The NCAA announced the pairings in the 16 Regionals of the 2009 NCAA Championship, with LSU getting the No. 3 National Seed. Texas was awarded the No. 1 National Seed. The Tigers will host the Baton Rouge Regional at Alex Box Stadium, which will begin on Friday as follows:

1 LSU versus 4 Southern, 1pm CT
2 Minnesota versus 3 Baylor, 6pm CT

The eight National Seeds are:
1. Texas
2. Cal St. Fullerton
3. LSU
4. North Carolina
5. Arizona St.
6. UC Irvine
7. Oklahoma
8. Florida

National seeds are guaranteed to host a Super Regional if they can advance past the Regional round. The winner of the Baton Rouge Regional and the Rice Regional will meet in the Super Regional round. The winner of each of the eight Super Regionals will advance to the College World Series, which begins on June 13 in Omaha.

Important Links:
Complete Baseball Championship Bracket
Baton Rouge Regional Info

Discuss the upcoming Regional with fellow LSU fans on the Tiger Rant message board. Click here to geaux.
Filed Under: LSU Sports


Popular Stories