Stephen Lew-USA TODAY Sports
LSU sophomore forward Tari Eason was one of ten players named to the 2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award on Thursday. The award recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball.

Eason, a native of Los Angeles, Calif., transferred to LSU this offseason from Cincinnati. He is averaging 15.9 points, 6.9 rebounds, 1.1 assists, 1.0 blocks, and 1.7 steals per game this season. Per

The winner of the 2022 Karl Malone Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Drew Timme, Gonzaga (2021), Obi Toppin, Dayton (2020), Zion Williamson, Duke (2019), Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017), Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).

Eason, from Los Angeles, California, who transferred in to LSU from Cincinnati after his freshman season, is averaging a team leading 15.9 points a game and 6.9 rebounds to go with 1.1 assists, 1.0 blocks and 1.7 steals per contest. In league play, he is averaging almost similar numbers of 15.4 points and 6.7 rebounds to go with 1.2 assists and 1.6 steals. He has posted two 20-10 games in league play.

Filed Under: LSU Basketball


Popular Stories