Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports
LSU freshman Trendon Watford was named to the watch list for the 2020 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award on Thursday. Per

Named after Class of 2010 Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor in its sixth year recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men's college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Watford, from Mountain Brook High School in Birmingham, Alabama, averaged 23.7 points and 11.8 rebounds with 3.6 assists during his senior season. He led Mountain Brook to three consecutive Class 7A state championships (2017-19). He played in the McDonald's All-America game and scored 10 points with seven rebounds and six assists and had 18 points and seven boards in the Jordan Brands Classic.

2020 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates*
Tristan Clark Baylor
Yoeli Childs BYU
Lamine Diane CSUN
Obi Toppin Dayton
Killian Tillie Gonzaga
EJ Montgomery Kentucky
Trendon Watford LSU
Jalen Smith Maryland
Xavier Tilman Michigan State
Reggie Perry Mississippi State
Garrison Brooks North Carolina
John Mooney Notre Dame
Kaleb Wesson Ohio State
Brady Manek Oklahoma
Lamar Stevens Penn State
Trevion Williams Purdue
Isaiah Mobley USC
Alexis Yetna USF
Mamadi Diakite Virginia
Tyrique Jones Xavier

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2019-20 season*
LSU opens up the 2019-2020 season on November 8 vs. Bowling Green.

Loading Twitter Embed....
Filed Under: LSU Basketball


user avatar
ATLTiger52 months
The award is in the shape of a flip phone
user avatar
Shalimar Sid52 months
While in Birmingham, I watched him pick the LSU hat and was really surprised at the cheers he received for picking out of state school. Glad he is a Tiger.
Popular Stories