Matt Bush-USA TODAY Sports
The LSU Football team held their annual awards ceremony on campus Monday night and running back Darrel Williams and linebacker Devin White were both named team MVPs. Per

For Immediate Release - December 18, 2017


BATON ROUGE – Running back Darrel Williams and linebacker Devin White headlined the list of award winners for the 2017 LSU football team as they were named the recipients of the Charles McClendon Award as LSU’s most valuable players here Monday night as the Tigers held their annual awards ceremony at Union Theatre on the LSU campus.

Williams and White were both first-time recipients of the honor. White, a first team All-Southeastern Conference selection and a second team All-America, led the SEC in tackles with 127. He was named the SEC Defensive Player of the Week a league record four times in 2017.

Williams finished second on the team with 776 rushing yards and nine TDs. He added 22 receptions for 327 yards. Against Ole Miss, Williams became the first player in LSU history to have 100 yards rushing and receiving in the same game.

The 2017 Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Offensive Player Award was shared by running back Derrius Guice and wide receiver DJ Chark. Guice led the Tigers in rushing with 1,153 yards and 11 TDs, while Chark paced the team in receptions (35) and receiving yards (811).

The 2017 Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Defensive Player Award was presented to White and cornerback Greedy Williams. White was the leader of an LSU defense that ranked among the SEC best in points allowed (18.8), total defense (311.7) and rushing defense (126.4).

Williams, a redshirt freshman, led the SEC in interceptions with five and earned first team all-conference honors as well as being a third team All-America selection. Williams added 34 tackles and 10 pass breakups.

Six players were honored as permanent team captains for the 2017 Tigers. Permanent offensive team captains are Chark and center Will Clapp. Permanent defensive team captains are White, along with defensive ends Christian LaCouture and Rashard Lawrence.

The Charles E. Coates Academic Award was given to tight end John David Moore and quarterback Danny Etling. Moore was recently named a first team academic All-America, while Etling was named the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year for football. Moore has a 4.0 grade point average in architecture, while Etling graduated with a 3.7 grade point average in mass communications last May.

The following is a complete list of LSU’s 2017 award winners:

Alvin Roy Award
Give to the player(s) who has shown the most dedication to the individual and team goals of the Tiger’s year-round strength and conditioning program.
2017 Recipients: John David Moore, Breiden Fehoko

Dr. Charles E. Coates, Academic Award
Presented to the senior who has demonstrated the highest commitment to scholarly work in the combination with excellence on the field.
2017 Recipient: John David Moore and Danny Etling

Wild Tiger Special Team Award
Presented to the player who accumulates the most points over the season through his effectiveness on special teams plays.
2017 Recipient: Russell Gage and DJ Chark

Jeff Boss Unsung Hero Award
Presented by the Bengal Belles goes to player who have made significant contributions to the success of the team and received the least recognition for it.
2017 Recipients: Ed Ingram, Greg Gilmore, John Battle, Garrett Brumfield Saahdiq Charles

Butch Duhe Award
Recipient is one whose character and contributions to the LSU Football team most personify the idea of unselfishness, dependability and commitment to the team.
2017 Recipients: Foster Moreau, Corey Thompson, Toby Weathersby, Danny Etling, Darrel Williams, Russell Gage, KJ Malone

George M. Wallace Memorial Award
Presented to the defensive player who has distinguished himself by performance, leadership and commitment to team.
2017 Recipient: Rashard Lawrence, Christian LaCouture

Permanent Team Captains
Offense: Will Clapp, DJ Chark
Defense: Christian LaCouture, Devin White, Rashard Lawrence
Special Teams: Russell Gage

2017 Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Offensive Player Award
Derrius Guice, DJ Chark

2017 Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Defensive Player Award
Devin White, Greedy Williams

2017 LSU’s Most Valuable Player Award
Darrel Williams, Devin White
Filed Under: LSU Football


user avatar
oh yes I forgot "hell's coming to breakfast"
Reply69 months
user avatar
"Darrel Williams & Devin White Named Team MVPs For 2017" accurate
Reply69 months
user avatar
All Darrell Williams ever needed was the ball! This guy will probably be playing on Sundays! All excellent choices! I am especially impressed by Fehoko winning the strength and conditioning award! It’s tough to put forth that kind of effort without getting to play in the games. This shows his level of commitment! I think we will be stacked in the trenches next year and that’s where it all starts! Finish strong ?? with a big win over Notre Dame, and lock down the big time recruits on NSD, and we should be in great shape to make a title run next year! Geaux Tigers!
Reply69 months
user avatar
D. White is the best LSU Linebacker since Eric Hill and may be better than him, Michael Brooks and A.J. Duhe when he's done.
Reply69 months
user avatar
D. Williams + Wild Tiger all season = Natty #4.... Wild Tiger is in great hands with Jacoby Stevens......
Reply69 months
user avatar
Congrats to all the recipients of Tiger football awards. Big heartfelt thanks to Darrel & Lac for coming back their senior years, putting in all the hard work to help make the team's season so much better with them on the field.
Reply69 months
user avatar
Fehoko is hungry and ready to hit the field next season. Dude will be a beast!
Reply69 months
user avatar
I'll buy that. D. Williams was........BY FAR.........the biggest surprise of the season for me. I really felt last year that for whatever reason, he wasn't "in" it anymore. But this year he came out and it was like a completely different person. Kudos to him.
Reply69 months
user avatar
Well said
69 months
Popular Stories