John Reed-USA TODAY Sports

For Immediate Release - November 1, 2018


BATON ROUGE – LSU’s Cole Tracy has been selected as one of 20 semifinalists for the Lou Groza Collegiate Placekicker Award, the Palm Beach County Sports Commission announced on Thursday.

The award is given annually to the top placekicker in college football.

Tracy, a graduate transfer from Division II Assumption College, currently leads the nation in field goals with 21. In eight games with the Tigers, Tracy has connected on 21-of-23 field goal attempts. Tracy has yet to miss a field goal inside the 50-yard line as his only two misses this year came from 53 yards against Auburn and Ole Miss.

Tracy, a native of Camarillo, California, joined the Tigers during the summer after graduating from Assumption College. Since taking over the kicking duties for LSU, he’s been named the Southeastern Conference Special Teams Player of the Week a league record four times.

Tracy leads the SEC in scoring (87 point), points per game (10.9), field goals (21), field goal attempts (23), field goals per game (2.6), and field goal percentage (91.3).

Tracy drilled a 42-yard game-winning field goal at the buzzer in LSU’s 22-21 win over Auburn in September for the first “walk-off” game-winning kick in school history. He goes into the Alabama game riding a streak of 12 consecutive field goals, a stretch that dates back to the Ole Miss game.

Semifinalists will be voted on by a panel of more than 100 FBS head coaches, SIDs, media members, former Groza finalists, and current NFL kickers to select the three finalists. These finalists will be announced on November 20th and honored at the 27th annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Banquet on December 3rd in Palm Beach County. The same panel then selects the winner, who will be announced live on ESPN at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 6th.

The Award is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou “The Toe” Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an All-Pro offensive lineman as well, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.

2018 Lou Groza Award Semifinalists:
John Baron II (San Diego State)
Tyler Bass (Georgia Southern)
Massimo Biscardi (Coastal Carolina)
Rodrigo Blankenship (Georgia)
Jose Borregales (Florida International)
Matt Coghlin (Michigan State)
Dominik Eberle (Utah State)
Matt Gay (Utah)
Clayton Hatfield (Texas Tech)
Cole Hedlund (North Texas)
Logan Justus (Indiana)
Connor Limpert (Arkansas)
Chase McLaughlin (Illinois)
Evan McPherson (Florida)
Cooper Rothe (Wyoming)
Jared Sackett (UTSA)
Andre Szmyt (Syracuse)
Ryan Tice (Central Michigan)
Cole Tracy (LSU)
Matthew Wright (Central Florida)

Loading Twitter Embed....
Filed Under: LSU Football
user avatar
LATECHgradLSUfan68 months
well deserved
user avatar
HoustonGumbeauxGuy68 months
Hand over that trophy and quit stringing the other kids along.
user avatar
CanebreakCajun68 months
Cole lock!
user avatar
Dr. Morgus68 months
Hand him the trophy now
user avatar
ThaBerryTiger68 months
Lou Groza Award Lock.Geaux Tigers!
Popular Stories
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.