BATON ROUGE – Three offensive standouts for LSU – quarterback Jayden Daniels, wide receiver Malik Nabers and offensive tackle Will Campbell – have been named first team All-SEC as selected by the league’s head coaches, the conference office announced on Tuesday.

The trio of LSU first-teamers were joined by wide receiver Brian Thomas, offensive tackle Emery Jones and linebacker Harold Perkins who were named to the second-team.

The SEC will announce the specialty awards on Wednesday which includes offensive and defensive player of the year along with coach of the year and freshman of the year. The Freshman All-SEC team will be revealed on Thursday.

Daniels, the most dominant player in college football in 2023 and a Heisman Trophy finalist, leads the nation in total offense (412.2), passing TDs (40), total TDs (50) and rushing yards by a quarterback (1,134). His 208.01 pass efficiency rating is the highest in FBS history. He’s only the fifth player in SEC history to account for 50 touchdowns in a season.

In 12 games, Daniels accounted for at least four touchdowns nine times and he joined Joe Burrow as the only players in LSU history to reach 500 total yards in three games in a single-season. Daniels set the SEC record with 606 total yards against Florida when he became the first player in FBS history to rush for 200 yards (234) and pass for 350 yards (372) in a game. He tied the LSU mark with eight touchdowns (6 passing, 2 rushing) in the win over Georgia State.

Nabers, who became LSU’s all-time receptions leader in 2023 with 186, led the nation in receiving yards with 1,546 and was first in the league with 86 receptions and second in TDs with 14. Nabers led all players nationally in plays of 20-plus yards (34) and 30-plus yards (17).

Campbell, a Freshman All-America in 2022, played a team-high 728 snaps at offensive tackle and didn’t allow a sack all season. Campbell helped paved the way for an LSU offense that ranked in the Top 10 nationally in both rushing (No. 8 at 213.5) and passing (No. 4 at 334.3). LSU is the only team in the FBS to average 200 rushing yards and 300 passing yards a game.

Thomas led the nation in receiving TDs with 15 and he ranked No. 4 in the league in receiving yards with 1,079 and No. 7 in receptions with 60. Thomas had six 100-yard games with his career-best of 150 yards coming in the win over Florida.

Jones, a Freshman All-SEC selection last year, started all but one game and played 631 snaps, while Perkins led the Tigers in tackles for loss (13.5) and sacks (5.5) to go along with 71 total tackles.

First Team All-SEC


QB - Jayden Daniels, LSU
RB - Cody Schrader, Missouri
RB - Quinshon Judkins, Ole Miss
WR - Malik Nabers, LSU
WR - Luther Burden III, Missouri
TE - Brock Bowers, Georgia
OL - JC Latham, Alabama
OL - Javon Foster, Missouri
OL - Will Campbell, LSU
OL - Tate Ratledge, Georgia
C - Sedrick Van Pran, Georgia
AP - Ainias Smith, Texas A&M

DL- Darius Robinson, Missouri
DL- James Pearce Jr., Tennessee
DL- Justin Eboigbe, Alabama
DL- Landon Jackson, Arkansas
LB - Edgerrin Cooper, Texas A&M
LB - Dallas Turner, Alabama
LB - Nathaniel Watson, Mississippi State
DB - Kool-Aid McKinstry, Alabama
DB - Malaki Starks, Georgia
DB - Kris Abrams-Draine, Missouri
DB - Caleb Downs, Alabama*
DB - Terrion Arnold, Alabama*

Special Teams
PK - Will Reichard, Alabama
P - Matthew Hayball, Vanderbilt
RS - Ainias Smith, Texas A&M
KOS - Cam Little, Arkansas
LS - Hunter Rogers, South Carolina*
LS - Kneeland Hibbett, Alabama*

Second-Team All-SEC

QB - Carson Beck, Georgia
RB - Ray Davis, Kentucky
RB - Jarquez Hunter, Auburn
WR - Brian Thomas Jr., LSU
WR - Xavier Legette, South Carolina
TE - Caden Prieskorn, Ole Miss*
TE - Trey Knox, South Carolina*
TE - Rivaldo Fairweather, Auburn*
OL - Tyler Booker, Alabama
OL - Xavier Truss, Georgia
OL - Emery Jones Jr., LSU
OL - Layden Robinson, Texas A&M
C - Eli Cox, Kentucky
AP - Barion Brown, Kentucky

DL - Mykel Williams, Georgia
DL - Nazir Stackhouse, Georgia
DL - Princely Umanmielen, Florida
DL - Shemar Turner, Texas A&M
LB - Harold Perkins Jr., LSU
LB - Smael Mondon, Georgia
LB - Ty'Ron Hopper, Missouri
DB - Maxwell Hairston, Kentucky
DB - Jaylin Simpson, Auburn
DB - Tykee Smith, Georgia
DB - Kamari Lassiter, Georgia

Special Teams
PK - Harrison Mevis, Missouri
P - James Burnip, Alabama*
P - Max Fletcher, Arkansas*
RS - Barion Brown, Kentucky
KOS - Will Reichard, Alabama
LS - Wesley Schelling, Vanderbilt

(Release via LSU Athletics)
Filed Under: LSU Football


user avatar
tigerpawl3 months
Whoa - Bama with only 1 on offense? But nearly half of the D...
And GA with only 1 on D... wow...
user avatar
wallowinit3 months
I’m seeing GA with 5 on D. Not sure what you’re looking at.
Popular Stories