Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
LSUballs
LA-Monroe Fan
RayVegas LA
Member since Feb 2008
20317 posts
 Online 

Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


If you have seen the annoying new Wendy's commercial then you know that they are now selling a pretzel bun burger. In the commercial some dork is jabbering about how happy he is that he has jury duty next to a gourmet burger place. Little skinny fake Wendy just happens to be sitting outside with her usual burger eating support group and offers up her pretzel bun burger as a rival to the haute burger place's burger. Anyway, it's a shitty commercial and skinny fake Wendy pisses me off. But I digress... on to the review!

Here is the my Wendy's pretzel bun burger



1 bite missing close up shot:




The Pretzel Bun: Initial mouth feel is somewhat appealing. It's a hint of a crunch then warm and chewy. But not too chewy. There is some detectable pretzel notes, but is missing the saltiness that you would find in a good street vendor pretzel. Not sure when fast food places got scared of salt, but whatevs. This bun is alright, but it doesn't do much more for the taste buds than their regular bun.

The veggies- I realize a tomater is a fruit, but they fall under the veggie category. I also realize what a good tomato is. These are not them. Remove these pale, slimy abominations and sling them like a stoned Frisbee golfer would sling his disc. The lettuce is OK. The purple looking Romaine variety I believe. Not overly wilted. The onions are red onions, much akin to the red onions you would find on the salad bar at buffet place. Not very juicy, not exuding much onion flavor, but not terrible.

The Bacon- Wendy's is all about bacon. Which probably led to Dave's demise via massive coronary (I don't know this to be true). It also probably led to the real Wendy being too rotund to be featured in the present day commercials. Hence little skinny fake Wendy. But anyway the bacon is good. They call it applewood bacon, and you can actually pick up on some of the applewoodness. It's good bacon.

The Beef- Wendy's claims to serve fresh never frozen North American beef. I don't know about that shite. If it is fresh then it is of low quality. I'm sure it's frozen though. And for a fast food burger it's OK. Signature square patty design. Slight notes of elementary school soybean burger here and there, but overall not too bad.

The cheese- Slice of cheddar. Good cheese but they put it under the patty, on top of the bottom bun. Dumb design. But they do it because of the damn sauce..


The Damn Sauce - Maybe I should fault LaKeisha who constructed my burger with too much damn sauce and not Wendy's INC. Nevertheless this "sweet & smoky honey mustard sauce" made the whole pretzel burger a sloppy potential shirt ruiner. It's not a terrible tasting sauce, but they put it on top of the patty, under the veggies, where the cheese is supposed to be. Put that shite on the pretzel bread where you can get some absorption effect going on. As it is it just gets skeeted out between the lettuce and the patty and is a garment liability waiting to happen.




Anyway, that was my Pretzel Bun Burger review. It's not bad really other than a few design flaws and some shitty tomatoes. The overall taste is decent enough. Try one if you feel so inclined.







Back to top
Share:
greenwave
USA Fan
Huntsville, AL
Member since Oct 2011
1445 posts
 Online 

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


IWEI.





Back to top
Rohan2Reed
Grambling Fan
Member since Nov 2003
70129 posts
 Online 

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


how does it compare to Sonic's various pretzel bun offerings?





Back to top
TejasHorn
Texas Fan
High Plains Driftin'
Member since Mar 2007
3377 posts

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


That actually looks like the ads/posters.

I'm intrigued.






Back to top
LSUballs
LA-Monroe Fan
RayVegas LA
Member since Feb 2008
20317 posts
 Online 

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


quote:

how does it compare to Sonic's various pretzel bun offerings?




I've seen the new pretzel dogs advertised, but have yet to pull the trigger. I'll chronicle the experience on the interweb when I do






Back to top
BayouBlitz
LSU Fan
Birmingham
Member since Aug 2007
5733 posts

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


quote:

skinny fake Wendy




IWHI.






Back to top
Rohan2Reed
Grambling Fan
Member since Nov 2003
70129 posts
 Online 

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


Superb, you write good reviews. I agree about Wendy's meat .. I'd be extremely surprised if it's really "never frozen." Also, that onion looks dry as frick.


This post was edited on 8/7 at 2:05 pm


Back to top
Walt OReilly
LSU Fan
Cubs Fan
Member since Oct 2005
74555 posts
 Online 

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


Great review balls





Back to top
Oenophile Brah
USA Fan
The Edge of Sanity
Member since Jan 2013
4488 posts

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


What's a pretzel burger run you these days?





Back to top
LSUballs
LA-Monroe Fan
RayVegas LA
Member since Feb 2008
20317 posts
 Online 

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


quote:

Great review balls



Thanks Walt.






Back to top
Fun Bunch
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since May 2008
23202 posts

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


I extremely rarely eat fast food, but I do think Wendy's burgers are decent by run of the mill fast food standards. I had the pretzel bun and didn't like it all that much.





Back to top
LSUballs
LA-Monroe Fan
RayVegas LA
Member since Feb 2008
20317 posts
 Online 

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


quote:

What's a pretzel burger run you these days?




Probably 6ish. I didn't combo, just got the burger a grilled chicken wrap from the $1 menu and a water. It was around 8 clams total.






Back to top
fillmoregandt
Ole Miss Fan
Over the Mountain,brah
Member since Nov 2009
5786 posts

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


quote:

Wendy's pretzel bun burger


IWEI

quote:

Little skinny fake Wendy


IWEI



This post was edited on 8/7 at 2:12 pm


Back to top
reb13
Ole Miss Fan
Oxford, MS
Member since May 2010
9779 posts

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


quote:

how does it compare to Sonic's various pretzel bun offerings?


Sonic's are way better. The bun really is not a pretzel just random bread that looks like a pretzel.






Back to top
LSUballs
LA-Monroe Fan
RayVegas LA
Member since Feb 2008
20317 posts
 Online 

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


quote:

The bun really is not a pretzel just random bread that looks like a pretzel.



Yea, pretty much.






Back to top
OldSouth
LSU Fan
Folsom, LA
Member since Oct 2011
8316 posts

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


Nice job, I almost got one today.





Back to top
Count Chocula
Yale Fan
Tier 5 and proud
Member since Feb 2009
47768 posts

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


quote:

. Put that shite on the pretzel bread where you can get some absorption effect going on.



Good God man, all of this for a $3.95 hamburger? Slow day in the mecca?






Back to top
pooponsaban
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2008
13103 posts

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


Great review but needs more pics. Like 35 more.





Back to top
Gris Gris
LSU Fan
RED GRAVY RULES!!
Member since Feb 2008
24114 posts

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


Mr. Balls, I don't usually open fast food threads. I only opened this one because you started the thread. Curiosity got me. I found that you'd spent an inordinate amount of time writing a very detailed review of the new Wendy's pretzel burger. (I agree that the commercials are annoying.) I have begged you to write a review of your recent trip to the Crescent City and you have decidely ignored my requests. I am hurt, though I am still hopeful.

































































Meanwhile, I at this piece of work. Nice job.






Back to top
danfraz
LSU Fan
San Antonio TX
Member since Apr 2008
16759 posts

re: Wendy's pretzel bun burger - A review


I've wanted to try one of these but haven't been around a Wendy's nor have I wanted to spend the cash

On a completely different note my bro took me to Waffle House for lunch. A Texas bacon chicken sandwich with a lg hash topped

That was the total bomb!! So damn good






Back to top


Back to top




//