The SEC coaches have voted Trent Johnson as the Coach of the Year. They also named Marcus Thornton as Player of the Year. Thornton averaged 20.9 ppg. Both Thornton and Tasmin Mitchell were named to the First Team All-SEC team. Garrett Temple made the Second Team. Temple and Chris Johnson were named to the All-Defensive team. Click here to see a complete list of the 2009 SEC Men's Basketball postseason awards.

The LSU Basketball team, which lost games to Vanderbilt and Auburn last week, fell to No. 16 in the latest Coaches' Poll and No. 20 in latest AP Poll. Click here to view both polls.

The Tigers (25-6, 13-3) return to action as the top seed in this week's SEC Tournament at the St. Pete Times Forum in Tampa, FL. LSU will play Kentucky or Ole Miss at noon CT on Friday, March 13.

Related article:
Reeling LSU Tigers eyeing turnaround in SEC Tournament

In LSU Baseball news, the Tigers will return to action on tonight when they travel to Hammond to face Southeastern. The first pitch is at 6pm CT. Chris Matulis will get the start for the Tigers.

After losing two of three games to Illinois this past weekend, the Tigers fell to No. 3 in Collegiate Baseball poll and No. 4 in the Baseball America poll.

Related articles:
Ochinko on torrid hitting pace
LSU's game at SLU sold out

In other news, LSU will induct six into its Hall of Fame tonight at the PMAC. Getting the nod include:

Bernie Moore, track and football coach
Harry Rabenhorst, basketball and baseball coach
Marty Broussard, athletic trainer
Anthony "Booger" McFarland, football player
Britni Sneed, softball player
Esther Jones, track champion

Discuss LSU sports on the Tiger Rant message board.
Filed Under: LSU Sports
Popular Stories
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.