicking tee, because many times they are kicked at the top side of the ball. so balls touching the ground inside the 10 yrd. neutral zone is mute. it has to touch beyond that or touch a player beyond 10 yds.


True. However my kicking the ball into the ground, I think that the receiving team CANNOT call for a fair catch.
Posted by OneMoreTime
Florida Gulf Coast Fan
Member since Dec 2008
61860 posts
Posted on 9/5/10 at 5:01 pm to
quote:

I CANNOT FIX STUPID.

I can tell. You haven't done much to fix your stupidity throughout your life.
first pageprev pagePage 2 of 2Next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram