Butch Dill-USA TODAY Sports
BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Dec. 6, 2023)-----Southeastern Conference champion Alabama claimed three of the SEC's individual football awards as voted on by the league's head coaches, it was announced Wednesday.

The Crimson Tide's Dallas Turner was named SEC Defensive Player of the year, Will Reichard was voted Special Teams Player of the Year, and Caleb Downs was selected as Freshman of the Year. LSU's Jayden Daniels was named Offensive Player of the Year, Georgia's Sedrick Van Pran was named winner of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, and Missouri's Eliah Drinkwitz was named SEC Coach of the Year. Missouri's Brady Cook was recognized as the Scholar-Athlete of the Year last week prior to the SEC Championship Game.

Daniels was named one of four finalists for the Heisman Trophy earlier this week. He leads the nation in numerous offensive categories including total offense (412.2 yards per game), passing touchdowns (40), touchdowns responsible for (50), yards per pass attempt (11.7), yards per play (10.71), and rushing yards by a quarterback (1,134). His passer efficiency rating of 208.01 is the highest in FBS history.

Turner has totaled 50 tackles, including 13.5 tackles for loss. He ranks second in the SEC with nine sacks, and he is third in the league with 10.5 tackles for loss in conference games. This marks the fourth consecutive year an Alabama player has claimed SEC Defensive Player of the Year honors (Patrick Surtain II in 2020, Will Anderson in 2021-22).

Reichard became the NCAA's all-time career leader in points last weekend at the SEC Championship Game. He has made 20 field goals this season on 23 attempts and has been successful on all 53 PATs. For his career, Reichard has 539 total points.

Downs ranks third in the SEC with 99 total tackles to go along with a pair of interceptions, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery. He has registered at least 10 tackles in three games this season. Downs also ranks second in the SEC with a punt return average of 21.75 yards.

Van Pran has helped pave the way for a Georgia offense that averages 38.4 points per game (No. 9 nationally). The Bulldogs are on pace to record the school's best marks in history in average yards per play (7.12, No. 7 nationally) and average yards per game (482.9, No. 8 nationally).

Cook earned his bachelor's degree from Missouri in December 2022 and is currently pursuing a Master's of Business Administration. He is a three-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll. Cook has thrown for 3,189 yards this season, which ranks third in the SEC and eighth on the Tigers' all-time single season chart.

Drinkwitz has led Missouri to a 10-2 record and a No. 9 national ranking. It is the sixth time the Tigers have won 10 games during the regular season. Missouri will face Ohio State in the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic on Dec. 29.

The SEC All-Freshman Team will be announced Thursday.

2023 SEC Football Awards

Offensive Player of the Year
Jayden Daniels, LSU

Defensive Player of the Year
Dallas Turner, Alabama

Special Teams Player of the Year
Will Reichard, Alabama

Freshman of the Year
Caleb Downs, Alabama

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Brady Cook, Missouri

Jacobs Blocking Trophy
Sedrick Van Pran, Georgia

Coach of the Year
Eliah Drinkwitz, Missouri

(Release via LSU Athletics)
Filed Under: LSU Football


user avatar
warlock19743 months
His passer efficiency rating of 208.01 is the highest in FBS history.

Absolutely incredible.
Popular Stories