Honorary Captains Announced For Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl

ATLANTA (Dec. 27, 2019) – In keeping with its tradition of recognizing notable team alumni, officials today announced that Trent Williams and Marcus Spears will be honorary captains for their respective alma maters at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl between No. 4 Oklahoma and No. 1 LSU. The duo will join the team captains at midfield for the pregame coin toss prior to the 4 p.m. ET kickoff on Dec. 28 in Mercedes-Benz Stadium.

Representing the No. 4 Oklahoma Sooners is NFL offensive tackle Trent Williams. Williams enrolled at Oklahoma in 2006 and played right tackle during his freshman year, earning Sporting News Freshmen All-American Second Team honors. By his junior year, he was named First Team All-Big 12 and led an offensive line that protected quarterback Sam Bradford and running back DeMarco Murray all the way to the BCS National Championship game. When he returned for his senior season, he was named to the Outland Trophy watch list as one of the nation’s best offensive lineman, and was also named a unanimous All-American by the American Football Coaches Association. Williams was drafted as the fourth overall selection in the 2010 NFL Draft by the Washington Redskins, where he has been named a Pro Bowler seven times and was named second team All-Pro in 2015.

On the opposite sideline, Marcus Spears will represent the No. 1 LSU Tigers. Spears played tight end, fullback and defensive end for LSU from 2001-04. During his sophomore year, he became a full-time defensive player, where he helped lead the Tigers to two SEC Championships and a BCS National Championship win. Spears was a first team All-American, as well as a semifinalist for the Bednarik Award and Lombardi Award. He was drafted in the first round of the 2005 NFL Draft by the Dallas Cowboys and played defensive end in the league for eight years before retiring in 2014. Spears has since joined ESPN as a college football analyst on the SEC Network.

The 52nd annual Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl will be held at 4 p.m. ET on Dec. 28 at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta and will be nationally televised by ESPN. The winner of the game will advance to play for the College Football Playoff National Championship in New Orleans on Jan. 13.

Filed Under: LSU Football


user avatar
Buckeye Jeaux50 months
Nice. Well deserved!
user avatar
DByrd250 months
Symbolic after he had that pick-six against them in the ‘03 natty.
user avatar
Rebel50 months
Good for Spears.
Popular Stories