Posted byMessage
andouille
LSU Fan
A table near a waiter.
Member since Dec 2004
7178 posts

Uncle O's way too early short review


We had lunch there yesterday, first time since they opened back in November. The place looks a lot nicer than it did as Brewbacher's, cleaner, no dirty carpet, tables bussed immediately, new decor, the works. The menu is very similar to many batter barns in the area, so don't expect any grand surprises, its mostly fried seafood, some plate lunches and sandwiches. Obviously Uncle O doesn't want to break new culinary ground, he just wants to make a living, I have no problem with that.

The food is what you'd expect from a restaurant open less then 2 months, the seafood gumbo was extraordinary, but served a little warmer than room temp, the fried shrimp, the french fries pretty greasy (not as greasy as Curbside). The lunch special catfish plate was not so special.

This is a place that we should patronize so they can improve, you could go across the street and get Capital City Grill and the same dishes would be a lot better, but I'd like to see more choices.



This post was edited on 1/10 at 3:57 pm



Back to top
Share:
pochejp
LSU Fan
Gonzales, Louisiana
Member since Jan 2007
6033 posts

re: Uncle O's way too early short review


Ill give it a shot. What are the prices? Similar to CCG across the street? Chimes type prices? Is there a bar? Beer selection? Anything on draft? Raw oysters?





Back to top
DoctorTechnical
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jul 2009
1048 posts

re: Uncle O's way too early short review


Hmm, was there yesterday for lunch also. Ouncy was visiting all of the tables, said the rain had knocked back the crowd. Folks I saw sure seemed happy to be there.

Food-wise nothing much more to add other than that wonderful and pervasive gumbo smell when you hit the door is worth the visit alone.






Back to top
Tbobby
USA Fan
Member since Dec 2006
3366 posts

re: Uncle O's way too early short review


The roast beef poboy is great. One of the few places in BR that cooks the roast beef in-house. Not Leidenheimer bread, but good enough.
Greek Feta salad great.
Seafood gumbo above average, not enough shrimp or crab in it, but I like it well enough to buy it by the quart.

Had some hiccups when it first opened, but those have resolved.






Back to top
tigersbh
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2005
570 posts

re: Uncle O's way too early short review


Prices are like The Chimes.

It does have a full bar.

Some of the other lunch specials:

Mon: red beans

Tue: Usually pork roast or pork chops, rice & gravy, and white beans

Wed: ???

Thu: hamburger steak, rice and gravy, white beans(?)

Fri: catfish, potato salad, green beans






Back to top
Tbobby
USA Fan
Member since Dec 2006
3366 posts

re: Uncle O's way too early short review


Wed is fried catfish, potato salad and green beans. $9.
Thurs hamburger steak, rice and gravy and lima beans. $9.
Friday: fried catfish topped with shrimp and crab etouffee and salad. $12.






Back to top
Degas
Member since Jul 2010
6242 posts

re: Uncle O's way too early short review


quote:

This is a place that we should patronize so they can improve
I drove by tonight and all the outside lights were off just after 9pm. Perhaps they don't want our business.






Back to top
Modern
Florida State Fan
Parts Unknown
Member since May 2011
9577 posts

re: Uncle O's way too early short review


we went out for dinner last night, and we drove by Uncle O's...I REALLY wanted to go try em out, but she wanted Olive Garden....and she won







Back to top
LouisianaLady
USA Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Mar 2009
51930 posts

re: Uncle O's way too early short review


quote:

I drove by tonight and all the outside lights were off just after 9pm. Perhaps they don't want our business.



Just after 9pm, no offense, is past dinner. It's hard enough for restaurants to break even much less make much past dinnertime.

Dempsey's closes at 9 and doesn't really get customers past 8. Since Uncle Os is gumbo/seafood, I assume they feel the same way.



This post was edited on 1/11 at 3:05 am


Back to top
Degas
Member since Jul 2010
6242 posts

re: Uncle O's way too early short review


quote:

Just after 9pm, no offense, is past dinner...Since Uncle Os is gumbo/seafood, I assume they feel the same way.
Understood, and no offense taken. I've never been there and for some reason I thought it was more of a sports bar kind of place, so I was surprised to see that they would be closed halfway through most games. Having lived in Chicago where eating is 24 hours, I'm still getting used to this "dinner time" thing here in Baton Rouge where everyone goes out to eat between 7 and 7:30. This is a city which is noticeably missing late night eats.

If Uncle O's is open straight through the day, I may work it into my late lunch rotation.






Back to top
bossflossjr
LSU Fan
The Great State of Louisiana
Member since Sep 2005
8154 posts

re: Uncle O's way too early short review


quote:

If Uncle O's is open straight through the day, I may work it into my late lunch rotation.


Not a sports bar. Similiar to Dempseys / locally owned, fried seafood, good sandwiches, bangin gumbo.

Go see'em






Back to top
LouisianaLady
USA Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Mar 2009
51930 posts

re: Uncle O's way too early short review


quote:

Having lived in Chicago where eating is 24 hours, I'm still getting used to this "dinner time" thing here in Baton Rouge where everyone goes out to eat between 7 and 7:30. This is a city which is noticeably missing late night eats.


Definitely understandable, and I agree. I don't eat my first meal of the day until 2pm at the absolute earliest-5pm at the latest. Lunch-only spots are closed by that time, and lunch menus are done at places that don't close.

By the time I'd ready for dinner, most restaurants are closing--or close to it. It kills me the amount of late night eats we lack because I get off of work in the middle of the night/early morning hours most nights.

Unfortunately, I think BR is so spoiled with our "early nights", that even if more 24-hour places opened up, I don't know that they could find decent staff. We have a hard time just keeping the graveyard shift at my work occupied.

Have you ever been to Panama City, FL? Now THAT is some weird eating times. I remember visiting friends who live there and the restaurants being closed by 8-9. Everyone eats dinner at 5PM or something insane there.



This post was edited on 1/11 at 9:15 am


Back to top
Catman88
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Dec 2004
38778 posts

re: Uncle O's way too early short review


Do they only offer seafood gumbo?





Back to top
tigersbh
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2005
570 posts

re: Uncle O's way too early short review


Thanks, tbobby. My memory isn't what it used to be!





Back to top
DoctorTechnical
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jul 2009
1048 posts

re: Uncle O's way too early short review


Catman, they have chicken and andouille gumbo by the cup, bowl, gallon and tanker-truck full. Very tasty.





Back to top
Gugich22
New Orleans Saints Fan
Who Dat Nation
Member since Jan 2006
24125 posts

re: Uncle O's way too early short review


I stopped by today for lunch to check it out. Sat at the bar area and had great service from Brittany (I think).

I got a cup (more like a side portion) of chicken and sausage gumbo. It had a great flavor and was a beautiful dark chocolate color. It was a thinner roux and it had 3 pieces of andouille which was a lot for the portion. The chicken was there but not near as much as the sausage.

I also got a small Greek grilled shrimp salad. The lettuce was fresh and the dressing was very good. The only downside was that there were only 4 shrimp on the salad and it was pretty small for $8.95.

Overall, the food was good. The service was great. I drank water and my bill came out to be $15.81, I think. I was expecting more food for the price. The gumbo was $6.00 and I feel like the portion should have been bigger for the price. Same with the salad. But it was still a very tasty lunch. However, I probably won't frequent it very often due to the price.






Back to top



Back to top